Map of Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve Map of Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve
© Parks Canada

The Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve is remote; it has no road access. The closest communities to it are: Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Sheshatshiu, North West River, Rigolet, Cartwright, Paradise River and Mud Lake. Potential visitors are encouraged to search the internet to find tourism providers and operators who are currently working in the area and offering access to the park.

Flying

The closest major airport is located at Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Direct flights into this airport are available from Deer Lake, St. John’s, Halifax and Montreal. From here, it is possible to drive to the communities of North West River, Sheshatshiu, Paradise River and Cartwright, or to fly to Rigolet aboard regional carriers. Helicopter or float plane access can also be arranged through charter companies located near this airport. More information on air access is found at NewfoundlandandLabrador.com.

Driving

From Newfoundland, the island portion of the province, the community of Cartwright can be reached by taking the Labrador ferry at St. Barbe NL to Blanc Sablon in QC. Drive the short distance eastwards on Route 138 to cross the Labrador border and take Highway (510) to Cartwright. From here it is also possible to continue on to Happy Valley-Goose Bay. For more information about driving Labrador’s roads, see the provincial government’s new online Trip Planner or visit the provincial government Web site.

Map of Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve

La réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy est éloignée; elle est dépourvue de tout accès routier. Les collectivités les plus proches du parc sont : Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Sheshatshiu, North West River, Rigolet, Cartwright, Paradise River et Mud Lake. Nous encourageons les éventuels visiteurs à consulter l’Internet y compris le site NewfoundlandLabrador.com  afin de trouver les fournisseurs de produits et de services touristiques présentement en activité dans la région et ceux qui offrent un accès au parc.

En avion

L’aéroport principal le plus près est situé à Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Des vols directs à destination de cet aéroport sont offerts depuis Deer Lake, St. John’s et Montréal. De Happy Valley-Goose Bay, il est possible de se rendre en voiture jusqu’aux collectivités de North West River, Sheshatshiu, Paradise River et Cartwright, ou de se rendre à Rigolet à bord de transporteurs aériens régionaux. Un accès au parc en hélicoptère ou en hydravion peut également être organisé par l’entremise de compagnies d’affrètement situées à proximité de cet aéroport. Pour plus de renseignements sur l’accès par avion, consulter le site NewfoundlandLabrador.com.

En voiture

Depuis Terre-Neuve, la portion insulaire de la province, on peut atteindre la communauté de Cartwright en prenant le traversier du Labrador (anglais seulement) de St. Barbe (NL) jusqu’à Blanc-Sablon au (QB). Il ne vous reste ensuite qu’une courte distance à parcourir avant de traverser la frontière du Labrador et d’emprunter l’autoroute (510) jusqu’à Cartwright. De là, il est également possible de poursuivre votre route jusqu’à Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Pour en savoir plus sur les routes du Labrador, consultez le nouveau planificateur de voyage (anglais seulement) du gouvernement provincial.