Porcupine Strand (Wunderstrand) Porcupine Strand (Wunderstrand)
© Parks Canada

Located in Labrador on the mainland portion of Canada’s most northeasterly province, the glacially-rounded, bare rock summits of the Mealy Mountains reach 1180 metres to overlook Lake Melville. The region’s pristine landscapes of mountain tundra, marine coasts, boreal forests, islands and rivers are home to numerous boreal species. For thousands of years, ancient human cultures have also called this place home. To the Innu, Inuit, southern Inuit and other people in the region, the landscapes of this outstanding wilderness natural setting hold great cultural significance.

Since the mid-1970s, this culturally-rich, natural area has been under consideration as the site of a national park reserve. Following the successful conclusion of a park feasibility assessment in 2001, Parks Canada launched negotiations with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and with the Innu Nation in 2010.

Land transfer agreement officially establishes the national park reserve

The Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve was officially established as Canada’s 46th national park with the July 31, 2015 signing of a federal/provincial Land Transfer Memorandum of Agreement. The lands were officially transferred by the province of Newfoundland and Labrador on July 10, 2017, when Parks Canada formally accepted the 10,700 km2 area in the Mealy Mountains region of central Labrador for the administration and control as a national park reserve. The traditional names of what is now the largest national park in eastern Canada are Akami-Uapishkᵁ, an Innu word meaning White Mountains across, and KakKasuak, a Labrador Inuit word for mountain.

The Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve protects a nationally significant example of the East Coast Boreal Natural Region. Its establishment achieves important progress towards the goal of creating a system of national parks and national park reserves that represents the diversity of Canada’s distinct ecoregions.

Co-operative management with Indigenous communities

One of the defining features of the Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve will be the sharing of management and planning responsibilities with our Indigenous communities:
Innu Nation The Innu Nation area of interest covers the entire park. The Innu Land Claims Agreement in Principle includes a commitment to establish the park, subject to the negotiation of a Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement (PIBA). The negotiated PIBA that was signed with the Innu Nation on July 31, 2015, the same day as the land transfer agreement, confirms that the Innu will maintain use of the land and resources within the park and sit on a Co-operative Management Board.
Nunatsiavut Government About eight per cent of the park is within the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area and is subject to the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement. As required under the Land Claims Agreement, a separate Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement has been negotiated with the Nunatsiavut Government. It was signed by Parks Canada on July 10, 2017.
NunatuKavut Community Council In response to the asserted rights of NunatuKavut members, formerly the Labrador Métis Nation, Parks Canada has negotiated a Shared Understanding Agreement with the NunatuKavut Community Council, defining their future role in the park. Signed on September 21, 2015, the agreement ensures their traditional activities will continue, and provides a framework for consultation, co-operative management and planning.
Innu of Quebec The Innu communities on the North Shore of Quebec have an accepted comprehensive claim by Canada that includes a portion of the Mealy Mountains area. Parks Canada is working to negotiate an Interim Protocol Agreement with the Quebec Innu.

In addition to these Indigenous partners, non-Indigenous traditional users are permitted to carry out traditional activities within the national park reserve. For more information, residents can contact Parks Canada directly.

National Park vs National Park Reserve

The Canada National Parks Act (CNPA) provides for the establishment of two categories of national parks: national parks and national park reserves. A national park reserve designation is used when there are outstanding claims by Indigenous people regarding Indigenous rights and title, and these claims have been accepted by Canada for negotiation. This is the case for the national park reserve in the Mealy Mountains. The Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve will be formally brought under the CNPA upon the conclusion of work that is currently underway to negotiate a Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement with Inuit represented by the Nunatsiavut Government, and once an interim protocol agreement is negotiated with the Innu communities in Quebec, and upon the tabling of a bill in Parliament. It is anticipated this will take a number of years. In the meantime, work will continue to operationalize the national park reserve so that it may fulfill its role of protecting the park’s heritage resources and presenting its significance to the public for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations of Canadians.

 

Becoming operational

Collaborating with Indigenous partners and others to protect and present the heritage values of the Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve.

The creation of a national park reserve marks the beginning of an exciting and busy time. Once established, it takes time for a new park to become operational.

With the land transfer completed in July 2017, Parks Canada’s focus has turned to fulfilling the terms of the important agreements reached as part of park establishment. Among these is the creation of a Co-operative Management Board and other advisory boards.

Working together with Indigenous partners and others within these collaborative frameworks, we will undertake the park’s first management plan. The plan will address how we will collectively: ensure sustainability of the land within the context of traditional land uses; improve our understanding of the heritage values of the park and the requirements for their protection; and share the story of this special place with others as we prepare to welcome guests.

Ensuring sustainability of the land

In addition to a Co-operative Management Board, other committees and advisory boards will be established to guide and assist with issues related to carrying out traditional activities and land uses, and maintaining the cultural integrity of traditional ways of life.

Protecting heritage values

The national park reserve will play an important role in wildlife conservation. The park protects a significant portion of the range of the threatened Mealy Mountains caribou herd, including their key habitat. Extensive landscapes of boreal forest, which occur throughout the park, are home to such boreal species as caribou, wolves, black bear, marten and fox. Extensive wetlands provide important habitat for migratory birds such as ducks and geese, while high mountains provide important Arctic-alpine habitat for northern species.

Welcoming Guests

Along with members of the Co-operative Management Board that will be formed in the near future, Parks Canada will explore possible ways to collaborate with Indigenous partners and others in the tourism sector to enhance the natural and cultural tourism opportunities that will eventually be available to visitors.

Porcupine Strand (Wunderstrand) Porcupine Strand (Wunderstrands)
© Parcs Canada

Situés au Labrador, sur la portion continentale de la province située le plus au nord et à l’est du Canada, les sommets de roche nue arrondis sous l’action glaciaire des Monts Mealy s’élèvent à 1180 mètres au-dessus du lac Melville. Les paysages intacts de toundra alpine, de littoraux marins, de forêts boréales, d’îles et de rivières de la région constituent l’habitat d’une multitude d’espèces boréales. Pendant des milliers d’années, d’anciennes cultures humaines ont également fait de cet endroit leur lieu d’appartenance. Pour les Innus, Inuits et autres collectivités de la région, les paysages de ce décor naturel exceptionnel revêtent une grande importance culturelle.

Le concept d’établissement d’une réserve de parc national, dans l’espace naturel riche en culture que constitue la région des Monts Mealy, est à l’étude depuis le milieu des années 1970. Après l’issue favorable d’une étude de faisabilité relative au parc effectuée en 2001, Agence Parcs Canada a entamé des négociations avec le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et avec la Nation innue en 2010.

L’accord de transfert de terres officialise la création de la réserve de parc national

La réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy s’impose officiellement en tant que 46e parc national avec la signature du 31 juillet 2015 d’un protocole d’accord fédéral/provincial sur le transfert des terres. Les terres ont été officiellement transférées par la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador le 10 juillet 2017, lorsque Parcs Canada a officiellement accepté les 10 700 km2 dans la région des Monts Mealy du centre du Labrador pour l’administration et le contrôle en tant que réserve de parc national. Les noms traditionnels de ce qui est maintenant le plus grand parc national de l’est du Canada sont Akami-Uapishkᵁ, un mot innu signifiant « des montagnes blanches de l’autre côté », et KakKasuak, le mot inuit en Labrador pour « montagne ».

La réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy protège sur le plan national un exemple significatif de la région naturelle boréale de la Côte Est. Sa création représente un important progrès dans l’établissement d’une système de parcs nationaux et de réserves de parcs nationaux qui révèle la diversité des écorégions distinctes du Canada.

Gestion participative avec les collectivités autochtones

L’un des traits caractéristiques de la réserve de parc national des Monts-Mealy sera le partage des responsabilités en matière de gestion et de planification avec nos collectivités autochtones:
Nation innue du Labrador :La zone d’intérêt de la Nation innue couvre l’ensemble du parc. L’entente de principe concernant les revendications territoriales des Innus comprend un engagement à créer le parc, sous réserve de la négociation d’une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages d’un parc (ERAP). L’ERAP négociée qui a été signée avec la Nation innue le 31 juillet 2015, le même jour que l’accord de transfert de terres, confirme que les Innus conserveront leur droit d’utilisation du sol et qu’ils siégeront à un conseil de cogestion.
Gouvernement du NunatsiavutEnviron huit pour cent du parc est situé à l’intérieur de la zone visée par l’entente avec les Inuits du Labrador et est assujetti à l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador. Conformément à l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales, un accord distinct sur les impacts et les avantages du parc a été négocié avec le gouvernement nunatsiavut. Il a été signé par Parcs Canada le 10 juillet 2017.
Conseil communautaire de NunatuKavut : En réponse aux droits revendiqués par les membres du NunatuKavut, anciennement Nation Métis du Labrador, Parcs Canada a négocié avec le Conseil communautaire de NunatuKavut un protocole d’entente définissant son rôle futur dans le parc. Signé le 21 septembre 2015, le protocole d’entente garantit la poursuite de leurs activités traditionnelles et offre un cadre pour la consultation, la gestion participative et la planification.
Innus du Québec :Les collectivités innues de la côte nord du Québec ont une revendication territoriale globale acceptée par le gouvernement du Canada qui comprend une portion de la région des Monts Mealy; l’Agence Parcs Canada s’emploie à négocier un protocole d’entente provisoire avec les Innus du Québec.

Outre ces partenaires autochtones, les utilisateurs traditionnels non autochtones du parc sont autorisés à mener des activités traditionnelles dans les limites de la réserve de parc national. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, les résidents peuvent joindre Parcs Canada directement.

Parc national versus réserve de parc national

La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (LPNC) prévoit la création de deux catégories de parcs nationaux : des parcs nationaux et des réserves de parcs nationaux. On utilise la désignation « réserve de parc national » lorsqu’il existe des revendications en souffrance auprès de peuples autochtones relatives aux droits et titres ancestraux pour lesquelles le Canada a accepté de négocier. Tel est le cas de la réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy. La réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy sera officiellement protégée en vertu de la LPNC dès qu’auront été menés à terme les travaux actuellement en cours concernant la négociation d’un Accord sur les répercussions et les avantages du parc avec le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut, qu’un protocole d’entente provisoire aura été négocié avec les collectivités innues du Québec et qu’un projet de loi aura été déposé au Parlement. On prévoit que plusieurs années seront nécessaires pour concrétiser ces objectifs. En attendant, les travaux visant à rendre opérationnelle la réserve de parc national se poursuivront pour que cette dernière puisse s’acquitter de son mandat de protéger les ressources patrimoniales du parc et de promouvoir son importance auprès du public au profit et pour le plaisir de futures générations canadiennes.

 

Devenir opérationnelle

Collaborer avec des partenaires autochtones et autres partenaires pour protéger et mettre en valeur les valeurs patrimoniales de la réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishku – KakKasuak – Monts Mealy

La création d’une réserve de parc national marque le début d’une période dynamique et passionnante. Une fois établi, il faut du temps avant qu’un nouveau parc devienne opérationnel.

Avec le transfert des terres terminé en juillet 2017, Parcs Canada mettra désormais l’accent sur le respect des termes des accords importants conclus dans le cadre de l’établissement du parc. Parmi ceux-ci figure la création d’un conseil de gestion coopérative, et d’autres conseils consultatifs.

En travaillant de concert avec partenaires autochtones et autres partenaires dans ces cadres collaboratifs, nous entreprendrons l’élaboration du premier plan de gestion du parc. Le plan précisera la manière dont nous nous y prendrons collectivement pour : assurer la pérennité des terres dans le contexte de l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres; améliorer notre compréhension des valeurs patrimoniales du parc et des exigences qu’impose leur protection; et faire connaître l’histoire de cet endroit unique alors que nous nous préparons à accueillir des visiteurs.

Assurer la pérennité des terres

Outre la création d’un conseil de cogestion, d’autres comités et conseils consultatifs seront mis en place afin de fournir une orientation et de l’aide en ce qui a trait aux questions liées à l’exercice d’activités traditionnelles, à l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres et à la préservation de l’intégrité culturelle de modes de vie traditionnels.

Protéger les valeurs patrimoniales

La réserve de parc jouera un rôle important dans la conservation de la faune. Elle protégera une partie importante du territoire où vit la harde menacée des caribous des Monts Mealy, y compris des habitats clés le long de la côte et sur les îles situées au large. Tout juste au nord de la baie Sandwich ainsi que le long de la rive sud du lac Melville, on retrouve de grandes étendues de forêt boréale présentes partout dans le parc, abritant des espèces boréales telles que caribous, loups, ours noirs, martres et renards. De vastes terres humides offrent un habitat important aux oiseaux migratoires tels que canards et bernaches tandis que de hautes montagnes constituent un habitat arctique alpestre important pour des espèces nordiques.

Accueil de visiteurs

Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec les membres du conseil de cogestion qui sera formé dans un avenir proche, étudiera différents moyens de collaborer avec partenaires autochtones et autres partenaires du secteur du tourisme afin d’améliorer les activités de tourisme nature et de tourisme culturel qui seront éventuellement offertes aux visiteurs.