This is a special place. Gros Morne National Park is a gateway to nature, adventure and discovery. Our goal is to protect and preserve these special places for all. Canada’s national parks belong to all Canadians, and should be accessible and inclusive for all visitors to enjoy. In Gros Morne we are pleased to offer a number of supports for people and families with additional needs. These include accommodations for people with sensory processing needs, trails with accessible sections, trained and informed staff, and information kits when you arrive. Every person deserves the opportunity to enjoy our national parks. We are delighted you will be making a lifetime of memories in this special place.
If you are discovering the park for the first time and you have suggestions for how we can be more accessible and inclusive, please let us know. We would love to hear from you and continue to improve our offerings. You can reach us at grosmorne.info@gc.pc.ca or by telephone at (709) 458-2417. 

Visitors with sensory needs

Parks Canada has been working in collaboration with the Autism Society, Newfoundland and Labrador to create a travel package for families and individuals living with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Our mission is to provide an autism-specific, safe, enjoyable experience for everyone, while limiting stress and challenges for visitors. This option will be available for individuals and families who wish to create a memorable experience vacationing in Gros Morne. The infomation package involves full accommodations in one of our Rustic Cabins in Berry Hill. We have included sensory-aware items that may be hard for families to travel with, as well as, some information that you might find useful during your stay. Whether you are looking for adventure or relaxation, Parks Canada’s Rustic Cabin is sure to make you feel right at home.

To help us better prepere for your visit please complete the Visitor Services Pre-registraion form and submit to grosmorne.info@pc.gc.ca

Download our information package including social stories for your experiences in the park.

The Park offers a variety of services for visitors who have a physical impairment. Close-captioned audio-visual shows are available at the Visitor Centre and the Discovery Centre.

The following locations and buildings are wheelchair accessible:

 

Accessible campsites, showers, and washrooms are located at the following campgrounds:

  • Berry Hill: Site #46 is fully accessible as is rustic cabin #1 and all other campsites are accessible with assistance.
  • Green Point: All campsites are accessible with assistance.
  • Shallow Bay: Site #17 is fully accessible and all other campsites are accessible with assistance.
  • Lomond: Site #21 is fully accessible and all other campsites are accessible with assistance.
  • Trout River: Sites #39 and #40 are fully accessible and all other campsites are accessible with assistance.

 

Accessible Trails:

Berry Head Pond
First 350 metres has a hardened tread (asphalt and boardwalk) provides access to the pond and several viewing areas. Trail tread is more than 1.5 metres wide, elevation gain less than 5 metres.

Western Brook Pond
Trail head to the pond (3 km) has a hardened tread (packed gravel). Trail tread width 4.8 metres wide, elevation gain is 15 metres but there are a couple of short steep sections. An all-terrain wheelchair is available at no charge from the Visitor Centre. It is non-motorized and cannot be propelled by the occupant. Reservations are recommended. Users are responsible for the transportation of the wheelchair to and from the Visitor Centre. grosmorne.info@gc.pc.ca or by telephone at (709) 458-2417. Some visitors have used the small motorized mall scooters on this trail.

Shallow Bay Day Use Area
Path from parking lot to beach and viewing deck (200 metres) has a hardened tread (packed gravel and boardwalk). Trail tread (2 metres)

C'est un endroit spécial. Le parc national du Gros-Morne est une porte d'entrée à la nature, à l'aventure et à la découverte. Notre objectif est de protéger et de préserver ces lieux spéciaux pour tous. Les parcs nationaux du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et devraient être accessibles et inclusifs pour tous les visiteurs. À Gros-Morne, nous sommes heureux d'offrir un certain nombre de soutien aux personnes et aux familles ayant des besoins supplémentaires. Il s'agit notamment d'hébergement pour les personnes ayant des besoins de traitement sensoriel, des pistes avec des sections accessibles, du personnel formé et informé, et des trousses d'information à votre arrivée. Chaque personne mérite l'opportunité de profiter de nos parcs nationaux. Nous sommes ravis que vous fassiez des souvenirs dans cet endroit spécial.

Si vous découvrez le parc pour la première fois et que vous avez des suggestions pour savoir comment nous pouvons être plus accessibles et inclusifs, faites-le nous savoir. Nous aimerions avoir de vos nouvelles et continuer à améliorer nos offres. Vous pouvez nous joindre à GrosMorne.Info@pc.gc.ca ou # 709-458-2417.

Visiteurs ayant des besoins sensoriels

Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration avec Autism Society, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (disponible en Anglais seulement) pour créer un forfait de voyage pour les familles et les personnes vivant avec le trouble du spectre autistique (ASD). Notre mission est de fournir une expérience spécifique à l'autisme, sûre et agréable pour tous, tout en limitant le stress et les défis pour les visiteurs. Cette option sera disponible pour les personnes et les familles qui souhaitent créer une expérience mémorable en vacances à Gros-Morne. Le forfait d'information implique un hébergement complet dans l'une de nos cabines rustiques à Berry Hill. Nous avons inclus des éléments sensoriels qui peuvent être difficiles pour les familles, ainsi que certaines informations que vous pourriez trouver utiles pendant votre séjour. Que vous soyez à la recherche d'aventure ou de détente, la cabane rustique de Parcs Canada est sûre de vous sentir comme chez vous.

Pour nous aider à mieux préparer votre visite, veuillez remplir le formulaire de préinscription des services aux visiteurs et le soumettre à grosmorne.info@pc.gc.ca

Téléchargez notre trousse d'information, y compris des histoires sociales pour vos expériences dans le parc.

Le parc offre divers services aux visiteurs à besoins spéciaux. Des montages audiovisuels sous-titrés sont disponibles au Centre d’accueil et au Centre de découverte. Les endroits suivants sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant :

  • Centre de découverte, Woody Point
  • Centre d’acceuil, Rocky Harbour
  • Centre récréatif, Rocky Harbour
  • Trottoir de bois du sentier Berry Head Pond
  • Étage inférieur des installations de pêche de Broom Point
  • Étage inférieur des installations de pêche de Lobster Cove Head
  • Aires de fréquentation diurne :
    • Baie Shallow
    • Ruisseau Western
    • Ruisseau Mill
    • Collines Southeast
    • Lomond
    • Ruisseau MacKenzie’s
    • Étang Trout River

Les campings accessibles, les douches et les toilettes sont situés dans les terrains de camping suivants:

  • Berry Hill: le site # 46 est entièrement accessible, tout comme la cabane rustique n ° 1 et tous les autres campings sont accessibles avec assistance.
  • Point vert: tous les campings sont accessibles avec assistance.
  • Shallow Bay: le site # 17 est entièrement accessible et tous les autres campings sont accessibles avec assistance.
  • Lomond: le site n ° 21 est entièrement accessible et tous les autres campings sont accessibles avec assistance.
  • Trout River: les sites # 39 et # 40 sont entièrement accessibles et tous les autres campings sont accessibles avec assistance.

Sentiers accessibles:

Étang Berry Head
Les premiers 350 mètres ont une bande de roulement durcie (asphalte et promenade) permet d'accéder à l'étang et à plusieurs zones de visionnement. La bande de roulement des pistes est supérieure à 1,5 m de large, gain d'élévation inférieur à 5 mètres.

Western Brook Pond
La tête de piste à l'étang (3 km) a une bande de roulement durcie (gravier). Largeur de la bande passante de 4,8 mètres de large, le gain d'élévation est de 15 mètres, mais il y a quelques courtes sections abruptes. Une fauteuil roulant tout terrain est disponible sans frais auprès du centre des visiteurs. Il est non motorisé et ne peut pas être propulsé par l'occupant. Les réservations sont recommandées. Les utilisateurs sont responsables du transport du fauteuil roulant vers et depuis le centre d'accueil. grosmorne.info@gc.pc.ca ou par téléphone au (709) 458-2417. Certains visiteurs ont utilisé les petits scooters motorisés sur ce parcours.

Zone d'utilisation du bord de la Shallow Bay
Le chemin du stationnement à la plage et le pont de visionnement (200 mètres) a une bande de roulement durcie (gravier et promenade garni). Bande de roulement (2 mètres)