Thank you for your patience as we work hard to renew the Western Brook Pond trail surface and boat operation facilities. 

As part of efforts to share information and updates regarding the Western Brook Pond project, Parks Canada team members have compiled a set of “Frequently Asked Questions” based on queries received from local residents, stakeholders and the general public. Additionally, a “Timeline” has been created to trace the evolution of the trail from its beginnings to present-day, providing insight into the origins of the infrastructure project at Western Brook Pond. Parks Canada appreciates the interest expressed by the public in our work and encourages you to visit this page often, as updates will be added here as they become available. We also invite you to continue sending us your questions so that we can provide clear and accurate information about all aspects of this project.

Fact sheets/project updates:

Infrastructure Changes at Western Brook Pond 2017-2019

Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine; the largest investment in its history. This investment supports work to ensure Western Brook Pond remains a safe, high-quality and enjoyable experience for generations to come. Through these investments, Parks Canada is protecting and preserving our treasured places, while contributing to growth in the tourism sector.

Investment

Parks Canada will invest more than $3 million in the facilities at Western Brook Pond and to carry out necessary repairs.

Visitor Data

According to a recent visitor survey, many visitors to Gros Morne National Park who took the boat tour at Western Brook Pond describe it as the highlight of their visit (Visitor Information Program Survey, 2015. In 2017, boat tour users accounted for 40,000 hikers on this trail, a 46% increase since 2013.

Infrastructure Issues pre-2017

With such high visitor appeal, the previous parking lot was frequently beyond capacity, resulting in a public safety concern with large numbers of vehicles parked on the shoulder of Route 430. The trail, with long sections of narrow and sometimes unstable boardwalk, could not accommodate this level of use, causing problems with congestion and creating concerns regarding the safe transportation of fuel and other supplies required for the operation of the boat tour. Some sections of the trail were also prone to flooding, erosion and washouts, necessitating almost daily maintenance.

The pressure treated wood boardwalks of the Western Brook Pond trail were subject to regular flooding and are subject to deterioration over time.

The work to be completed in 2018 - 2019 includes:
  • A replacement of the solar powered washroom facilities at the trailhead.
  • An expansion of the parking lot adjacent to Route 430 by 50%.
  • Construction of a new off-grid storage building near the parking lot.
  • Re-construction of the trail, including a realignment, lowering of grades, and a hardening of trail surfaces to allow for a longer life in our harsh environment, reduced maintenance costs, and the safe transport of supplies such as fuel for the boat tour operations.
  • Widening of the trail to allow for multi-use activities (walking, cycling, strollers, wheelchairs, etc.) and emergency vehicle access.
  • Replacing the wharf on Western Brook Pond.
  • Repairing the boathouse and replacing the building envelope to protect it from extreme winds.
  • Dredging of the pond near the boat house to allow for boat storage in early fall when water levels are naturally low.
  • These expansions and upgrades will help ensure the quality and reliability of visitor facilities and continue to allow Canadians to connect with nature.

    Environmental Protections

    All proposed infrastructure work is scrutinized to mitigate environmental impacts. Some design features and mitigations for the Western Brook Pond project include:

  • To the greatest extent possible, the new trail will follow the footprint of the previous trail except for some realignments that are necessary to address drainage and flooding issues. The work also involved resurfacing the trail with aggregate and installing culverts that are large enough to accommodate natural water-flow and possible increases in runoff due to climate change.
  • The new trail bed is built on a base of rock aggregate placed on geo-grids, allowing the removal of narrow, pressure treated wood boardwalks that are subject to deterioration over time.
  • The surface of the finished trail tread is 4.8 m wide; while wider than the previous trail, the finished trail will be narrower than is currently visible during the construction phase. The increased width is required to better meet the volume and type of pedestrian traffic, accommodate peak periods associated with the boat tour, and safely accommodate transport of supplies needed for the boat tour and emergency evacuations.
  • Vegetation cutting and trail bed construction took place during winter to avoid disturbing nesting songbirds and other wildlife. Timing most of the work during winter, while the ground was frozen and thus protected, limited impacts on soils and vegetation. Initial construction, including laying the base and a temporary surface on the trail, was carried out in Winter 2018 while final surfacing of the trail will occur during winter 2019, after the base has had a year to settle and stabilize. Vegetation in areas that were cleared during construction will be allowed to grow back to the edges of the trail once the work has been completed.
  • Timeline and Visitor Impact

    The trail is now closed to visitors and will be open to the public again in May 2019. The trail will re-open year-round when construction has been completed.

    During the active construction phase, Western Brook Pond is a work-in-progress. As with any construction site, the health and safety of work crews and the general public are of utmost concern. For this reason, signage will be posted indicating that the trail is closed during construction and access to the site is restricted to authorized personnel only.

    Information on this project and others happening in 2019 can be found on www.parkscanada.gc.ca/grosmorne or by contacting us at (709) 458-2417 or grosmorne.info@pc.gc.ca.

Merci de votre patience alors que nous travaillons d'arrache-pied pour rénover la surface du sentier Western Brook Pond et les installations d'exploitation des bateaux.

Dans le but de faire le point sur le projet de l’étang Western Brook et d’informer le public, le personnel de Parcs Canada a créé une « foire aux questions » à partir des demandes de renseignements formulées par les résidents locaux, les intervenants et le public. Il a également établi la « chronologie » du sentier, de ses débuts à aujourd’hui, pour ainsi donner un aperçu de l’origine du projet d’infrastructure de l’étang Western Brook. L’équipe de Parcs Canada est reconnaissante de l’intérêt que vous portez à son travail et vous invite à consulter régulièrement sa page pour prendre connaissance des nouvelles qui y seront publiées dès qu’elles seront disponibles. Elle vous invite également à continuer d’envoyer vos questions pour qu’elle puisse fournir des renseignements clairs et précis sur tous les aspects du projet.

Fiche d’information :

 

Changements d’infrastructure à l’étang Western Brook 2017-2019

Parcs Canada effectue un investissement sans précédent de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans dans des travaux d’infrastructure visant des biens patrimoniaux, des installations destinées aux visiteurs, des voies navigables et des routes dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation. Il s’agit de l’investissement le plus important de son histoire. Cet investissement a pour but de s’assurer que l’étang Western Brook reste une expérience sécuritaire, agréable et de grande qualité pour les générations futures. Grâce à cet investissement, Parcs Canada protège et préserve nos endroits les plus précieux, tout en contribuant à la croissance du secteur touristique.

Investissement

Parcs Canada investira plus de trois millions de dollars pour mettre à niveau certaines des installations de l’étang Western Brook et pour effectuer les réparations nécessaires.

Données sur les visiteurs

Selon un sondage récent mené auprès des visiteurs, visiteurs du parc national du Gros-Morne font l'excursion en bateau à l'étang Western Brook, excursion qui est décrite par de nombreux visiteurs comme le point saillant de leur visite (Programme d’information sur les visiteurs, 2015). En 2017, les utilisateurs de bateaux de croisière représentaient 40 000 randonneurs sur ce sentier, soit une augmentation de 46 % depuis 2013.

Problèmes d'infrastructure avant 2017

Issues with Boardwalk

Étant donné l'aussi grand attrait pour les visiteurs, le terrain de stationnement actuel dépasse fréquemment sa capacité, ce qui se traduit par des préoccupations en matière de sécurité publique avec le grand nombre de véhicules stationnés sur l’accotement de la route 430. Le sentier, et ses longues sections de trottoirs de bois étroits et parfois instables, ne sont pas en mesure de permettre ce niveau d'utilisation, ce qui cause des problèmes de congestion et soulève des préoccupations concernant le transport sécuritaire de carburant et d'autres produits nécessaires aux activités d'excursions en bateau. Certaines sections du sentier étaient également propices aux inondations, à l'érosion et à l'affouillement, nécessitant un entretien presque quotidien.

Les promenades en bois traité sous pression du sentier Western Brook Pond ont été régulièrement inondées et sont susceptibles de se détériorer avec le temps.

Voici les travaux ont été effectués en 2018 :
  • le remplacement des installations sanitaires alimentées par énergie solaire au point de départ du sentier;
  • un agrandissement de 50 % du stationnement adjacent menant à la route 430;
  • la construction d’une nouvelle installation d’entreposage près du stationnement;
  • le réaménagement du sentier, y compris un réalignement, l’abaissement des niveaux et le raffermissement de la surface du sentier afin d’assurer sa durabilité dans notre environnement inhospitalier, de réduire les coûts d'entretien et d'assurer le transport sécuritaire de fournitures comme le carburant pour les excursions en bateau;
  • l’élargissement du sentier pour permettre des activités polyvalentes (marche, cyclisme, poussettes, chaises roulantes, etc.) et l’accès aux véhicules d’urgence;
  • le remplacement du quai de l’étang Western Brook;
  • la réparation de la remise à bateaux et le remplacement de l’enveloppe du bâtiment afin de le protéger contre les vents extrêmes;
  • le dragage de l’étang à proximité de la remise à bateaux afin de permettre l’entreposage de bateaux au début de l’automne, lorsque les niveaux d’eau sont naturellement bas.

Ces agrandissements et mises à niveau assureront la qualité et la fiabilité des installations destinées aux visiteurs et continueront de permettre aux Canadiens de se rapprocher de la nature.

Mesures de protection de l’environnement

Tous les travaux d'infrastructure proposés sont scrutés à la loupe afin d'atténuer les conséquences environnementales. Voici certaines des caractéristiques de conception et mesures d’atténuation pour le projet de l'étang Western Brook:

  • Dans la mesure du possible, le nouveau sentier suivra l'empreinte du sentier existant, sauf quelques réalignements qui sont nécessaires pour résoudre les problèmes de drainage et d’inondation. Les travaux comprennent également le resurfaçage du sentier à l'aide de granulats et l'installation de ponceaux qui sont suffisamment grands pour permettre l’écoulement naturel de l’eau et les augmentations possibles du ruissellement attribuables aux changements climatiques.
  • La nouvelle assise de sentier sera construite sur une base de granulats de roches placés sur des grilles géotextiles, ce qui nous permettra de retirer les trottoirs de bois traité sous pression étroits qui sont sujets à la détérioration au fil du temps. Les géo-réseaux ont été placés sur le sol et l'agrégat de roche a été placé sur le dessus. Ce type de technologie est utilisé pour renforcer les sols pour les sous-sols plus faibles tels que les tourbières. Les géogrilles distribuent des charges lourdes sur des sols meubles comme une raquette qui supporte le poids d'une personne sur une neige molle.
  • La surface de la chaussée du sentier aura 4,8 mètres de largeur; bien que plus large que le sentier précédent, le sentier fini seront considérablement plus étroit que ce qui est actuellement visible durant la phase de construction. Un sentier plus large est nécessaire pour mieux répondre aux besoins liés au volume et au type de circulation piétonnière ainsi qu'aux périodes de pointe associées aux excursions en bateau, et pour permettre le transport sécuritaire des fournitures nécessaires aux excursions en bateau et les évacuations d'urgence.
  • La coupe de la végétation et la construction de l'assise du sentier auront lieu durant l'hiver pour éviter de déranger les oiseaux chanteurs nicheurs et d'autres espèces sauvages. Le fait de prévoir la plupart des travaux durant l'hiver alors que le sol est gelé et, par conséquent, protégé, permet également de limiter les répercussions sur le sol et la végétation. La construction initiale, notamment étendre un revêtement de base et une surface temporaire sur le sentier, sera menée cet hiver, alors que le surfaçage final du sentier aura lieu à l'hiver 2018-2019, après que le revêtement de base ait eu une année pour prendre sa place et se stabiliser. La végétation dans les secteurs dégagés pendant la construction pourra pousser de nouveau sur les bords du sentier dès que les travaux seront terminés.

Calendrier et impact sur les visiteurs

Le sentier est maintenant ouvert aux visiteurs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet et sur d’autres activités qui se dérouleront en 2019, vous pouvez consulter le site www.parkscanada.gc.ca/grosmorne, nous téléphoner au 709-458-2417 ou nous écrire à grosmorne.info@pc.gc.ca.