For everybody’s enjoyment and safety

Laws are designed to protect you, the visitor, and also the Park for enjoyment by future generations. It is your responsibility to be aware of the laws. If you have any questions please contact the Park at (709) 458-2417.

National Parks are unique places and therefore require unique rules and persons to enforce them. Park Wardens are Federal Officers responsible for the protection of the National Park, and preservation and maintenance of public peace. Their primary responsibility is enforcement of the Canada National Parks Act, however, they also enforce the Criminal Code, liquor and highway regulations among others.

Breaking the law in a National Park can result in eviction, a ticket, court appearance or in more serious instances, arrest. Canadian National Park offences can carry heavy fines and could result in jail time or restitution. For some offences, such as poaching or pollution, fines can be in excess of $250,000.

All charges under the Canada National Parks Act result in automatic court appearances.

Area Closures and Restrictions

There are a number of outdoor activities that require a permit. Check with the Visitor Centre and/or Discovery Centre prior to engagement of non-traditional, unusual or commercial activities. Occasionally, area closures and other restrictions are required to protect Park resources and for visitor safety considerations. Closures are enforceable by law. These closures will be posted at the trailhead, access points, Park offices and Visitor Centres. Info on closures will also be available online. See Important Bulletins…

Camping

Camping is permitted in designated campgrounds only. Camping or overnight parking in roadside pullouts, trailheads and day-use-areas is not permitted. The locations of campgrounds can be found in the National Park reservation guide. The permit holder for the campsite is responsible for the site, including cleanliness, noise levels and actions of visitors. Camping in designated primitive camps sites or backcountry camping require a permit. See Camping for more information…

Alcohol

Consumption of alcohol within the Park is permitted only at registered campsites. Alcohol is prohibited at beaches, day use areas, cook shelters and trails. During certain periods of the year, campgrounds may have temporary liquor bans in effect identified through notices. It is your responsibility to be aware of the rules regarding alcohol consumption. See Important Bulletins…

Boating

Use of motorized watercraft in Gros Morne is prohibited, except for Trout River Pond and Deer Arm Pond (motors less than 10 hp). Operators and passengers must comply with the Canada Shipping Act requirements. Any type of inflatable is considered a vessel when it is used for navigating and each occupant/passenger requires a life vest and safety equipment. Drinking and boating is illegal, similar to drinking and driving.

Day Use Areas

Day use areas, such as beaches and picnic sites, are open from 0800 hrs to 2300 hrs. They are not for camping or partying at night. Liquor is prohibited at all day use areas. Fires are only allowed where designated fire boxes are available.

Fire

Bush party sites and random fires pose a serious threat to the Park. Fires are only permitted in a proper fire receptacle. No random fires are permitted in the Park. Do not collect deadfall or cut branches for fires. Use provided firewood only. Never leave a fire unattended, make sure to put it out before you leave.

Off Road Driving – ATV Use

The use of quads/ATV, dirt bikes, or other off-road vehicles is prohibited. Scooters are considered motor vehicles for these purposes and are not permitted on trails or areas closed to motor vehicle traffic.

Snowmobiling

If you are planning on operating a snowmobile in Gros Morne National Park and live in any of the following communities you will need a Resident Snowmobile Operator’s Permit: Cow Head, St. Pauls, Sally’s Cove, Rocky Harbour, Norris Point, Glenburnie–Birchy Head–Shoal Brook, Woody Point, or Trout River. If you live anywhere else, either in Newfoundland and Labrador or outside the province you require a Public/Commercial Snowmobile Operator’s Permit.

Noise and Park Enjoyment

It is an offence to interfere with others’ quiet enjoyment of a park during any part of the day or night. This includes loud music and shouting in campgrounds, and/or in day use areas. Visitors should be aware that quiet hours are enforced between 2300 and 0700 hrs in all campgrounds.

Pets

All domestic animals must be kept on a leash at all times. Be considerate of your neighbours and do not leave your animal tied up and unattended. If left unattended, the animal may be impounded. Allowing your pet to chase any wild animal in the Park is an offence. Pets are not permitted in some areas. Look for notices at trailheads and visitor centres to find out where these restrictions are.

Wildlife Viewing

It is illegal to entice, pet or attempt to pet, harass or feed wild animals in the park. Pursuing animals with cameras is considered harassment. Animal behaviour is unpredictable and could result in injury if they are not given enough space. Obstructing traffic is an offence and a hazard to other motorists. Pull over in designated pull offs only for viewing wildlife.

Natural Objects

It is illegal to collect plants, animals, and animal parts including antlers, fossils and natural objects. If you believe you have found something significant, leave the item in place and report your finding to the nearest Parks centre. Please leave these natural items for others to enjoy as well.

Hunting - Firearms

Firearms and Hunting are only permitted during hunting season in Gros Morne National Park. If you are carrying a firearm through to another destination it must be unloaded, securely encased and kept in your vehicle. Firearms include slingshots, bows, bb guns, cross bows and paintball guns. Hunting carries serious offences in a National Park. Fireworks are also not permitted. See moose reduction program…

We need your help. If you see something suspicious, do not hesitate. Record the following information and report it, 24/7 to Jasper Dispatch 877-852-3100 or drop this information off at any Parks Canada info centre.

  • Date
  • Time Occurred
  • Location (road, trail day use area)
  • What happened (offence believe occurred)
  • Licence (include province)
  • Vehicle Description (make, model, colour)
  • Identifying Features (dents, stickers)
  • Number of Persons, age, description (gender, race, hair, height, clothes)
  • Other notes

Please report any activity such as vehicle off-roading, littering or polluting, removal of artefacts, damage to plants, poaching, feeding and harassment of animals and public liquor use.

Your information and participation contributes to the protection of this special place for all visitors. Your information will remain anonymous. If you are willing to assist further please provide your name, address, and phone number. Report violations Phone Number 709-458-2417 or toll free 877-852-3100

This is only a summary of some common regulations governing National Parks and has no legal status. For a complete listing of the Canada National Parks Act and Regulations visit: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/N-14.01/index.html

Pour le plaisir et la sécurité de tout le monde

Les lois sont conçues pour vous, le visiteur, et aussi pour protéger le parc pour les générations futures. Il est de votre responsabilité d'être au courant des lois. Si vous avez des questions s'il vous plaît contacter le parc au (709) 458-2417.

Les parcs nationaux sont des lieux uniques et nécessitent donc des règles uniques et des personnes pour les faire respecter. Les gardes de parc sont des agents fédéraux chargés de la protection du parc national, et à la préservation et le maintien de la paix publique. Leur principale responsabilité est l'application de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, toutefois, ils appliquent également les règlements du Code, les règles d'alcool et les criminels, entre autres.

Briser la loi dans un parc national peut entraîner l'expulsion, un billet, l'apparence d'un tribunal ou dans les cas plus graves, l'arrestation. Les infractions canadiennes dans les parcs nationaux peuvent transporter de lourdes amendes et pourraient aboutir à des peines d'emprisonnement ou de restitution. Pour certaines infractions, telles que le braconnage ou la pollution, les amendes peuvent être supérieurs à 250 000 $.

Toutes les accusations en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions des parcs nationaux du Canada entraînent des comparutions automatiques.

Zone Fermetures et Restrictions

Il y a un certain nombre d'activités de plein air qui nécessitent un permis. Vérifiez auprès le centre d’accueil / ou le centre de découverte avant l'engagement des activités non traditionnelles, inhabituelles ou commerciales. De temps en temps, les fermetures de zones et d'autres restrictions sont nécessaires pour protéger les ressources du parc et pour des raisons de sécurité des visiteurs. Les fermetures sont exécutoires par la loi. Ces fermetures seront affichées au début du sentier, des points d'accès, les bureaux de Parc et les centres d’accueil. Infos sur la fermeture sera également disponible en ligne. Voir Bulletins importants ...

Camping

Le camping est autorisé dans les terrains de camping désignés seulement. Camping ou le stationnement de nuit dans les bordures de route, les stationnements des pistes de randonnées et les zones journalière ne sont pas autorisés. Les emplacements des terrains de camping se trouvent dans le guide de Gros-Morne. Le titulaire d'un permis pour le camping est responsable du site, y compris la propreté, les niveaux de bruit et les actions des visiteurs. Camping dans des sites désignés, soit les camps primitifs ou le camping sauvage, nécessite un permis. Voir Camping pour plus d'informations ...

De l'alcool

La consommation d'alcool dans le parc est autorisée uniquement dans les campings enregistrés. L'alcool est interdit sur les plages, les aires de fréquentation, les abris de cuisine et des sentiers. Pendant certaines périodes de l'année, les terrains de camping peuvent avoir des interdictions d'alcool temporaires en vigueur identifié au moyen d'avis. Il est de votre responsabilité de connaître les règles relatives à la consommation d'alcool. Voir Bulletins importants ...

Boating

L'utilisation des bateaux à moteur à essence sur un plan d'eau à Gros Morne est interdite, sauf pour Trout River Pond et Deer Arm Pond (moteurs moins de 10 ch). Les opérateurs et les passagers doivent se conformer aux exigences de la Loi marine marchande du Canada. Tout type de pneumatique est considéré comme un navire quand il est utilisé pour la navigation et chaque occupant / passager a besoin d'un gilet de sauvetage et d’équipement de sécurité. Boire et opérer un motomarines est illégale, semblable à l'alcool au Volant.

Les aires de fréquentation

Les aires de fréquentation, telles que les plages et les sites de pique-nique, sont ouverts de 08h00 à 23h00. Ils ne sont pas pour le camping ou faire la fête la nuit. L’alcool est interdit dans tous les aires de fréquentations. Les feux ne sont autorisés que lorsque les boîtes d'incendie désignées sont disponibles.

Feu

Les incendies aléatoires constituent une menace sérieuse pour le parc. Les feux ne sont autorisés que dans un récipient d'incendie approuvé. Aucun feu au hasard n’est autorisé dans le parc. Ne pas recueillir d’assommoir ou de couper des branches pour les incendies. Utiliser le bois de chauffage seulement. Ne jamais laisser un feu sans surveillance s’assurer de l’éteindre avant le départ.

Les routes et ATV

L'utilisation des VTT, motos, ou d'autres véhicules hors route est interdite. Les scooters sont considérés comme des véhicules à moteur à ces fins et ne sont pas autorisés sur les sentiers ou les zones fermées à la circulation des véhicules à moteur.

Motoneige

Si vous avez décidé de conduire une motoneige dans le parc national du Gros-Morne et de vivre dans l'une des communautés suivantes, vous aurez besoin d'un permis de motoneige opérateur résident: Cow Head, St. Pauls, Sally Cove, Rocky Harbour, Norris Point, Glenburnie-Birchy Head -Shoal Brook, Woody Point ou Trout River. Si vous vivez nulle part ailleurs, que ce soit à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ou à l'extérieur de la province vous avez besoin d'un permis de motoneige opérateur public / commercial.

Bruit et Parc Plaisir

Il est une infraction d'interférer avec d'autres la jouissance paisible d'un parc au cours d'une partie de la journée ou de la nuit. Cela inclut la musique forte et crier dans les terrains de camping, et / ou dans les aires de fréquentation. Les visiteurs doivent être conscients que les heures tranquilles sont appliquées entre 2300 et 0700 heures dans tous les terrains de camping.

Animaux domestiques

Tous les animaux domestiques doivent être tenus en laisse en tout temps. Soyez attentif à vos voisins et ne pas laisser votre animal attaché sans surveillance. Si laissé sans surveillance, l'animal peut être mis en fourrière. Si vous permettez votre animal de compagnie à chasser dans le parc, c’est une infraction. Les animaux domestiques ne sont pas admis dans certaines régions. Rechercher des avis au début des sentiers et aux centres d'accueil pour en savoir plus.

Observation de la faune

Il est illégal d’attirer ou de tenter de caresser un animal. Il est aussi illégal de les harceler ou les nourrir. La poursuite des animaux avec des caméras est considérée comme le harcèlement. Le comportement d’un animal est imprévisible et peut entraîner des blessures si elles ne sont pas données assez d'espace. Entrave trafic est une infraction et un danger pour les autres automobilistes. Les bordures ou les aires de fréquentation sont désignés uniquement pour observer la faune.

Éléments Naturels

Il est illégal de ramasser des plantes, des animaux et des parties d'animaux, y compris des bois, des fossiles et des objets naturels. Si vous croyez que vous avez trouvé quelque chose d'important, laissez l'élément en place et signaler votre découverte au centre d’accueil le plus proche. S'il vous plaît laisser ces éléments naturels pour les autres d’en profiter aussi.

 

Chasse - Armes à feu

Les armes à feu et de chasse ne sont autorisés que pendant la saison de chasse dans le parc national du Gros-Morne. Si vous êtes porteur d'une arme à feu par le biais d'une autre destination, il doit être déchargé, en toute sécurité enfermé et gardé dans votre véhicule. Les armes à feu comprennent des frondes, des arcs, des fusils à plombs, arbalètes et paintball. La chasse porte des infractions graves dans un parc national. Feux d'artifice sont également interdits. Voir le programme de réduction des orignaux ...

Nous avons besoin de votre aide

Si vous voyez quelque chose de suspect, ne pas hésiter. Notez les informations suivantes et le signaler, 24/7 au service de répartition des urgences 1-877-852-3100 ou laisser cette information à tout centre d'information de Parcs Canada.

  • Date
  • Temps
  • Lieu (route, piste utilisation quotidienne de la zone)
  • Qu'est-ce qui est arrivé (infraction croient produite)
  • Licence (y compris la province)
  • Description du véhicule (marque, modèle, couleur)
  • Nombre de personnes, l'âge, la description (sexe, race, cheveux, taille, vêtements)
  • Identifier les caractéristiques (bosses, autocollants)
  • Autres notes

    S'il vous plaît signaler toute activité comme les infractions, véhicule tout-terrain, détritus ou polluantes, la suppression des artefacts, des dommages aux plantes, le braconnage, l'alimentation et le harcèlement des animaux et l'utilisation de l'alcool public.

    Votre information et participation contribue à la protection de cet endroit spécial pour tous les visiteurs. Vos informations resteront anonymes. Si vous êtes prêt à aider davantage s'il vous plaît fournir votre nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone. Rapport violations
    Numéro de téléphone 709-458-2417 ou sans frais 877-852-3100

    Ceci est seulement un résumé de certaines règles communes régissant les parcs nationaux et n'a pas de statut juridique.

    Pour obtenir une liste complète de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et le Règlement sur le site: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/N-14.01/index.html