Spectacular scenery, spectacular snow, spectacular activities… Gros Morne in winter is a different place to explore. The west coast offers some of the best conditions for winter activities on the island of Newfoundland making it a great time to visit Gros Morne National Park and discover something new.

The 2019 Gros Morne National Park annual park pass is available now and is valid from January to December. For information on where to obtain your 2019 pass, check our list of locations.  
In addition, the 2019 Parks Canada Discovery Pass is now on sale and is a great value, providing access to our national treasures all year long. For information on purchasing the 2019 Parks Canada Discovery Pass, please visit our fees page.

Featured Activities

X-Country Skiing
With four groomed X-Country Ski trails to choose from, as well as plenty of areas with undisturbed powder, there are a variety of opportunities to experience Gros Morne on skis – even at night!

Snowshoeing
Requiring minimal skill and investment, snowshoeing is a great way to get out and enjoy winter in Gros Morne. Some of the park’s hiking trails make great snowshoe routes!

Winter Picnicking
Picnics aren’t just for summer – with a thermos or portable stove, you can enjoy a hot drink or meal in the great outdoors, even in winter. There are some beautiful winter picnic locations in the Gros Morne, just a short ski or snowshoe away.

Backcountry Ski and Snowshoe Touring
For more adventurous winter enthusiasts, Gros Morne has lots of backcountry waiting to be explored. There are even overnight options to choose from!

Stay overnight

There are two options for those wishing to spend the night in Gros Morne National Park during winter. Hardy souls might like to try winter camping at Green Point Campground while those preferring a little more comfort should check out the park’s backcountry ski huts.

Green Point Winter Camping
Centrally-located just north of Rocky Harbour on route 430, Green Point Campground is open year-round. From May to October, campsites can be booked on the Parks Canada Reservation System but in winter, the campground operates on a self-registration basis.

Backcountry Ski Huts
Located approximately 8km from the nearest road, these huts are best suited to experienced skiers and snowshoers looking for a workout before settling in for the night. Nestled beside Bakers Brook Pond and in Southwest Gulch, they are great bases from which to explore Gros Morne’s backwoods.

Des paysages spectaculaires, de la neige spectaculaire, des activités spectaculaires… En hiver, le parc national du Gros-Morne vous invite à explorer un univers transformé. La côte Ouest est l’une des régions de l’île qui offrent les conditions les plus propices aux loisirs d’hiver. Il s’agit donc d’une saison idéale pour faire un séjour dans le parc et découvrir du nouveau.

Le nouveau laissez-passer annuel du parc national du Gros-Morne de 2019 est disponible dès maintenant et est valide de janvier à décembre. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les laissez-passer de 2019, consultez le site Web du Parc national du Gros-Morne.
De plus, la carte d’entrée Découverte de Parcs Canada est maintenant en vente et est très avantageuse, offrant un accès à nos trésors nationaux tout au long de l’année. Pour obtenir plus d’information sur la façon de se procurer la carte d’entrée Découverte de Parcs Canada 2019, veuillez visiter le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Activités en vedette

Ski de fond
Le parc renferme quatre pistes de ski damées et divers coins endormis sous une couche de neige poudreuse vierge. Le ski vous offre donc tout un éventail de possibilités d’exploration – même la nuit! 

Raquette
La raquette exige un minimum de technique et d’investissement; c’est donc un excellent moyen de profiter du grand air en hiver dans le parc. Certains des meilleurs sentiers de randonnée du parc forment d’excellents parcours de raquette!

Pique-niques
Les pique-niques ne sont pas seulement une activité estivale. Avec un thermos ou un réchaud portatif, vous pouvez savourer une boisson chaude ou un repas en plein air, même en hiver. Le parc abrite de magnifiques aires de pique-nique hivernales qui sont facilement accessibles en skis ou en raquettes. 

Ski et raquette de randonnée
Les amateurs d’aventures trouveront dans le parc national du Gros-Morne un vaste arrière-pays à explorer. Il y a même des possibilités d’excursions avec coucher! 
 

Passez-y la nuit

Les amateurs de plein air qui veulent passer la nuit dans le parc en hiver disposent de deux options. Les excursionnistes aguerris voudront peut-être essayer le camping d’hiver au camping de la Pointe-Green. Ceux qui préfèrent un peu plus de confort trouveront leur compte dans les refuges de ski.

Camping de la Pointe-Green
Situé dans un endroit central, juste au nord de Rocky Harbour, en bordure de la route 430, le camping de la Pointe-Green est ouvert à l’année. De mai à octobre, vous pouvez y réserver des emplacements grâce au système de réservation de Parcs Canada. En hiver, le camping fonctionne selon un régime d’auto-inscription.

Refuges de ski
Ces refuges sont situés à environ 8 km de la route la plus proche; ils conviennent surtout aux skieurs et aux raquetteurs chevronnés à la recherche d’une séance de cardio avant de s’installer pour la nuit. Nichés entre le lac Bakers Brook Pond et la ravine Southwest, ils forment d’excellentes bases pour l’exploration des forêts du parc.