Curious about the park? Visit the Discovery Centre. From geology to plants, moose to caribou, marine life to arctic life and the people of the past and present, your questions will be answered here.


Explore the geology exhibit which reveals the secrets of Gros Morne’s amazing geology, the reason for our UNESCO World Heritage Site designation. Do you have kids? Bring them to the Kids’ Camp Zone! Enjoy a tenting experience where games and toys awaits.


Too, you can watch the park film, find books and gifts at the Tuckamore Shoppe, or grab a sandwich at the café.  There, taste a delicious soup made the old fashioned Newfoundland way or delight in a real espresso, beans roasted locally.  Tired? Sit back and marvel at the beauty around you.


Get out and hike too. From the Discovery Centre you can head up the Lookout Trail onto the arctic highlands for an incredible view on the park and Tablelands, or for a more gentle adventure walk up to the Em Tapper Look-off. Take the community trail into Woody Point, skirting old cemeteries and stopping at one of the best lookouts in the region.


The Discovery Centre

 

May 15 – June 18. 9:00 am to 5:00 pm

June 19 – September 7. 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

September 8 – October 12. 9:00 am to 5:00 pm 

 

Medicine Walk 

Guided Walk (1h): Discovery Centre July 1 – September 7 Thursdays 2:00 pm 

Join a Parks Canada guide for a gentle walk to explore what grows in our forests and it can be used as nutrition and used to treat various ailments. Walk in the footsteps of those who have gone before to learn the traditional uses of plants and berries.


Around the Fire

Evening Outdoor Program (1h): Trout River Pond Campground
July 1 – September 7. Thursdays 7:00 pm
Gather around the crackling fire, as we share stories of our people and these beautiful natural places we call home.

Des questions sur le parc? Visitez le centre de découverte. De la géologie aux plantes, de l'orignal au caribou, de la vie marine à la vie arctique et aux peuples du passé et du présent, vos questions trouveront réponses ici.


Explorez l’exposition sur la géologie qui révèle les secrets étonnants de la géologie du Gros-Morne, raison de notre désignation au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Avez-vous des enfants? Amenez-les dans la zone du « camping des enfants »! Une tente avec des jeux et des jouets les y attend.


Vous pouvez aussi regarder le film sur le parc, trouver des livres et des cadeaux à la boutique de souvenirs « Tuckamore Shoppe » ou déguster un sandwich au café. Là-bas, goûtez à une délicieuse soupe préparée à l’ancienne façon terre-neuvienne ou savourez un véritable expresso, torréfié localement. Fatigué? Asseyez-vous et admirez la beauté à vos pieds et tout autour de vous.

 

Sortez et faites de la randonnée aussi. À partir du centre de découverte, vous pouvez emprunter le magnifique sentier « Lookout » qui vous amène sur les hauts plateaux arctiques, ou partir pour une aventure plus douce sur le sentier « Em Tapper Lookout ». Empruntez le sentier communautaire qui mène à Woody Point, passant près du vieux cimetière et vous offrant un des meilleurs points de vue sur la région.

 

Le centre de découverte

17 mai au 20 juin, de 9h00 à 17h00

21 juin au 2 septembre, de 9h00 à 18h00

3 septembre au 14 octobre, de 9h00 à 17h00

 

Circuit des plantes médicinales 

Promenade guidée: Jeudis, Centre de découverte (1h) , en anglais

Suivez les traces de ceux qui ont vécu ici pour découvrir les modes d’utilisation traditionnels des plantes et des baies.