The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority. We are only opening places and activities where risks can be managed, according to the advice of public health experts. For your safety, at all times, avoid all places, green spaces, day use areas and trails that are closed.

Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Update for June 1, 2020 - Gradual reopening of Parks Canada places

As of June 1, some Parks Canada places began a safe, gradual reopening of some outdoor areas at national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas. Openings will differ across the country.

This means:

  • As of June 1, you may be able to access certain Parks Canada places near you.
  • Access to some trails, day use areas, and green spaces at some locations will be permitted.
  • Group activities and public events are suspended until further notice.
  • Highways and roadways which pass through Parks Canada places will remain open.

We will continue to deliver services critical for Canadians, including highway maintenance, fire response, dam operations and water management on historic waterways, avalanche control, among others.

You are encouraged to purchase a Discovery Pass online before your visit as admission fees may be collected at the Parks Canada place you plan to visit.

Update for June 17, 2020 - Camping resumption

Starting June 22, 2020, Parks Canada will begin to offer some camping services at select national parks and national historic sites across the country. Initially, camping will be available only to visitors with existing reservations. Parks Canada will gradually begin to accept new online reservations for some campgrounds over the coming weeks.


As of June 1, Kouchibouguac National Park began a gradual reopening of some outdoor areas, facilities and services. Please check this website regularly for the current status of this location and others.

The latest information you need to know about Kouchibouguac National Park

Starting June 29, 2020, Kouchibouguac National Park will begin to offer limited camping services.

Visiting Kouchibouguac National Park will be different than it has been in the past. To avoid traffic cluttering and to respect the guidance of public health authorities around social distancing, visitors are encouraged to choose days and times when Kouchibouguac National Park is less frequented, and to plan ahead by checking the park’s website before they travel to find out.

What’s open (updated June 29, 2020)

Activities

  • Recreational fishing
  • Recreational clam digging
  • Recreational boating Small crafts

Campgrounds

  • South-Kouchibouguac
    • Entrance kiosk and wood shed
    • The campsites # 1 to #126 in the first loop
    • The campsites #185 to #312 of the third loop
    • Service buildings A and B of the first loop
  • Côte-à-Fabien
    • Entrance kiosk and wood shed
    • Campsites #1 to #32
    • Dry toilets
    • Water stations Boil order in effect

Facilities

  • Entrance kiosk Open daily from 8 am to 8 pm
  • Pijeboogwek’s parking lot, washrooms and bike trail head
  • Kellys Beach day-use area
  • Callanders day-use area
  • La Source day-use and picnic area
  • Boat ramps at Loggiecroft and Cap-St-Louis wharves for recreational boating Small crafts only
  • Laundromat
  • Pijeboogwek Shelter For general enquiries and cash transactions | Open daily from 8 am to 8 pm
  • Kellys Beach Canteen Open daily from 11 am to 7 pm

Roads

  • Route 117
  • Parkway Leads to Callanders, Kellys Beach and La Source

Walking trails

  • Kellys Beach Boardwalk
  • Pines
  • Mi’gmaq Cedar
  • Salt Marsh
  • Osprey
  • Claire-Fontaine
  • Kouchibouguac River

Biking trails

  • 60 km of interconnecting trail system Except the section between Petit-Large and Les pins
  • Major Kollock
What’s closed (updated June 26, 2020)

Activities

  • Interpretation programs (e.g. Voyageur Canoe, Wigwam Gatherings, Lagoon Life, etc.)
  • Special events (e.g. Canada Day, etc.)

Campgrounds

  • South-Kouchibouguac
    • Service buildings E (under construction - will be replaced by portable washrooms for the season) and F (third loop) Opening July 10
    • The playgrounds Opening July 3
    • Kitchen shelters (attached to service buildings)
    • All diversified accommodations (oTENTik and equipped camping)
    • The campsites #126 to #184 located in the second loop, including service buildings C and D
  • Côte-à-Fabien
    • All diversified accommodations (Ôasis)
    • Group camping
  • Backcountry
    • Sipù, Pointe-à-Maxime and Petit-Large Opening July 10

Facilities

  • Visitor Information Center (including gift shop, indoor theatre, exhibit area and indoor washrooms) Portable toilets and call centre services available
  • Petit-Large, Patterson and Middle-Kouchibouguac shelters
  • Ryans Equipment Rental Washrooms and parking lot opening July 3
  • General Store
  • Outdoor theatre

Walking trails

  • Beaver
  • Bog
  • Tweedie
Camping during COVID-19

Services and facilities

Visitors will have access to the following services and facilities:

  • A selection of sites at South Kouchibouguac Campground. The opening includes a variety of sites offering full services (water, sewer and electricity), partial services (electricity) and no services, as well as service buildings, entrance kiosk and laundromat
  • The majority of sites at Côte-à-Fabien campground, as well as the entrance kiosk, dry toilets and water stations (boil water advisory in effect)

Reservations

The camping experience at Kouchibouguac National Park will be different than previous years. Initially camping at the park will be limited to visitors with existing reservations. Visitors are required to have a reservation in order to camp at Kouchibouguac National Park. Parks Canada will gradually begin to accept new online reservations for some campgrounds over the coming weeks. Visitors should check the Parks Canada website regularly for updates and information on services available and reservation windows.

Parks Canada will gradually begin to accept new online reservations for some campgrounds over the coming weeks; specifically, reservations for Kouchibouguac National Park will be available as of Sunday, June 28.

Visitors will be able to reserve and access backcountry campgrounds beginning July 10, 2020.

Closed for the season

All diversified accommodations, including oTENTiks, Ôasis and the equipped campground, as well as all sites located in the 2nd loop at South Kouchibouguac campground, and group camping at Côte-à-Fabien campground will remain closed for the 2020 camping season. All reservations for diversified accommodations and sites located in Loop 2 will be automatically refunded in full.

Your safety when visiting

  • Visitors are always responsible for their own safety. Anyone participating in recreational activities should be extra cautious to avoid injury and/or getting lost to help minimize the demands placed on search and rescue teams and on the health care system.
  • Spring is an active season for many of the park’s wildlife, such as black bears who are busy scavenging for food after hibernation. Visitors must always keep a safe distance between themselves and wildlife. It is illegal to feed or disturb fauna and flora when visiting National Parks.
  • Always keep your pet on a leash and leave no trace.
  • Visitors must follow local and provincial or territorial travel restrictions, including requirements for self-isolation. It is not possible to self-isolate at Parks Canada campgrounds. Visitors must complete any provincial or territorial requirements for self-isolation before arriving to camp at Kouchibouguac National Park.
  • Parks Canada is asking Canadians to be cautious and conservative when they visit Kouchibouguac National Park and to respect any closures that are in place. Anyone participating in recreational activities should be extra cautious to avoid injury and/or getting lost to help minimize the demands placed on search and rescue teams and on the health care system.
Know before you go

  • For current pass holders, Parks Canada will automatically extend the end date of Discovery Passes for the full duration of the suspension period. That means that for each month or part of a month that visitor services are not offered due to Parks Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19, a full month will be added to the end date of the annual pass.
  • Access to the Visitor Information Center will remain closed until further notice. A call centre service will be offered daily from 9 am until 5 pm. For visitor information please call 506‑876‑2443.
  • A permit is required in order to fish or dig clams inside the national park’s waters. Kouchibouguac National Park’s recreational fishing and clam digging permits are sold exclusively at JMC’s convenience and Pointe-Sapin’s Co-op grocery store. Permits will be available for purchase as of May 29.
  • Sanitation stations and toilets will be available at Kellys Beach, Callanders, Pijeboogwek and the Visitor Information Center’s day-use areas.
  • Visitors must respect all closures and signage.

Stay informed

Parks Canada is working with provincial counterparts, local municipalities and communities to keep visitors and residents informed and safe.

For the most up to date information, visit:

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l'équipe de Parcs Canada sont de la plus haute importance pour nous. En juin et juillet, certains lieux de Parcs Canada ont commencé une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs, certains services de camping et certains espaces intérieurs des lieux historiques.

Nous n’ouvrons que les lieux et n’offrons que les activités pour lesquels les risques sont gérés, et ce, conformément aux conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique. Pour votre sécurité, en tout temps évitez tous les endroits qui sont fermés.

Les ouvertures et services varient selon les régions du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Nous continuons de fournir des services critiques à l’intention des Canadiens, notamment l’entretien des routes, l’intervention en cas d’incendie, l’exploitation des barrages et la gestion de l’eau dans les voies navigables historiques et le contrôle des avalanches pour ne citer que ceux-ci.

Mise à jour du 30 juillet 2020 - Masques non médicaux et couvre-visages

Les visiteurs sont encouragés à porter un masque non médical ou un couvre-visage lorsqu’ils visitent des espaces publics intérieurs dans tout site de Parcs Canada. Lorsque vous visitez un site de Parcs Canada, vous pouvez voir des panneaux qui vous rappellent que c’est ce que nous recommandons.

Un espace public intérieur comprend tout espace avec des murs et un toit auquel le public a accès.

Si un site de Parcs Canada se trouve dans un endroit où le port d’un masque non médical ou d’un couvre-visage est obligatoire, les visiteurs seront priés de respecter cette exigence.


Le 1er juin, le parc national Kouchibouguac a commencé une réouverture progressive de certains services, emplacements extérieurs et de certaines installations. Veuillez consulter régulièrement ce site Web pour les conditions actuelles de ce lieu et des autres.

Informations importantes sur votre visite au Parc national Kouchibouguac

À compter du 29 juin 2020, le parc national Kouchibouguac commencera à offrir des services limités de camping.

La visite du parc national Kouchibouguac sera différente de ce qu’elle était par le passé. Afin d'éviter l'encombrement de la circulation et de respecter les conseils des autorités de santé publique en matière de distanciation sociale, les visiteurs sont encouragés à choisir des jours et des heures où le parc national Kouchibouguac est moins fréquenté pour profiter au maximum de leur expérience. Les visiteurs sont également encouragés de planifier à l’avance en consultant le site Web du parc avant leur visite pour en savoir plus.

Ce qui est ouvert (mise à jour : 7 août 2020)

Activités

  • Pêche récréative à la ligne
  • Pêche récréative aux coques
  • Bateau de plaisance Petits bateaux
  • Plage Kellys Service de surveillance non disponible

Terrains de camping

  • South-Kouchibouguac Ouvert jusqu'au 18 octobre
    • Kiosque d'entrée et abri à bois
    • Les emplacements # 1 à # 126 de la première boucle
    • Les emplacements # 185 à # 312 de la troisième boucle
    • Bâtiments de services A et B de la première boucle
    • Les terrains de jeu
    • Bâtiments de services E (en construction - remplacé par des toilettes portables pour la saison) et F (troisième boucle)
  • Côte-à-Fabien Ouvert jusqu'au 6 septembre
    • Kiosque d'entrée et abri à bois
    • Les sites # 1 à # 32
    • Toilettes sèches
    • Stations d'eau Ordre d'ébullition en vigueur
  • Arrière-pays
    • Sipù et Pointe-à-Maxime Ouvert jusqu'au 18 octobre
    • Petit-Large

Installations

  • Kiosque d’entrée Ouvert tous les jours de 8 h à 20 h
  • Stationnement, toilettes et accès au réseau de pistes cyclables à Pijeboogwek
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne de la plage Kellys
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne de Callanders
  • Rampes d'accès aux quais de Loggiecroft et de Cap-St-Louis pour faire du bateau de plaisance Petites embarcations seulement
  • Buandrie
  • Abris Pijeboogwek Pour renseignements généraux et transactions en argent comptant | ouvert tous les jours de 8 h à 20 h
  • Cantine de la plage Kellys Ouvert tous les jours de 11 h à 19 h
  • Ryans : location d’équipement (les toilettes et le stationnement) Les services de location d'équipement restent suspendus jusqu'à nouvel ordre

Routes

  • Route 117
  • Promenade du parc Menant à Callanders, la plage Kellys et La Source

Sentiers pédestres

  • Promenade de la plage Kellys
  • Les pins
  • Mi’gmaq les cèdres
  • Marais salé
  • Balbuzard
  • Claire-Fontaine
  • Rivière Kouchibouguac

Sentiers de vélo

  • Réseau de 60 km de pistes interconnectées Sauf la section entre Petit-Large et Les pins
  • Major Kollock
Ce qui est fermé (mise à jour : 26 juin 2020)

Activités

  • Programmes d’interprétation (p. ex. Canot voyageur, Rassemblements du wigwam, Exploration de la lagune, etc.)
  • Événements spéciaux (p. ex. fête du Canada, etc.)

Terrains de camping

  • South-Kouchibouguac
    • Abris cuisine (attaché aux bâtiments de services)
    • Toutes les offres d'hébergement diversifié (oTENTik et camping équipé)
    • Les sites # 126 à # 184 situés dans la deuxième boucle, y compris les bâtiments de service C et D
  • Côte-à-Fabien
    • Toutes les offres d'hébergement diversifié (Ôasis)
    • Camping de groupe

Installations

  • Centre d’information aux visiteurs, y compris la boutique, le théâtre, l’exposition et les toilettes intérieures Toilettes portables offertes et centre d’appel ouvert
  • Abris Petit-Large, Patterson et Middle-Kouchibouguac
  • Magasin général
  • Théâtre en plein air
  • Ryans : location d’équipement (Les services de location d'équipement restent suspendus jusqu'à nouvel ordre) Seuls les toilettes et le stationnement sont ouverts

Sentiers pédestres

  • Le castor
  • Tourbière
  • Tweedie
Camping durant la COVID-19

Installations et services

Les visiteurs auront accès aux installations et aux services suivants :

  • une sélection d’emplacements au terrain de camping South Kouchibouguac. L'ouverture comprend une variété de sites offrant tous les services (eau, égouts et électricité), des services partiels (électricité) et sans service ainsi que les bâtiments de service, le kiosque d'entrée et la buanderie;
  • la majorité des emplacements au terrain de camping Côte-à-Fabien ainsi que le kiosque d’entrée, les toilettes sèches et les stations d'eau (avis d’ébullition d’eau en vigueur).

Réserverations

L’expérience de camping au parc national Kouchibouguac sera différente de ce qu’elle était par le passé. Au départ, le camping au parc sera limité aux visiteurs ayant des réservations existantes. Les visiteurs doivent avoir une réservation pour camper au parc national Kouchibouguac. Parcs Canada commencera progressivement à accepter de nouvelles réservations en ligne pour certains terrains de camping au cours des prochaines semaines. Les visiteurs devraient consulter régulièrement le site Web de Parcs Canada pour des mises à jour et des renseignements sur les services disponibles et les fenêtres de réservation.

Parcs Canada commencera progressivement à accepter de nouvelles réservations en ligne pour certains terrains de camping au cours des prochaines semaines et les réservations pour le parc national de Kouchibouguac seront disponibles à compter du 28 juin prochain.

Les visiteurs pourront réserver et accéder aux terrains de camping dans l'arrière-pays à partir du 10 juillet 2020.

Fermé pour la saison

Tous les hébergements diversifiés, y compris les oTENTiks, les Ôasis et le camping équipé ainsi que tous les emplacements de la 2e boucle au terrain de camping South Kouchibouguac et le camping de groupe à Côte-à-Fabien resteront fermés pour la saison de camping 2020. Toutes les réservations d'hébergements diversifiés et d’emplacements situés dans la 2e boucle seront automatiquement remboursées en totalité.

Votre sécurité lors de votre visite

  • Les visiteurs sont toujours responsables de leur propre sécurité. Toute personne souhaitant participer à des activités récréatives doit être particulièrement prudente pour éviter de se blesser et/ou de se perdre afin de réduire au minimum les exigences imposées aux équipes de recherche et de sauvetage et au système de soins de santé.
  • Le printemps est une saison active pour de nombreux animaux sauvages du parc, comme les ours noirs, lesquels sont à la recherche de la nourriture après s’être réveillés de leur hibernation. Les visiteurs doivent toujours garder une distance sécuritaire entre eux et les animaux sauvages. Il est interdit de nourrir ou de perturber la faune et la flore lorsqu’on visite les parcs nationaux.
  • Gardez toujours votre animal de compagnie en laisse et ne laissez aucune trace.
  • Les visiteurs sont tenus d’observer les restrictions de voyage régionales et provinciales ou territoriales, y compris les exigences d’auto-isolement. Il n’est pas possible de s’auto-isoler dans les terrains de camping de Parcs Canada. Les visiteurs doivent satisfaire toutes les exigences provinciales ou territoriales d’auto-isolement avant d’arriver au terrain de camping du parc national Kouchibouguac.
  • Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens et Canadiennes d’être prudents et conservateurs lorsqu’ils visitent le parc national Kouchibouguac et de respecter toute fermeture en place. Toute personne participant à des activités récréatives doit redoubler de prudence pour éviter de se blesser et/ou de se perdre afin d’aider à réduire au minimum les exigences imposées aux équipes de recherche et sauvetage et au système de soins de santé.
  • En raison des défis opérationnels engendrés par la pandémie, le service de surveillance à la plage Kellys ne sera pas offert cette année. Préparez votre visite et soyez toujours prudents sur les plages et lors de vos activités aquatiques.
Informations additionnelles

  • Pour les détenteurs actuels de laissez-passer, Parcs Canada prolongera automatiquement la validité de la carte d’entrée Découverte pour une période équivalant à la durée totale de la suspension des services. Cela signifie que pour chaque mois ou mois partiel que les services aux visiteurs ne sont pas offerts en raison des efforts de Parcs Canada pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, un mois complet sera ajouté à la date d’échéance du laissez-passer annuel.
  • L'accès au centre d'information aux visiteurs reste fermé jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Un service de centre d'appel sera offert quotidiennement de 9 h à 17 h. Veuillez composer le 506‑876‑2443 pour accéder à ce service.
  • Un permis est requis afin de pêcher à la ligne ou pêcher des coques dans les eaux du parc national. Les permis de pêche récréatifs du parc national Kouchibouguac sont vendus exclusivement au dépanneur JMC et à l'épicerie Co-op de Pointe-Sapin. Les permis seront disponibles pour achats à partir du 29 mai.
  • Des stations sanitaires et des toilettes portatives seront disponibles aux aires de fréquentation diurne de la plage Kellys, Callanders, Pijeboogwek et du centre d'information aux visiteurs.
  • Les visiteurs doivent respecter toutes les fermetures et la signalisation.

Restez informé

Parcs Canada travaille avec ses homologues provinciaux, les municipalités et les collectivités locales pour tenir les visiteurs et les résidents informés et en sécurité.

Pour les informations les plus récentes, visitez :