Swimming

  • A section of Kellys Beach is supervised by lifeguards from late June to late August. Other areas are not supervised. You are responsible for your own safety.
  • Swim with a buddy and supervise children when near the water
  • Currents can be strong, even for an accomplished swimmer. Always be aware of the current and avoid high risk areas.
  • The park beaches are not tested for E. coli or other bacteria
  • Water temperatures suitable for swimming are generally reached by June and continue through August. Swimming during the spring and fall in cold water can increase the risk of hypothermia. Be aware of hypothermia and how to treat it.

Jellyfish

There are two main types of jellyfish that surface in our Kouchibouguac National Park waters: the Arctic Red, or Lion's Mane Jellyfish, and the White Moon Jellyfish. The Arctic Red is larger and more common than the White Moon, which is translucent and lacks the long red tentacles.

The tentacles of the Arctic Red Jellyfish are used to stun their prey (zooplankton) before feeding. These are the same tentacles that may give slight stinging or mild burning sensations when people come in contact with them. There is no need to panic, though; the remedy surrounds you at the ocean's edge! By rubbing wet sand over the irritated area, you can usually alleviate most of the discomfort caused by the sting of an Arctic Red Jellyfish.

Natation

  • Une section de la plage Kellys est supervisée par des sauveteurs. Les autres sections ne sont pas supervisés. Les visiteurs sont donc responsables de leur propre sécurité.
  • Ne vous baignez pas seul et surveillez les enfants qui jouent près d’un plan d’eau
  • Les courants peuvent être forts, même pour un nageur d’expérience. Soyez vigilant et évitez les zones à risque élevé.
  • Les plages du parc ne font pas l’objet de tests de détection de la bactérie E. coli ou d’autres bactéries
  • De juin à août, la température de l’eau est généralement agréable. Cependant, l’eau froide du fleuve au printemps et en automne peut augmenter le risque d’hypothermie. Soyez vigilant et sachez quoi faire en cas d’hypothermie.

Méduses

Les deux espèces de méduses rencontrées le plus souvent à la surface de nos eaux sont la cyanée (Cyanea capillata ou Cyanea arctica) et la méduse bleue (Aurelia aurita). La cyanée est plus grande et se rencontre plus souvent que la méduse bleue, qui est translucide et dépourvue des longs tentacules rouges de la première.

La cyanée se sert de ses tentacules pour paralyser sa proie (zooplancton) avant de l'avaler. Ce sont ces mêmes tentacules qui produisent une sensation de piqûre ou de brûlure légère quand on s'y frotte. Il n'y a cependant pas lieu de s'affoler, car le remède est à portée de la main! Il suffit en effet de frictionner la surface irritée avec un mélange de sable et d'eau de mer pour atténuer la démangeaison.