Aegolius acadicus

The Saw-whet Owl is the smallest amongst owl species found in Eastern Canada. While standing, it only measures 20 centimeters in height. At flight, it has a wingspan that varies between 42 to 47 centimeters in length. In addition to its small size, this species is easily recognisable by its white-doted brown plumage, its bright yellow-orange eyes, its black beak and lightly feathered feet.

Additionally, the Saw-whet Owl exclusively hunts at night. As food source, it mainly seeks little rodents such as mice but also eats small birds (like Chickadees) and even hunts frogs and insects like grasshoppers and beetles.

The Saw-whet Owl usually rests in branches nearest the trunk. Typically, this species inhabits dense coniferous and deciduous (or leafy) forests with humid or marsh-like soils. During mating season the female lays 4 to 7 eggs, which she broods for 26 to 28 days.

Aegolius acadicus

Comme l’indique son nom, la petite nyctale est la plus petite espèce d’hiboux trouvée dans l’est du Canada. Lorsqu’elle se tient debout, la petite nyctale mesure environ 20 centimètres de hauteur et au vol, ses ailes ont une envergure allant de 42 à 47 centimètres de longueur. À part sa petite taille, d’autres caractéristiques nous permettent d’identifier cette espèce, dont son plumage brun tacheté de blanc, ses yeux de couleur jaune-orange, son bec noir et ses pattes légèrement emplumées.

Comme mode de vie, la petite nyctale chasse exclusivement la nuit. Ses proies sont principalement des petits rongeurs comme les souris, mais au besoin elle se contente de petits oiseaux (comme les mésanges), de grenouilles et mêmes de certains insectes tels les coléoptères et les sauterelles.

Le jour, la petite nyctale se repose en se perchant dans un arbre, souvent près du tronc. D’ailleurs, cette petite chouette habite typiquement les forêts denses de conifères ou de feuillus ayant un sol humide ou marécageux. Lors de la saison d’accouplement, cette petite chouette pond de 4 à 7 œufs dont la femelle couve de 26 à 28 jours.