Parks Canada staff hard at work, removing vegetation
This multi-year project will further improve visitor safety and protect Kouchibouguac National Park from specific types of fire incidents.
© Parks Canada

The Program

With funding received from Parks Canada’s National Fire Program, also known under FireSmart, fuel modification and fuel management programs, Kouchibouguac National Park undertook an important multi-year project in the fall of 2014 to reduce the risk of fire within the park and improve visitor safety. Fuel modification or fuel management programs are important because they target one of the key contributors to forest fires: fuel. In this case, wood, obviously readily available in national parks, acts as fuel. However, there are some types of wood that can spread fire more quickly, like some types of coniferous trees, while others are more fire resistant, such as deciduous types of trees (the leafy kind for the most part). The aim of this program is to decrease the amount of high risk fuel or wood around areas that are at higher risk of fires, such as campgrounds where electricity is in use, where stoves are used on a regular basis, and where campfires are often lit as part of the authentic camping experience.

The current project scope is to be implemented over a period of 5 years, strategically prioritizing areas of higher risk. The needs in fuel management in various Parks around the country and strategies are developed based on need. At Kouchibouguac National Park, the recommended strategy was to clear trees, shrubs and branches that increased the risk of a fire, starting with several dense camping sites in the South Kouchibouguac campground. Multi-functional teams clear trees and shrubs keeping a number of important factors in mind, including visitor safety, visitor experience and nature conservation.

Areas of priority (subject to change)

There is a lot of work to do given that this is the first time Kouchibouguac National Park has undertaken this type of initiative. In order to implement the program in a strategic way, areas of priority have been identified and most of the work is completed in the off-season to minimize disruptions to visitors. The current plan is as follows:

  1. South Kouchibouguac campground – several sites in Loop 1 and oTENTik designated sites (completed in the Fall of 2014)
  2. All infrastructures (shelters, kiosk, sheds, etc.) will be cleared in 2015
  3. Process South Kouchibouguac campground other loops over the next 4 years

Program Benefits

Visitor Experience

This multi-year project will further improve visitor safety and protect Kouchibouguac National Park from specific types of fire incidents, especially during times when New Brunswick forests can be influenced by dry and hot weather, coinciding with the period of highest use by visitors, and at higher risk for forest fires triggered by nature or humans. In addition, the initiative will allow for additional space for larger camping equipment now in use by an increasing number of visitors, thereby improving access to campsites by large RVs and reducing the likelihood of damage to visitor camping equipment. Furthermore, the clearance of branches and shrubs will make it safer for kids to play nearby and reduce the risk of visitor injury.

Conservation

In addition to decreasing the risk of unintended fires within the campground that could spread throughout Kouchibouguac National Park, this program boast benefits in reducing the risk of invasive species infestations such as the Brown Spruce Longhorn Beetle (BSLB) by removing trees prone to harbour the species and increases the chances that leafy trees and shrubs, which are more fire resistant, can grow in their place. The trees, shrubs and branches cleared are fed into a wood chipper so wood chips, which are very high in nutrients, can be used as compost in years to come.

Impact on campsites

Every effort is made to minimise the impact on campsite privacy which is often an important factor for South Kouchibouguac campground users. As seasons pass, vegetation regrows and the minimal impacts on campsite privacy are reversed. In addition, trees and branches were cleared around newly installed oTENTiks in order to protect the investment and preserve them to ensure they are available for repeated visitor use in the future.

Typical campsite, seen before removal of vegetation Typical campsite, seen after removal of vegetation
Typical campsite, shown before and after the removal of vegetation.
© Parks Canada

Steps Taken

Kouchibouguac National Park follows nationally established guidelines on fuel management practices. The process involves the following:

  1. Evaluation of risks through a FireSmart analysis.
  2. Prioritization of areas to be treated (campsites, oTENTiks, various other infrastructure, etc.).
  3. Conducting the treatments (removal of vegetation).
  4. Managing the vegetation removed in the form of woodchips to be composted.
  5. Posting evaluation of sites to ascertain whether objectives were met.

An additional and important step is informing the public about this initiative and its key benefits, including addressing any concerns raised by visitors, stakeholders, and partners.

For more information or if you have specific questions, please contact Kouchibouguac National Park at kouch.info@pc.gc.ca or (506) 876-2443.

Des employés de Parcs Canada travaillent fort pour couper la végétation sur un emplacement de camping
Ce projet pluriannuel aura pour effet d’accroître la sécurité des visiteurs et de protéger le parc national Kouchibouguac contre certains types d’incendies.
© Parcs Canada

Le Programme

Grâce à des fonds reçus dans le cadre du Programme national de gestion du feu de Parcs Canada, aussi connu comme les programmes Intelli-feu, la modification du combustible et la gestion du combustible, le parc national Kouchibouguac a entrepris un important projet pluriannuel à l’automne 2014 visant à réduire le risque d’incendie et à accroître la sécurité des visiteurs. Les programmes de la modification et/ou de la gestion du combustible sont très importants puisqu’ils visent l’un des éléments contributeurs des feux de forêt : le combustible. Dans ce cas, le bois, évidemment facilement disponible dans les parcs nationaux, sert de combustible. Cependant, il y a certains types de bois qui peuvent propager le feu plus rapidement, comme certains types de conifères, tans que d’autres sont plus résistants au feu, telles que certains types feuillus. Le but de ce programme est de diminuer la quantité de combustible (bois) à haut risque autour des zones qui sont plus à risques d’incendies, comme les terrains de camping où l'électricité est en cours d’utilisation, où les poêles sont utilisés sur une base régulière, et où des feux de camp sont régulièrement allumés dans le cadre de l’expérience de camping authentique.

La portée du projet en cours sera mise en œuvre sur une période de 5 ans en assurant la priorité stratégique des endroits à plus haut risque. Les besoins en gestion de combustible dans les différents parcs au pays varient et les stratégies pour les combler sont développer sur mesure. Au parc national Kouchibouguac, la stratégie recommandée fut d’enlever des arbres, des buissons et des branches qui présentent un risque d’incendie au camping South Kouchibouguac. Des équipes multifonctionnelles auront la tâche d’enlever les arbres et les arbustes dangereux en tenant compte de plusieurs facteurs importants, dont la sécurité des visiteurs, la qualité de l’expérience offerte et la conservation de la nature.

Zones prioritaires (modification possible)

Il y a beaucoup de travail à faire étant donné que ceci est la première année que le parc national Kouchibouguac entreprend ce genre d’initiative. Afin de mettre en œuvre ce programme dans une optique stratégique, des zones de priorités ont été identifiées et la majorité du travail sera complétée durant la hors-saison afin de minimiser les inconvénients aux visiteurs. Le plan actuel comprend :

  1. Le camping South Kouchibouguac – plusieurs sites dans la boucle 1 et les sites désignés pour les oTENTik (complété durant l’automne 2014)
  2. Toutes les infrastructures (abris, kiosques et entrepôts, etc.) seront complétées en 2015
  3. Les autres boucles et sites du camping South Kouchibouguac au courant des 4 prochaines années.

Avantages du programme

Expérience du visiteur

Ce projet pluriannuel aura pour effet d’accroître la sécurité des visiteurs et de protéger le parc national Kouchibouguac contre certains types d’incendies, surtout en été, lorsque les forêts du Nouveau-Brunswick sont vulnérables pendant les périodes chaudes et sèches – une période qui coïncide avec l'utilisation la plus accrue par les visiteurs et durant laquelle le risque d’incendie par la nature et les humains est à plus haut risque. Cette initiative facilite l’accès aux emplacements de camping pour les véhicules de plaisance surdimensionnées (une utilisation à la hausse par un grand nombre de visiteurs) diminuant ainsi les risques de dommages à l’équipement de camping des visiteurs. De plus, enlever des branches et des buissons permet d’accroître la sécurité des enfants qui jouent dans le secteur et diminue le risque de blessures auprès des visiteurs.

Conservation

En plus de diminuer le risque des incendies involontaires à l’intérieur du terrain de camping de Kouchibouguac Sud, ce programme inclue des avantages tels que diminuer le risque de propagation d’espèces envahissantes comme le longicorne brun de l’épinette en éliminant les arbres vulnérables aux infestations et augmente la probabilité que des arbres et arbustes à feuilles, lesquels sont plus résistants au feu, puissent pousser à leur place. Les arbres, arbustes et branches coupés sont introduits dans un broyeur de bois afin que les copeaux de bois, élevés en nutriments, puissant être utilisés à des fins de compostage à une date ultérieure.

Effets sur les sites de camping

Tous les efforts ont été déployés pour protéger l’intimité des campeurs, un facteur auquel de nombreux utilisateurs du camping South Kouchibouguac accordent une grande importance. Au courant des années, la végétation repoussera et les effets minimes sur l’intimité des sites de camping seront renversés. De plus, des arbres et des branches furent coupés autour des nouvelles oTENTiks afin de protéger cet investissement et les préserver pour s’assurer qu’elles seront disponibles pour une utilisation continuelle dans les années futures.

Emplacement de camping typique, avant la coupe de végétation Emplacement de camping typique, après la coupe de végétation
Emplacement de camping typique, avant et après la coupe de végétation.
© Parcs Canada

Étapes suivies

Le parc national Kouchibouguac suit les normes nationales établies pour la gestion du combustible. Le processus inclue les étapes suivantes :

  1. Évaluation des risques utilisant une analyse Intelli-feu.
  2. Priorisation des endroits à être traités (sites de camping, oTENTiks, et autre infrastructure, etc.).
  3. Application du traitement (enlever la végétation).
  4. Gestion de la végétation enlevée en forme de copeaux de bois à des fins de compostage.
  5. Évaluation des sites après traitement afin de déterminer si les objectifs furent atteints.

Une étape additionnelle et importante est celle d’informer le public de l’initiative entreprise ainsi que ces avantages clés, incluant répondre aux préoccupations des visiteurs, des intervenants et des partenaires.

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou si vous avez des questions spécifiques, s’il-vous-plait communiquer avec le parc national Kouchibouguac au kouch.info@pc.gc.ca ou au (506) 876-2443.