The following is a summary of the preliminary management plan that has been developed to date. It presents an overview of the current state of the park, including the issues, opportunities and challenges it faces, as well as a proposed management approach with key strategies, objectives and measurable targets.

Management plan review

We are pleased to inform you that Parks Canada has undertaken the review of its Management Plan for Kouchibouguac National Park. Once finalized, this official document will guide the Agency’s decisions and actions in protecting, presenting and operating the site over the next ten years.

Engagement and consultation with Indigenous partners, stakeholders and the public are a priority at Parks Canada and constitute an integral part of the Agency’s management plan renewal process. Public participation and consultation are essential tools that enable you to provide your comments and contribute to the orientations that will guide the future management of the park.

To reflect the advice of public health experts, the consultations conducted by Kouchibouguac National Park’s team will primarily take place virtually through web-based technology to limit the spread of COVID‑19 and ensure the health and safety of Canadians, visitors and staff members.

Data collected during the public consultation period will remain confidential and will be reviewed and considered during the development of the final management plan. Once approved by the Minister responsible for Parks Canada and tabled in Parliament, the Kouchibouguac National Park Management Plan will ensure Parks Canada’s accountability to Canadians by outlining how park management will achieve measurable results.


Kouchibouguac National Park at a glance

  • Spanning an area of 238 km², Kouchibouguac National Park is a representative example of the Maritime Plain natural region. It contains eight different ecosystems and protects an area frequented by over 15 species protected under the Species at Risk Act.
  • The park is located on unceded Mi’gmaq territory and the park’s name is rooted in the Mi’gmaq word Pijeboogwek, or Pigipogoek which means “river that flows and grows into the forest”.
  • Immediately before its creation, the territory which now forms Kouchibouguac National Park was home to 1‑200 people, in 228 households and seven villages.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park was created in 1969, and since then it has been a major economic driver for the south-eastern region of New Brunswick.
  • Operated year round, the park offers 350 campsites, 60 km of bicycle paths and 35 km of walking trails in the summer and, in the winter, 45 km of trails for cross-country skiing, fat biking and snowshoeing.
  • The sandy beaches make it a popular destination. The park had more than 240‑000 visitors in the 2018–2019 season, an increase of 29% over the previous season.
  • The park also presents traces of a rich human and cultural history, with more than 30 known archaeological sites, primarily Indigenous (Mi’gmaq).
  • Since 2010, more than $43 Millions has been invested in the park’s infrastructure and visitor facilities.

State of the park and current opportunities and challenges

A review of the implementation of the 2010 Kouchibouguac National Park Management Plan (PDF - 4.85 MB) as well as an assessment of the current state of the park (2017) revealed that Kouchibouguac has been performing well in terms of maintaining ecological integrity, external relations and visitor appreciation of its programs and services. The main achievements associated with the objectives in the 2010 plan include:

  • The development and installation of the exhibit on former residents in the Visitor Centre (2012);
  • The development of new interpretation programs on Indigenous culture with Mi’gmaq partners (2010 - 2018); and
  • The complete reconstruction of Highway 117 and its bridges (2015 - 2018).

The park now faces a number of opportunities and challenges worth considering in the development of the new Management Plan. Some of those include:

  • Improvement of relations with Indigenous partners which involves continued, active engagement to seek mutually beneficial opportunities as well as raising awareness of Indigenous culture and values among the public, park employees and visitors.
  • The deterioration of park infrastructure and facilities, including some secondary access roads and service buildings intended for visitors.
  • The inventory of cultural resources present in the park is still incomplete, which poses a challenge in the development of plans to conserve and present them.
  • The ecological integrity of the marine and coastal areas that are under significant pressures, such as invasive species, recreational fishing and climate change, requires continued environmental monitoring.

Creating a shared vision - A proposal

A long-term vision, which is both inspiring and achievable, constitutes a crucial part of the new management plan as it describes the aspirations for Kouchibouguac National Park for the years to come. Here is what we propose:

Kouchibouguac National Park has become a reference point for the advancement of scientific and Mi’gmaq Indigenous knowledge, and climate change adaptation in Atlantic Canada. Because of its sustainable resource management approaches, its various ecosystems are in good health, functional and resilient. More specifically, its Acadian forest and its estuaries are protected and managed so that species and ecological processes therein can be restored and preserved.

Kouchibouguac National Park is also known as a vibrant place that Canadians, both locals and tourists, can enjoy throughout the four seasons. Its winter trails and paths have become as highly prized as its sandy beaches and dunes in the summer.

The park’s leadership in innovation is reflected in the services it offers to visitors, in its programming of activities and experiences, and in the sustainable management of its assets and infrastructure. The park is a trailblazer in these areas and is often cited as an example nationally.

The park is also at the forefront in terms of inclusion and human diversity: it represents a gateway to the different cultures of the region and, with its openness, fosters a true climate of reconciliation with both Indigenous and local communities.

Mi’gmaq and local communities are committed to working closely together to protect, promote, and present Kouchibouguac National Park and raise cultural awareness among Canadians.

By fostering participation in recreational activities in a healthy environment offering a range of outdoor opportunities and discoveries, Kouchibouguac National Park contributes to the well-being of its visitors, as well as to the environmental, economic and social vitality of the entire region.

Proposed key strategies

Key strategies explain how Parks Canada intends to achieve the long-term vision for Kouchibouguac national park. The following four key strategies and corresponding objectives are envisioned for the next ten years:

Key strategy 1: A healthy and resilient park

Parks Canada’s mission in Kouchibouguac is to maintain the park’s various ecosystems, both aquatic and terrestrial, in good health, as well as to protect the plant and animal species that live there. This strategy will document the park’s environmental processes using scientific data and Mi’gmaq Indigenous knowledge, while mitigating the impacts of recreational activities on the environment and the effects of climate change. This key strategy will allow improvement of the park’s overall ecological integrity so that all can continue to enjoy and appreciate this exceptional natural environment.

What does success look like?
  • The aquatic species that are commercially harvested or caught for recreational purposes are managed effectively and responsibly using recent scientific data and Mi’gmaq Indigenous knowledge.
  • Invasive alien species are effectively monitored and controlled, in collaboration with Indigenous partners, and the introduction of new species posing a risk to the ecological integrity is limited.
  • The degree of knowledge about the representation and health of the Acadian Forest in the park increases using Mi’gmaq Indigenous knowledge and scientific data.
  • The impacts of climate change continue to be documented and taken into consideration in park planning and management decisions.
  • Activities related to the monitoring and the recovery of species at risk in Kouchibouguac National Park continue in accordance with the multi-species action plan.
Key strategy 2: Kouchibouguac - A park at the forefront

This strategy focuses on innovation in all components of the national park’s management and operations. Its goal is to meet the new expectations of Canadians and visitors in terms of protected natural spaces and how they are enjoyed, and to address recent trends in recreation, outdoor activities and tourism. This approach is reflected in the park’s current operations where priority is given to new green and energy-efficient technologies.

What does success look like?
  • Kouchibouguac National Park is recognized for its eco-friendly operational protocols, appealing visitor experience and management practices.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park focuses on the health, wellness, inclusion and diversity of its visitors, collaborators, Indigenous partners and local communities.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park is increasingly being recognized as a place of research that contributes to scientific advances.
Key strategy 3: A reflection of engaged communities

This strategy focuses on collaboration and commitment by all the various partners surrounding the park. A common understanding of the park’s issues, knowledge-sharing and mutual respect will enable Kouchibouguac National Park to consolidate its operations, expand its offering of services and activities, and continue exercising its role as a major tourism partner in the region. Over time, this strategy will enable park management and residents of the entire surrounding region to look optimistically towards the future. First and foremost, this strategy aims to engage/involve Mi’gmaq partners, former residents and their descendants, local communities and partners such as port authorities and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

What does success look like?
  • Kouchibouguac National Park has pursued and improved its relationships with Mi’gmaq partners in a spirit of respect, collaboration and reconciliation.
  • Former residents of Kouchibouguac National Park and their descendants help promote the history of the park and former villages.
  • Local community involvement and support towards the park improves.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park has a strategy for managing its cultural resources developed in collaboration with the Mi’gmaq, former residents and their descendants, and other partners.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park continues to support and maintain the Loggiecroft and Cap Saint-Louis wharves as community bases for designated commercial fishing activities.
Key strategy 4: Highly satisfied visitors throughout the year

Visitor satisfaction is at the core of the last strategy. The objective is to offer visitors of Kouchibouguac a broader and enhanced range of year-round experiences and services. Through this strategy, and because of the untapped potential of the territory, the park wishes to position itself as a leading winter destination for outdoor enthusiasts from the region and elsewhere.

What does success look like?
  • The level of visitor satisfaction and the range of activities and accommodations are enhanced and increased.
  • More visitors enjoy Kouchibouguac National Park every year.
  • Park assets and infrastructure are safe, functional and maintained in an acceptable condition.
  • Kouchibouguac National Park takes advantage of the Loggiecroft and Cap Saint-Louis wharves to establish safe, ecological, enjoyable and educational activities open to all visitors.

If you would like to receive a hard copy of the survey form by mail, if you wish to make other comments regarding the future of the park or if you have any questions, please contact us by email at pc.kouchibouguac.pc@canada.ca or by phone at 506‑380‑8716.

In addition

Download the brochure of the Management Plan Review as a PDF (1.77 MB).

Ce qui suit est un résumé du plan directeur préliminaire qui a été élaboré à ce jour. Vous trouverez un survol de l’état actuel du parc, dont les enjeux, les opportunités et les défis auxquels il fait face, ainsi que l’approche de gestion proposée avec des stratégies clés, des objectifs et des cibles mesurables.

Révision du plan directeur

Nous sommes heureux de vous informer que Parcs Canada a entrepris la révision de son Plan directeur pour le parc national Kouchibouguac. Une fois achevé, ce document-cadre officiel orientera les décisions et les interventions de l’Agence dans son mandat de protection, de mise en valeur et d’opérations du site pour les dix prochaines années.

L’engagement et la consultation des partenaires autochtones, des intervenants et du public sont une priorité à Parcs Canada et font partie intégrante du processus de renouvèlement des plans directeurs de l’Agence. La participation du public et la consultation sont des outils essentiels qui vous permettent de faire connaître vos commentaires et contribuer aux orientations qui guideront la gestion future du parc.

Conformément aux recommandations des experts en santé publique, les consultations menées par l’équipe du parc national Kouchibouguac auront lieu principalement en format virtuel, sur le Web, afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID‑19 et d’assurer la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres du personnel.

Les données recueillies lors de la période de consultation publique resteront confidentielles et seront examinées et prise en compte lors de l'élaboration de la version finale du plan directeur du parc national Kouchibouguac. Une fois approuvé par le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada et déposé au Parlement, le Plan directeur du parc national Kouchibouguac permettra de s’assurer que Parcs Canada respecte son obligation de rendre compte à la population canadienne en décrivant comment la gestion du parc mènera à des résultats tangibles.


Le parc national Kouchibouguac en un coup d'oeil

  • Couvrant une superficie de 238 km², le parc national Kouchibouguac est un exemple représentatif de la région naturelle de la plaine Maritime. Il contient huit écosystèmes différents et protège un territoire fréquenté par plus de 15 espèces protégées en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.
  • Le parc est situé sur un territoire Mi’gmaq non cédé et son nom s’enracine dans le mot Mi’gmaq Pijeboogwek, ou Pigipogoek qui signifie « rivière qui coule et qui s’intègre dans la forêt ».
  • Précédant immédiatement sa création, le territoire qu’occupe présentement le parc national Kouchibouguac comptait environ 1200 personnes réparties dans 228 foyers et sept villages.
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac a été créé en 1969 et depuis, il a été un moteur économique majeur pour la région du sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.
  • Ouvert à l’année, le parc offre 350 emplacements de camping, 60 km de pistes cyclables et 35 km de sentiers de randonnée en été et, en hiver, 45 km de pistes de ski de fond, de VPS (fat bike) et de raquette.
  • Les plages de sable en font une destination populaire. Le parc a accueilli plus de 240 000 visiteurs durant la saison 2018-2019, soit une augmentation de 29 % par rapport à la saison précédente.
  • Le parc présente également des traces d'une riche histoire humaine et culturelle, avec plus de 30 sites archéologiques connus, principalement autochtones (Mi’gmaq).
  • Depuis 2010, plus de 43 millions $ ont été investis dans l’infrastructure du parc et les installations pour les visiteurs.

État du parc, opportunités et défis actuels

L’examen de la mise en œuvre du Plan directeur du Parc national Kouchibouguac 2010 (PDF - 4,9 Mo) ainsi que l’évaluation de l’état actuel du parc (2017) ont révélé que Kouchibouguac affiche de bonnes performances en matière de maintien de l’intégrité écologique, en relations externes et quant à l’appréciation par les visiteurs des programmes et des services offerts. Parmi les principales réalisations en lien avec les objectifs du plan de 2010, on note :

  • L’élaboration et l’installation de l’exposition portant sur les anciens résidents dans le Centre d’accueil des visiteurs (2012);
  • Le développement de nouveaux programmes d’interprétation sur la culture autochtone avec les partenaires Mi’gmaq (2010-2018); et
  • La réfection complète de la route 117 et de ses ponts (2015–2018).

Le parc doit maintenant composer avec un certain nombre d’opportunités et de défis à considérer lors de l’élaboration du nouveau Plan directeur. Parmi ceux-ci, on note :

  • L’amélioration des relations avec les partenaires autochtones, qui implique un engagement continu et actif pour rechercher des opportunités mutuellement bénéfiques et pour sensibiliser les Canadiens, les visiteurs et les employés du parc à la culture et aux valeurs autochtones.
  • La détérioration des infrastructures et des installations du parc, notamment des routes d’accès secondaires et des bâtiments de service pour les visiteurs.
  • L’inventaire des ressources culturelles présentes dans le parc est toujours incomplet ce qui pose un défi pour l'élaboration de plans de conservation et de présentation.
  • L'intégrité écologique des zones marines et côtières soumises à des pressions importantes, telles que les espèces envahissantes, la pêche récréative et les changements climatiques, nécessite une surveillance continue de l'environnement.

Vision commune : une proposition

Une vision à long terme, à la fois inspirante et réalisable, constitue un élément fondamental du nouveau plan directeur puisqu’elle décrit les aspirations pour le parc national Kouchibouguac pour les prochaines années. Voici ce que nous vous proposons :

Le parc national Kouchibouguac est devenu un point de référence pour l’avancement des connaissances scientifiques et du savoir autochtone Mi’gmaq et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques dans le Canada Atlantique. Grâce à ses approches de gestion durable des ressources, ses différents écosystèmes sont sains, fonctionnels et résilients. Plus particulièrement, sa forêt acadienne et ses estuaires sont protégés et gérés de sorte que les espèces et les processus écologiques qui s’y trouvent puissent être restaurés et conservés.

Kouchibouguac est également reconnu comme une destination incontournable et vibrante que les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, aussi locaux que touristes, peuvent apprécier tout au long des quatre saisons. Ses pistes et sentiers hivernaux sont devenus aussi prisés que ses plages sablonneuses et ses dunes en été.

Son leadership en matière d’innovation se reflète dans son offre de services aux visiteurs, sa programmation d’activités et d’expériences et dans la gestion à long terme de ses biens et ses infrastructures – le parc est un précurseur dans ces domaines et est souvent cité comme exemple au niveau national.

Le parc est également à l’avant-garde en matière d'inclusion et de diversité humaine; il représente une porte d’entrée vers les différentes cultures de la région et, grâce à son ouverture, il crée un véritable climat de réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones et les communautés locales.

Les communautés Mi’gmaq et locales sont déterminées à collaborer étroitement afin de protéger, de promouvoir et de mettre en valeur le parc national Kouchibouguac en sensibilisant les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à leur culture.

En favorisant la pratique d’activités extérieures, dans un environnement sain offrant une diversité d’occasions de plein air et de découvertes, le parc national Kouchibouguac contribue au bien-être de ses visiteurs, mais aussi à la vitalité environnementale, économique et sociale de toute la région.

Stratégies clés proposées

Les stratégies clés décrivent comment Parcs Canada entend réaliser la vision à long terme du parc national Kouchibouguac. Les quatre stratégies clés suivantes et les objectifs correspondants sont envisagés pour les dix prochaines années :

Stratégie clé 1 : un parc en santé et résilient

La mission de Parcs Canada à Kouchibouguac est de maintenir en santé les différents écosystèmes du parc, tant aquatiques que terrestres, ainsi que de protéger les espèces végétales et animales qui y vivent. Cette stratégie documentera les processus environnementaux du parc à l’aide des données scientifiques et du savoir autochtone Mi’gmaq, tout en atténuant les impacts des activités récréatives sur l’environnement et les effets des changements climatiques. Cette stratégie clé permettra d’améliorer l’intégrité écologique globale du parc afin que tous puissent continuer de profiter et d’apprécier ce milieu naturel exceptionnel.

Les résultats visés par cette stratégie :
  • Les populations des espèces aquatiques faisant l’objet de pêches commerciales ou récréatives sont gérées de façon efficace et responsable en utilisant conjointement les données scientifiques récentes et les connaissances autochtones Mi’gmaq.
  • Les espèces exotiques envahissantes sont surveillées et contrôlées efficacement, en collaboration avec les partenaires autochtones, et l’arrivée de nouvelles espèces posant un risque à l’intégrité écologique du parc est limité.
  • Le niveau de connaissances sur la représentativité et la santé de la forêt acadienne s’accroît.
  • Les impacts des changements climatiques continuent d’être documentés et considérés dans les décisions de planification et de gestion du parc.
  • Les efforts de surveillance et de rétablissement des espèces en péril présentes dans le parc national Kouchibouguac se poursuivent conformément au plan d’action multiespèces.
Stratégie clé 2 : Kouchibouguac : un parc à l'avant-garde

Cette stratégie met l’accent sur l’innovation, et ce, dans tous les volets de la gestion et de l’opération du parc national. Elle vise à répondre aux nouvelles attentes des Canadiens et des visiteurs envers les espaces naturels protégés et les manières de les apprécier. Elle cherche également à répondre aux tendances récentes en matière de récréation, de plein air et de tourisme. Cette approche se reflète finalement dans les opérations courantes du parc où sont privilégiées les nouvelles technologies vertes et écoénergétiques.

Les réultats visés par cette stratégie :
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac est un acteur reconnu pour offrir une expérience du visiteur, des pratiques de gestion et des protocoles opérationnels écoresponsables.
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac mise sur la santé, le bien-être, l’inclusion et la diversité au sein des visiteurs, des collaborateurs, des partenaires autochtones et des communautés locales.
  • Kouchibouguac est davantage reconnu comme un lieu de recherche et contribue aux avancées scientifiques.
Stratégie clé 3 : le reflet de communautés engagées

Cette stratégie mise sur la collaboration et l’engagement de l’ensemble des différents partenaires périphériques au parc. Une compréhension commune des enjeux du parc, le partage des connaissances et un respect mutuel permettront au parc national Kouchibouguac de consolider ses opérations, d’élargir son offre de services et d’activités et de poursuivre son rôle de partenaire touristique majeur dans la région. À terme, cette stratégie permettra au parc et à toute la région avoisinante d’entrevoir l’avenir avec optimisme. Cette stratégie vise avant tout à engager/impliquer les partenaires Mi'gmaq, les anciens résidents et leurs descendants, les communautés locales et les partenaires tels que les autorités portuaires et le Ministère des Pêches et Océans.

Les réultats visés par cette stratégie :
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac a poursuivi et amélioré ses relations avec les partenaires Mi’gmaq, dans un esprit de respect, de collaboration et de réconciliation.
  • Les anciens résidents du parc national Kouchibouguac et leurs descendants contribuent à la mise en valeur de l’histoire du parc et des anciens villages.
  • L’engagement et le soutien des communautés locales envers le parc s’améliorent.
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac possède une stratégie de gestion des ressources culturelles développée en collaboration avec les partenaires Mi’gmaq, les anciens résidents du parc et leurs descendants, ainsi que d’autres partenaires.
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac poursuit son appui et le maintien des quais de Loggiecroft et de Cap Saint-Louis comme bases communautaires pour des activités de pêche commerciale désignées.
Stratégie clé 4 : des visiteurs pleinement comblés à toutes les saisons

La satisfaction des visiteurs est au cœur de la dernière stratégie. Celle-ci cherche à offrir aux visiteurs de Kouchibouguac une gamme d’expériences et de services plus étendue, améliorée et disponible pendant les quatre saisons. Par cette stratégie, et en raison du potentiel non exploité du territoire, le parc désire notamment se positionner comme destination hivernale incontournable pour les amateurs de plein air de la région, mais aussi d’ailleurs.

Les réultats visés par cette stratégie :
  • Le niveau de satisfaction des visiteurs ainsi que l’offre d’activités et d’hébergement sont bonifiés et accrus.
  • Davantage de visiteurs profitent du parc Kouchibouguac chaque année.
  • Les biens et les infrastructures du parc sont sécuritaires, fonctionnels, et maintenus dans une condition acceptable.
  • Le parc national Kouchibouguac profite de la présence des quais de Loggiecroft et de Cap Saint-Louis pour établir des expériences sécuritaires, écologiques, agréables et éducatives offertes aux visiteurs.

Si vous désirez recevoir une copie papier du sondage par la poste, formuler d’autres commentaires au sujet de l’avenir du parc ou nous adresser vos questions, veuillez nous rejoindre par courriel à pc.kouchibouguac.pc@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 506‑380‑8716.

En complément

Téléchargez la brochure de la Révision du plan directeur en version PDF (1.72 Mo).