While French explorers visited and settled parts of New Brunswick beginning in the early 1600s, permanent European settlement in the area, that would become Kouchibouguac National Park, began only in the late 1700s.

The Kouchibouguac River became home to the United Empire Loyalists, who were joined by Scottish, Irish, English, and Prussian immigrants as they developed thriving settlements. Acadians from the Memramcook area settled along the Kouchibouguacis River. Soon, more Acadian families from other areas in New Brunswick and from Gaspésie were attracted to the area. By 1806, all major river estuaries from Escuminac Point to Cape Tormentine were settled. Strong links between the Mi’kmaq and the Acadians, dating back to the arrival of the first European settlers, supported the establishment and survival of these early Acadian communities. The English-speaking settlers in the area also benefited from a close relationship with neighbouring Mi’kmaq communities, as was the case elsewhere in the Maritimes.

While the European settlers were involved in shipbuilding, logging, and fishing, agriculture was an important part of subsistence livelihood for most families. Immediately prior to the establishment of the park, there were approximately 1200 people representing 228 households that comprised seven villages or settlements in what is now Kouchibouguac National Park: Cap-Saint- Louis, Claire-Fontaine, Fontaine, Guimond Village, Kouchibouguac (includes North and South Kouchibouguac, Callanders, Kellys, Petit-Large, Loggiecroft), Rivière-du-Portage, and Saint-Olivier. The most populous of these settlements were Fontaine and Claire- Fontaine, which had their own parish church.

Following the creation of the park most former residents settled in surrounding communities. Some of the former residents continue to fish commercially in the park, while others have become important members of the park’s dedicated staff. Over the past couple of years, interested members of these former communities have worked with Parks Canada to develop ways of interpreting their story.

Bien que les explorateurs français aient visité et peuplé certaines parties du Nouveau-Brunswick au début du XVIIe siècle, la première colonie européenne permanente dans la région qui forme aujourd’hui le parc national Kouchibouguac n’a été établie qu’à la fin du XVIIIe siècle.

La rivière Kouchibouguac est devenue la terre d’accueil des Loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni. Au fil de la création d’établissements florissants, des immigrants écossais, irlandais, anglais et prussiens se sont joints à eux. Les Acadiens de la région de Memramcook se sont établis le long de la rivière Kouchibouguacis. Bientôt, des familles acadiennes provenant d’autres régions du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Gaspésie ont été attirées dans la région. En 1806, tous les principaux estuaires de la pointe Escuminac au cap Tourmentin étaient peuplés. Les liens solides entre les Mi’kmaq et les Acadiens, qui tremontent à l’arrivée des premiers colons européens, ont appuyé la création et la survie de ces premières collectivités acadiennes. Les colons anglophones ont également profité de liens étroits avec les communautés mi’kmaq dans la région, comme ailleurs dans les Maritimes.

Bien que les colons européens aient mené des activités dans les domaines de la construction navale, de l’exploitation forestière et de la pêche, l’agriculture faisait partie intégrante du mode de subsistance de la plupart des familles. Immédiatement avant la création du parc, environ 1200 personnes réparties dans 228 foyers formaient sept villages ou colonies sur le territoire qui est aujourd’hui le parc national Kouchibouguac : Cap Saint-Louis, Claire-Fontaine, Fontaine, Guimond Village, Kouchibouguac (y compris North et South Kouchibouguac, Callanders, Kellys, Petit-Large et Loggiecroft), Rivière-du-Portage et Saint-Olivier. Les colonies les plus peuplées se trouvaient à Fontaine et à Claire-Fontaine, qui possédaient leur propre église paroissiale.

À la suite de la création du parc, la plupart des anciens résidants du parc se sont établis dans les collectivités environnantes. Certains d’entre eux continuent de s’adonner à la pêche commerciale dans le parc; d’autres sont devenus des membres importants du personnel dévoué du parc. Au cours des dernières années, des membres intéressés de ces anciennes collectivités ont collaboré avec Parcs Canada pour élaborer des façons de raconter leur histoire.