Kouchibouguac protects a variety of cultural resources reflecting the long, rich history of use and occupation by the Mi’gmaq, as well as Acadian, Scottish, Irish, and English settlers whose legacy has shaped this land. Moreover, the park is committed to honouring and commemorating the history of the people whose homes were expropriated at the time of park creation.

The Mi'gmaq and Kouchibouguac
A Mi'gmaq elder between two wigwam

Prior to park creation in 1969, the area that is now Kouchibouguac National Park had a long and rich history. The Mi’gmaq have centuries-old spiritual and cultural connections with Kouchibouguac. The name Kouchibouguac is of Mi’gmaq origin and means “river of the long tides.”

Learn More

European settlers and former park residents
Two former resident with their horses

While French explorers visited and settled parts of New Brunswick beginning in the early 1600s, permanent European settlement in the area, that would become Kouchibouguac National Park, began only in the late 1700s.

Learn More

Ventura bomber crash
A Ventura airplane

On February 8, 1943, Lockheed Ventura II (AJ211) attached with No. 34 Operational Training Unit (OTU) Pennfield Ridge, temporarily based in Yarmouth took flight at 5:55 on a pre-dawn cross country and bombing training exercise.

Learn More

Le parc national Kouchibouguac protège une variété de ressources culturelles qui traduisent la riche et longue histoire de l’utilisation et de l’occupation du territoire par les Mi’gmaq, de même que par les colons acadiens, écossais, irlandais et anglais, dont l’héritage a contribué à façonner le territoire. En outre, le parc s’est engagé à honorer et à commémorer l’histoire des gens qui ont été expropriés au moment de la création du parc.

Les Mi'gmaq et Kouchibouguac
Un aîné Mi'gmaq entre deux wigwams

Avant même la création du parc en 1969, la région qui forme actuellement le parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac avait une riche et longue histoire. Depuis des siècles, des liens spirituels et culturels unissent les Mi’gmaq au parc national Kouchibouguac. Le nom Kouchibouguac est d’ailleurs d’origine mi’gmaq et signifie « rivière aux longues marées ».

Pour en savoir davantage

Les colons européens et les anciens résidants du parc
Deux anciens résidants avec leurs chevaux

Bien que les explorateurs français aient visité et peuplé certaines parties du Nouveau-Brunswick au début du XVIIe siècle, la première colonie européenne permanente dans la région qui forme aujourd’hui le parc national Kouchibouguac n’a été établie qu’à la fin du XVIIIe siècle.

Pour en savoir davantage

Écrasement du bombardier Ventura
Un avion Ventura

Le 8 février 1943, l’avion Lockheed Ventura II (AJ211), qui faisait partie de l’Unité d’entraînement opérationnel (OTU) Pennfield Ridge numéro 34 et qui était basé temporairement à Yarmouth, a pris son envol à 5 h 55 pour un exercice de navigation et de bombardement.

Pour en savoir davantage