Squirrels are an integral part of the forest ecosystem in Fundy National Park.

The red squirrel is a very common sight along Fundy’s trails - they are everywhere. Whether by their eating habits – helping to spread seeds of tree species – or by their territorial nature – loud vocalisations of squirrels in the forest and interactions between squirrels and bird species are a very common occurrence in Fundy – it is remarkable how such a small creature can be such a big part of the forest ecosystem.

The flying squirrel also occurs in Fundy; but perhaps because it is nocturnal and much more secretive than the red squirrel, it is not seen often. If you see a flying squirrel in the wild, you will be one of the lucky few. Even if they are not seen very often, the part that they play in ecosystem functions are incredible, illustrating once again that a species doesn’t have to be a large animal like a moose to have an important place in the natural connections of the forest ecosystem.

The nocturnal northern flying squirrel is almost as common as the diurnal red squirrel in Fundy's forests and has been studied here in the past. Recent research demonstrates an important association between this animal's diet and the trees. It dines on a particular kind of fungus that fruits underground. These fungi grow close to the roots of trees, and other plants, and help them to extract nutrients from poor soils. The squirrel helps spread the fungi via its droppings, contributing to the development of a healthy forest. So mammals and mushrooms are connected, and that is only one of the infinite connections between all living and non-living things that are part of Fundy’s ecosystems.

Les écureuils font partie intégrante de l'écosystème forestier du parc national Fundy.

L’écureuil roux est un spectacle très courant le long des sentiers de Fundy - ils sont partout. Que ce soit par leurs habitudes alimentaires - contribuant à répandre des graines d’espèces d’arbres - ou par leur nature territoriale - les vocalisations bruyantes d’écureuils dans la forêt et les interactions entre les écureuils et les espèces d’oiseaux sont très courantes à Fundy - il est remarquable de voir une créature aussi petite peut être une si grande partie de l'écosystème forestier.

L'écureuil volant est également présent à Fundy; mais peut-être parce qu'il est nocturne et beaucoup plus secret que l'écureuil roux, on ne le voit pas souvent. Si vous voyez un écureuil volant à l'état sauvage, vous serez l'un des rares chanceux. Même s'ils ne sont pas vus très souvent, le rôle qu'ils jouent dans les fonctions des écosystèmes est incroyable, illustrant une fois de plus le fait qu'une espèce n'a pas besoin d'être un gros animal comme un orignal pour avoir une place importante dans les liens naturels de la forêt. Écosystème.

L'écureuil volant du nord nocturne est presque aussi commun que l'écureuil roux diurne dans les forêts de Fundy et a été étudié ici par le passé. Des recherches récentes démontrent une association importante entre le régime alimentaire de cet animal et les arbres. Il dîne sur un type particulier de champignon qui fructifie sous terre. Ces champignons poussent près des racines des arbres et d’autres plantes et les aident à extraire les nutriments des sols pauvres. L'écureuil aide à la propagation des champignons via ses déjections, contribuant au développement d'une forêt en santé. Les mammifères et les champignons sont donc connectés, et ce n’est qu’un des liens infinis entre tous les êtres vivants et non vivants qui font partie des écosystèmes de Fundy.