Mammals

There are around 38 species in the park, those most commonly seen include snowshoe hare, chipmunk, red squirrel, little brown bat, eastern coyote, white-tailed deer and moose. Moose are the largest animals in the park and may weigh up to 1000 kilograms.

Birds
A bird perched on a snowy branch

Fundy is well positioned on the Atlantic migration route, and over 260 bird species have been identified in the park or on the adjacent bay. Of those, approximately 95 species have nested in the park.

  • Ruffed Grouse
  • Woodpeckers
  • Grouse
  • Birds of prey
  • Owls
  • Rare Birds
Reptiles and amphibians

Fundy National Park is home to four species of snakes. While, spring and early summer nights vibrate with the mating calls of frogs and toads - Salamanders, the other amphibians in the park, are mute.

  • Snakes
  • Salamanders
  • Frogs and toads
Fish

Although they are famous for their size and strength, Atlantic salmon start out very small - slightly larger than the head of a pin. Reaching the ocean opens up new food sources for them to feed on. They can grow very quickly, with some reaching over 100 times their weight within a year!

Mammifères

Il y a environ 38 espèces dans le parc, principalement le lièvre d'Amérique, le tamia rayé, l'écureuil roux, la petite chauve-souris brune, le coyote, le cerf de Virginie et l'orignal. Les orignaux sont les plus gros animaux du parc et peuvent peser jusqu'à 1000 kg.

Oiseaux
Un oiseau perché sur une branche enneigée

Fundy est bien positionnée sur la route migratoire de l'Atlantique et plus de 260 espèces d'oiseaux ont été identifiées dans le parc ou dans la baie adjacente. Parmi celles-ci, environ 95 espèces ont niché dans le parc.

  • Gélinotte huppée
  • Le pic-bois
  • Tétras
  • Oiseaux de proie
  • Hiboux
  • Oiseaux rares
Reptiles et amphibiens

Le parc national Fundy abrite quatre espèces de serpents. Alors que les nuits de printemps et de début d'été vibrent avec les cris des grenouilles et des crapauds - les salamandres, les autres amphibiens du parc, sont muets.

  • Serpent
  • Salamande
  • Grenouille et crapaud
Poissons

Bien qu'ils soient réputés pour leur taille et leur force, les saumons atlantique sont au départ très petits - légèrement plus gros qu'une tête d'épingle. Atteindre l'océan leur ouvre de nouvelles sources de nourriture. Ils peuvent grandir très rapidement, certains atteignant plus de 100 fois leur poids en un an!