Tides in Fundy National Park

One of the most important draws for visitors to the region and to Fundy National Park is to experience the tides and the tidal flats of the Bay of Fundy. The effects of the tides on the shoreline and the local weather are easily seen and experienced from the park.

Learn More

The marine coastal system

The intertidal zone-the part of the beach that lays between high and low tide-is brimming with life. The plants and animals here have to be hardy. They live in salt water at high tide. At low tide they live in the fresh water of rain or runoff, or they get completely dried out and baked in the sun. Temperatures can rise to over 30 degrees Celsius in the summer, or drop to minus 25 degrees Celsius in winter. Waves crash upon them, battering them and covering them with silt. Winter ice-cakes crush them. Yet life thrives here. In fact, an organism's tolerance to exposure dictates where species live in the intertidal zone.

Learn More

The Caledonia highlands plateau

The Caledonia Highlands quickly rise 300 metres from the nearby coast. Fundy National Park is in the transition zone between the strictly coniferous boreal forest to the north and deciduous-dominated forest to the south.

Learn More

Geology

Covered by the soil and the forests or guarded by inaccessible, tide-washed cliffs, the geology of Fundy National Park is a well-kept secret. There are ways, however, to touch this ancient heart of Fundy. Exploring the beaches of the Bay of Fundy, hiking along the deep river valleys and even travelling over the Caledonia Highlands, you can piece together the story which is as rich and varied as that of the Earth itself.

Learn More

Marées du parc national Fundy

L'un des attraits les plus importants pour les visiteurs de la région et du parc national Fundy est de découvrir les marées et les fonds vaseux de la baie de Fundy. Les effets des marées sur le littoral et la météo locale sont facilement visibles et ressentis depuis le parc.

Pour en savoir davantage

Le système côtier marin

La zone intertidale - la partie de la plage qui se situe entre la marée haute et la marée basse - regorge de vie. Les plantes et les animaux ici doivent être robustes et intraitables. Ils vivent dans l'eau salée à marée haute. À marée basse, ils vivent dans l'eau douce de la pluie ou du ruissellement, ou ils se dessèchent complètement et cuisent au soleil. Les températures peuvent monter à plus de 30 degrés Celsius en été, ou descendre à moins 25 degrés Celsius en hiver. Des vagues les écrasent, les battent et les recouvrent de limon. En hiver, des gâteaux de glace les écrasent. Pourtant, la vie prospère ici. En fait, la tolérance d'un organisme à l'exposition dicte où vivent les espèces dans la zone intertidale.

Pour en savoir davantage

Le plateau des hautes terres calédoniennes

Les hautes terres calédoniennes s'élèvent rapidement à 300 mètres de la côte voisine. Le parc national Fundy se trouve dans la zone de transition entre la forêt boréale strictement résineuse au nord et la forêt dominée par les feuillus au sud.

Pour en savoir davantage

La géologie du parc national Fundy

Couverte par le sol et les forêts ou gardée par des falaises inaccessibles frappées par les marées, la géologie du parc national Fundy est un secret bien gardé. Il existe cependant des moyens de toucher cet ancien cœur de Fundy. En explorant les plages de la baie de Fundy, en faisant de la randonnée le long des profondes vallées fluviales et même en voyageant sur les plateaux des hautes terres calédoniennes, vous pourrez reconstituer l'histoire qui est aussi riche et variée que celle de la Terre elle-même.

Pour en savoir davantage