Here is a shortlist of our favourite plants native to the Maritimes and are commonly found at nurseries and garden centres.

Insider tip: When shopping for native plants, it is important to check plant tags carefully – it’s a good habit to shop by scientific name, rather than by common name to avoid confusion. Talk to your local nursery owners and explain why you would like to see more native plants for sale!

Plant name Height Growing conditions Description
Serviceberry
Amelanchier spp.
9 to 15 feet (3-5 m) Full dun to part-shade. Prefers well drained soil, but is adaptable to most soils. Serviceberries are shrubs or small trees that come alive with delicate white flowers every spring, followed by a crop of edible berries. In the fall, the leaves of this plant turn a gorgeous orangey-red.

Late Lowbush Blueberry
Vaccinium angustifolium

0.5-2 feet (15-60 cm) Full sun to part-shade. Prefers well drained, acidic soil (most soils in the Maritimes are considered acidic) Blueberry plants are shrubs with unique early spring flowers that are a bumblebee favourite. Edible antioxidant-filled berries appear in summer. Bright red fall colour.

High-bush Blueberry
Vaccinium corymbosum

6-12 feet (1.8-3.6 m)
Red Osier Dogwood
Cornus stolonifera
6-9 feet (1.8-3 m) Full sun to part-shade. Prefers moist soil, but is adaptable to most soils. Delicate white flowers bloom from May to June, followed by unique white berries that birds love to eat. Deep red to burgundy fall colour. Red stems are a showstopper in winter!
Spotted Joe Pye Weed
Eupatorium maculatum
3-6 feet (0.9-1.8 m) Full sun to part-sun. Prefers moist soil, but is very adaptable. A big and beautiful perennial flower. Very tall, but thanks to sturdy stems this plant does not require staking. Unique, fuzzy purple-pink flowers that continue to add interest after they’ve gone to seed. Blooms from August to October.
Swamp Milkweed
Asclepias incarnata
2-4 feet (60-120 cm) Full sun. Prefers moist soil, but is very adaptable. Milkweed is the host plant for monarch butterflies. Rich pink vanilla-scented flowers last all summer long and interesting seed heads appear in the fall. Common milkweed has been known to take over gardens, but swamp milkweed is much less aggressive.

Adopt Pollinator Friendly Practices

Voici une liste de nos plantes préférées, indigènes aux Maritimes, que l’on trouve couramment dans les pépinières et les centres de jardinage. 

Conseil d’initié : Lorsque vous achetez des plantes indigènes, il est important de vérifier attentivement les étiquettes des plantes, car il est bon d’acheter en se fiant au nom scientifique plutôt que par nom commun pour éviter toute confusion. Parlez aux propriétaires de votre pépinière locale et expliquez pourquoi vous aimeriez voir plus de plantes indigènes en vente ! 

Nom de la plante Hauteur Conditions de croissance Description
Amélanchier
Amelanchier spp.
9 à 15 pieds (3 à 5 m) Plein soleil à partiellement ombragé. Préfère les sols bien drainés, mais s’adapte à la plupart des sols. L’amélanchier est un arbuste ou un petit arbre qui fleurit chaque printemps de délicates fleurs blanches, suivies d’une récolte de baies comestibles. À l’automne, les feuilles de cette plante prennent une magnifique couleur rouge orangé.

Bleuet nain
Vaccinium angustifolium

0,5 à 2 pieds (15 à 60 cm) Plein soleil à partiellement ombragé. Préfère un sol bien drainé et acide (la plupart des sols des Maritimes sont considérés comme acides). Les plants de bleuets sont des arbustes aux fleurs uniques au début du printemps qui sont les préférées des bourdons. Des baies comestibles remplies d’antioxydants apparaissent en été. Sa couleur automnale est rouge vif.

Bleuet en corymbe
Vaccinium corymbosum

6 à 12 pieds (1,8 à 3,6 m)
Cornouiller stolonifère
Cornus stolonifera
6 à 9 pieds (1,8 à 3 m) Plein soleil à partiellement ombragé. Préfère les sols humides, mais s’adapte à la plupart des sols. De délicates fleurs blanches s’épanouissent de mai à juin, suivies de baies blanches uniques que les oiseaux adorent manger. Sa couleur automnale va d’un rouge foncé jusqu’à un bordeaux. Ses tiges rouges sont un spectacle en hiver!
Eupatoire maculée
Eupatorium maculatum
3 à 6 pieds (0,9 à 1,8 m) Plein soleil à partiellement ombragé. Préfère les sols humides, mais s’adapte très bien. Une grande et belle fleur vivace. Très haute, mais grâce à ses tiges robustes, cette plante ne nécessite pas de tuteurage. Des fleurs uniques de couleur rose pourpre, qui continuent à être belles après la montée en graines. Floraison d’août à octobre.
Asclépiade incarnate
Asclepias incarnata
2 à 4 pieds (60 à 120 cm) Plein soleil. Préfère les sols humides, mais s’adapte très bien. L’asclépiade est la plante hôte des papillons monarques. Les riches fleurs roses parfumées à la vanille durent tout l’été et des têtes de graines intéressantes apparaissent à l’automne. L’asclépiade commune est connue pour envahir les jardins, mais l’asclépiade incarnate est beaucoup moins agressive.

Adopter des pratiques favorables aux pollinisateurs