Bees, beetles, butterflies, mice, birds, and flies – what do these animals have in common? They're all pollinators! Pollinators carry pollen from flower to flower, helping plants produce the next generation of seeds, fruits, and nuts.

We’ve planted our own pollinator garden at the bluff across from the Headquarters Visitor Centre. Stop by and you might see a yellow-banded bumblebee, a monarch butterfly, or even a ruby-throated hummingbird! Our garden is a gateway to the world of pollinators, and we hope you explore and become inspired to plant a garden too.


Pollinators at risk in Fundy National Park

Many pollinators are getting harder to find and some are in danger of disappearing altogether. Pollution, habitat loss, disease, and climate change all threaten the survival of our native pollinators.

Yellow-Banded Bumble Bee
Yellow-Banded Bumble Bee

COSEWIC status: Special Concern
The Yellow-Banded Bumble Bee is one of Canada’s most important pollinators. You’ll find them everywhere in every province and territory, except Nunavut, and in all sorts of habitats, rural and urban.

Monarch Butterfly
Monarch Butterfly

COSEWIC status: Endangered
The Monarch Butterfly is a remarkable insect. Each year, it embarks on a 4,828 km migration from the mountains in Mexico all the way to Canada! It is the only known insect to go on such a long journey.

Friends of Fundy community gardens

It’s not just the national park – our local communities, organizations, and businesses are working to help pollinators too. The Friends of Fundy are coordinating a network of pollinator gardens in local communities. These will form the Fundy Pollinator Trail – a collection of thriving pollinator habitat along the Fundy coast in the following communities:

  • Alma
  • Cape Enrage
  • Hillsborough
  • Hopewell Cape
  • Riverside-Albert
  • St. Martins

Did you know?

“Wildflowers” are not necessarily native flowers. Any flower that can grow successfully in the wild is considered a wildflower, but only native plants have evolved to attract local insects. Choosing native plants is the best choice for wildlife – they were made for each other!

Learn more about pollinators

Garden plant List
They need your help!

Abeilles, coléoptères, papillons, souris, oiseaux et mouches : qu’est-ce que ces animaux ont en commun? Ce sont tous des pollinisateurs! Les pollinisateurs transportent le pollen d’une fleur à l’autre, ce qui aide les plantes à produire la prochaine génération de graines, de fruits et de noix.

Nous avons planté notre propre jardin de pollinisateur sur la pente en face du centre d’accueil à l’administration centrale. Arrêtez-vous en passant, et vous verrez peut-être un bourdon terricole, un papillon monarque ou même un colibri à gorge rubis! Notre jardin est une porte d’entrée vers le monde des pollinisateurs. Nous espérons que vous l’explorerez, et qu’il vous inspirera à planter un jardin vous aussi.


Les pollinisateurs en péril dans le parc national Fundy

De nombreux pollinisateurs sont de plus en plus difficiles à trouver, et certains sont même menacés de disparition. La pollution, la perte d’habitat, les maladies et les changements climatiques menacent tous la survie de nos pollinisateurs indigènes.

Bourdon terricole
Le bourdon terricole

État selon COSEPAC : espèce préoccupante
Le bourdon terricole est l’un des plus importants pollinisateurs du Canada. On en trouve partout dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires, sauf au Nunavut, et dans toutes sortes d’habitats, ruraux et urbains.

Papillon monarque
Le papillon monarque

État selon COSEPAC : espèce en voie de disparition
Le papillon monarque est un insecte remarquable. Chaque année, il effectue une migration de 4 828 km depuis les montagnes du Mexique jusqu’au Canada! C’est le seul insecte connu qui parcourt une si grande distance.

Les jardins des amis de Fundy

Le parc national n’est pas seul dans ce projet : nos collectivités, organisations et entreprises locales travaillent aussi à aider les pollinisateurs. L’association Friends of Fundy coordonne un réseau de jardins de pollinisateurs dans les collectivités locales. Ceux-ci formeront le sentier des pollinisateurs de Fundy, une série d’habitats florissants pour les pollinisateurs le long de la côte de Fundy dans les communautés suivantes :

  • Alma
  • Cape Enrage
  • Hillsborough
  • Hopewell Cape
  • Riverside-Albert
  • St. Martins

Le saviez-vous?

Les « fleurs sauvages » ne sont pas toujours des plantes indigènes. Toutes les fleurs qui poussent avec succès dans la nature peuvent être considérées comme fleurs sauvages, mais les plantes non indigènes n'ont pas évolué pour attirer nos insectes locaux, et peuvent parfois être envahissantes. Les plantes qui sont indigènes dans votre région sont le meilleur choix pour la faune : elles sont faits l'un pour l'autre!

Apprenez-en plus sur les pollinisateurs

Liste de plantes
Ils ont besoin de votre aide!