Located in New Brunswick on Canada's Atlantic Coast, Fundy National Park encompasses 20 kilometres of dramatic shoreline along the Bay of Fundy, famous for having the world's highest tides. Twice a day, up to 12 metres of water or more rush in and out, roughly equivalent to the height of a four-floor building. For visitors, this means exceptional sightseeing and unforgettable kayaking, not to mention a unique chance to explore the sea floor at low tide.

And the park offers more than just dramatic tides. More than 100 kilometres of hiking and biking trails ribbon through 206 square kilometres of Acadian forest, leading to thundering waterfalls, freshwater lakes and scenic river valleys.

Conservation
Salmon underwater

Established in 1948, the national park covers 207 km2 encompassing rugged coast lines, rolling highlands, diverse Acadian forests and over 25 waterfalls. Throughout the years the park has worked on restoring damage in the park from logging and dams and re-connecting water ways and continues to focus on monitoring the parks ecology. There are several species being monitored regularly such as: Martens, fishers, brook trout, eel, moose and the endangered Inner Bay of Fundy Salmon.

Conservation projects

Animals
A red eft, a small lizzard, underwater.

The rich tapestry of the highlands, forests, rivers, lakes and coastlines provides habitats for both northern and southern species of mammals, birds, fish, amphibians, reptiles and invertebrates.

Plants
Tree in the forest.

The Caledonia Highlands quickly rise 300 metres from the nearby coast. Fundy National Park is in the transition zone between the strictly coniferous boreal forest to the north and deciduous-dominated forest to the south.

Environment
Arial view of Fundy National Park

Parks Canada has identified 39 natural regions in Canada. Fundy National Park represents the Maritime Acadian Highlands region.

The park has two major environmental systems: the marine coastal environment of the Bay of Fundy and the Caledonia Highlands plateau (part of the Appalachian Mountain range) with its deeply cut river valleys. These are divided into several ecosystems.

Discover unique features

Le parc national Fundy s'étend sur 20 km de rivages spectaculaires. Située au Nouveau-Brunswick sur la côte atlantique du Canada, la baie de Fundy est réputée pour avoir les marées les plus hautes au monde. Deux fois par jour, jusqu'à 12 mètres d'eau ou plus s'y précipitent, ce qui correspond à peu près à la hauteur d'un bâtiment de quatre étages. Pour les visiteurs, cela signifie des visites exceptionnelles et du kayak inoubliable, sans oublier une occasion unique d'explorer le fond de la mer à marée basse.

Le parc offre bien plus que des marées dramatiques. Plus de 100 km de sentiers de randonnée et de pistes cyclables parcourent 206 kilomètres carrés de forêt acadienne, menant à des chutes assourdissantes, des lacs d'eau douce et de pittoresques vallées de rivières.

Conservation
Un saumon sous l'eau.

Fondé en 1948, le parc national couvre 207 km2 et comprend des côtes accidentées, de hauts plateaux vallonnés, diverses forêts acadiennes et plus de 25 chutes d'eau. Au fil des ans, le parc s'est efforcé de réparer les dommages causés par l'exploitation forestière et les barrages, ainsi que de rétablir les connexions entre les voies d'eau, et continue de se concentrer sur la surveillance de l'écologie du parc. Plusieurs espèces font l'objet d'une surveillance régulière, telles que : la martre, le pêcheur, l'omble de fontaine, l'anguille, l'orignal et le saumon en voie de disparition de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy.

Projets de conservation

La faune
Un petit lézard rouge sous l'eau.

La riche tapisserie des hauts plateaux, des forêts, des rivières, des lacs et des côtes fournit des habitats aux espèces septentrionales et méridionales de mammifères, d'oiseaux, de poissons, d'amphibiens, de reptiles et d'invertébrés.

Plantes
Une forêt.

Les hautes terres de Caledonia s’élèvent rapidement à 300 mètres de la côte avoisinante. Le parc national Fundy se trouve dans la zone de transition entre la forêt boréale strictement composée de conifères au nord et la forêt dominée par les feuillus au sud.

Environnement
Le parc national Fundy vu du ciel.

Parcs Canada a identifié 39 régions naturelles au Canada. Le parc national Fundy représente la région des hautes terres acadiennes des Maritimes.

Le parc comporte deux systèmes environnementaux majeurs : l'environnement côtier marin de la baie de Fundy et le plateau des hautes terres de Caledonia (qui fait partie de la chaîne des Appalaches) avec ses vallées de rivières profondément coupées. Ceux-ci sont divisés en plusieurs écosystèmes.

Découvrez des fonctionnalités uniques