Hiking 
Distance: 2.6 km one way
Time: 1 to 1.5 hours
Difficulty: Moderate
River crossings: Yes
Habitat: Forest

Looking to hike your way from Moncton to Fundy? This 2.6 km trail is your link to the Dobson Trail, a 58 km wilderness trek that takes you from Riverview, NB, to the boundary of Fundy National Park. Within the Park, the Dobson Link can be accessed by either Laverty Falls Trail (2.5 km) or Moosehorn Trail (4.8 km).

Dobson Trail hikers can expect a challenging but rewarding trek, with several notable look-out points along the way. Be sure to plan ahead for your trip, and ‘Leave No Trace’ while on route. The Dobson Trail is managed by a dedicated group of volunteers with the Fundy Hiking Trail Association. For more information, visit www.fundyhikingtrails.com.

River Crossings

Several trails in the park have river crossings. When water levels are high, crossing the river can be dangerous. Water levels are monitored and crossings are closed when conditions are hazardous. At these times, signs are posted at the trailhead to indicate the closure. If you are unsure about water conditions, don't take a chance.


Be Prepared!
  • Know your physical limits; Fundy’s wilderness is famous for its rugged cliffs and river valleys. Choose a trail that is challenging but enjoyable for you.
  • Pack for comfort and safety: A sweater and a windbreaker are good insurance against variable weather. We recommend footwear with good traction and support. Pack fresh water and a snack, even if you’re planning a short hike.
  • Plan your route and stick to it. Let someone know where you plan on hiking and your estimated time of return.
  • For your own safety and to preserve the ecological integrity of our Park, stay on marked trails.
  • Leave no trace! Please carry out all garbage, yours and any you may find on the trail.

Randonnée 
Distance : 2,6 km aller
Durée : 1 à 1,5 heures
Difficulté : Modéré
Passages à gué : Oui
Habitat : Forêt

Voulez-vous faire une randonnée de Moncton à la baie de Fundy? Ce sentier de 2,6 km vous mènera au sentier Dobson, un parcours dans la nature sauvage de 58 km qui part de Riverview, au Nouveau-Brunswick, jusqu’à la limite du parc national Fundy. Dans le parc, le lien Dobson est accessible par le sentier des Chutes Laverty (2,5 km) ou par le sentier de l’Orignal (4,8 km).

Le sentier Dobson offre une randonnée difficile, mais gratifiante, sans compter de nombreux points de vue intéressants en cours de route. Assurez-vous de bien préparer votre excursion et ne laissez aucune trace de votre passage sur le sentier. Le sentier Dobson est géré par un groupe dévoué de bénévoles de la Fundy Hiking Trail Association. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, allez à www.fundyhikingtrails.com (en anglais).

Passages à gué

Plusieurs sentiers comportent des passages à gué. Lorsque le niveau de l'eau est élevé, la traversée peut être dangereuse. Nous assurons une surveillance des passages à gué et les fermerons lorsque les conditions le justifieront. Des panneaux aux débuts des sentiers en indiqueront la fermeture. Si jamais vous n'êtes pas sûr des conditions d'eau, rebroussez chemin.


Soyez bien préparé!
  • Soyez conscient de vos limites physiques : le parc est bien connu pour ses falaises accidentées et ses vallées de rivière sauvages. Choisissez un sentier exigeant, mais agréable pour vous.
  • Préparez votre sac en songeant au confort et à la sécurité : un chandail et un coupe-vent peuvent se révéler pratiques par temps variable. Nous recommandons des chaussures offrant une bonne traction et un bon support. Apportez de l’eau et une collation, même pour une courte randonnée.
  • Planifiez votre itinéraire et tenez-vous-en à ce que vous avez choisi. Dites à quelqu’un où vous comptez vous rendre et à quelle heure vous comptez être de retour.
  • Pour assurer votre propre sécurité et préserver l’intégrité écologique du parc, restez sur les sentiers balisés.
  • Ne laissez aucune trace! Rapportez tous vos déchets, les vôtres et ceux que vous trouverez sur le sentier.