Experience Fundy National Park's Outdoor Classroom!

Offer your students the chance to connect with nature through hands-on experiential educational programs that complement your curriculum! Spend some time outside of the classroom to discover the breathtaking beauty and the unique ecosystems of Fundy National Park. Allow our park interpreters to share their love for this place with your class as well as their enthusiasm and knowledge of Fundy’s ecosystems, wildlife and unique features.

Fall 2018 Program Offer

  • Diversity of ocean life

    Suitable for grades: K-12
    Duration: up to 2 hours
    Group size: Up to 100
    Curriculum topic links: how animals meet their needs, life cycles, adaptations, food chains, tides, ecosystem interactions, habitats, ecological roles, biodiversity

    Discover the unique creatures that live on Fundy’s beaches and how they are specially adapted to the challenging environment we call the intertidal zone. Learn about the awesome power of the world’s highest tides as you explore the ocean floor and meet some members of this unique community of living beings. Learn about the lives of some of these predators, prey, carnivores, herbivores and scavengers and how they interact with each other in these ever-changing conditions.

  • Bug bioblitz bonanza

    Suitable for grades: 3 - 12
    Duration: up to 2 hours
    Group size: Up to 40
    Curriculum links: biodiversity, characteristics of insects, ecological roles, life cycles, citizen science, taxonomy, classification

    Through a fun variety of hands-on activities, we will take a closer look at the world of insects that may represent 90% of all species on Earth. Your students will experience the diversity, adaptations, predator-prey relationships and life histories of some easy to find, charismatic insect groups – Aquatic Insects, Lady Beetles, Grasshoppers, Dragonflies, Moths and Butterflies.

  • Through the eyes of a chickadee

    Suitable for grades: K-6
    Duration: up to 2 hours
    Group size: Up to 60
    Curriculum links: The senses, exploration, seasonal change, how animals and plants meet their needs, food chains, ecological roles

    If you were a black-capped chickadee, how would you prepare for winter? Learn about seasonal change in the forest and how animals prepare for the colder temperatures, how they fulfill their needs and overcome challenges like finding food in winter, avoiding predators and staying warm.

  • Preservation conservation: The ultimate navigation challenge

    Suitable for grades: 9 - 12
    Duration: up to 3 hours
    Group size: Up to 30
    Curriculum links: Active living, wilderness skills, ecology, teamwork, leadership. Outdoor pursuits, species at risk, stewardship, conservation, survival, animal's needs, population ecology.

    This fall, we’re teaming up with Orienteering NB to offer an exciting new program for high schools students! Connect with and spend time in nature through a hands-on physical challenge, while acquiring wilderness navigation skills (map and compass) as well as learning about Fundy National Park, it’s species at risk, and the role parks play in conservation and stewardship.

    Note: This program has two parts: the orienteering activity and section about animal survival; the group is divided in two (unless the group size is 15 or under). Please contact us for more details.

  • Eco-evidence salmon excursion

    Suitable for grades: 6 - 12
    Duration: up to 2 hours
    Group size: Up to 60
    Curriculum links: Citizen science, endangered species, restoration, river systems, ecological monitoring.

    Join interpreters for an excursion on the Dickson Falls trail as they share the saga, of the near extinction of the Inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic Salmon and the efforts made to save the population. We will search for freshwater invertebrates in Dickson Brook to record population density of our precious salmon’s food source, which will then be used by biologists at UNB to track the health of the salmon and ecosystem.

Fees

Program fees are $2.40 per student. The fee doesn’t apply to teachers and parent volunteers. Please collect the fee beforehand and pay at the Visitor Centre’s front desk upon your arrival at Fundy National Park. Cheques can be made payable to the Receiver General of Canada.

How to register

Registration is on a first come first served basis. Spots are available on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays between September 5 and October 31. Not all programs can be offered every day, as some are tide-dependent. Please contact us for more information and to register: email mira.dietzchiasson.pc.gc.ca or call the interpretation office at 506-887-6028.

Upon arrival

Your interpreter(s) will meet you in the parking lot of the Visitor Centre at the agreed upon arrival time. We usually allow 10-15 minutes for students to use the washrooms and grab a snack before the start of the program.

Vivez l'expérience d'une classe en plein air au parc national Fundy!

Offrez à vos élèves la chance de renouer avec la nature à travers de programmes éducatifs expérientiels qui complimentent votre programme d’études! Passez du temps en-dehors de la salle de classe pour découvrir la beauté impressionnante et les écosystèmes uniques du Parc National Fundy. Permettez à nos interprètes de partager avec votre classe leur amour de cet endroit ainsi que leur enthousiasme et leurs connaissances au sujet des écosystèmes de Fundy, de sa faune et sa flore, et ses caractéristiques uniques.


Programmes de l'automne 2018

  • Diversité de la vie marine

    Convient aux niveaux : M-12
    Durée : jusqu’à 2 heures
    Taille du groupe : jusqu’à 100
    Liens au programme d’études: comment les animaux remplissent leurs besoins, les cycles de vie, adaptations, chaînes alimentaires, interactions au sein des écosystèmes, habitats, rôles écologiques, classification des êtres vivants, biodiversité

    Découvrez les créatures uniques qui habitent les plages de Fundy et comment elles sont spécialement adaptées à la vie dans l’environnement difficile qu’est la zone intertidale. Apprenez au sujet de la puissance formidable des marées les plus hautes au monde, tout en explorant le fond marin et rencontrez des membres de cette communauté spéciale d’êtres vivants.

  • Bioblitz aux bibittes

    Convient aux niveaux : 3 - 12
    Durée : jusqu’à 2 heures
    Taille du group e: jusqu’à 40
    Liens au programme d’études: biodiversité, caractéristiques des insectes, rôles écologiques, cycles de vie, science citoyenne, taxonomie, classification

    Lors de cette activité interactive, nous découvrirons le monde des insectes, qui pourraient représenter 90% de toutes les espèces animales sur la Terre. Vos élèves feront l'expérience de la diversité, des adaptations, des relations proie-prédateur et des cycles de vie de certains groupes d'insectes tels les insectes aquatiques, les coccinelles, les sauterelles, les libellules et les papillons.

  • Par les yeux d’une mésange

    Convient aux niveaux : M-6
    Durée : jusqu’à 2 heures
    Taille du groupe : jusqu’à 60
    Liens au programme d’études : Les sens, l’exploration, les changements saisonniers, comment les êtres vivants remplissent leurs besoins, chaînes alimentaires, rôles écologiques

    Si vous étiez une mésange à tête noire, que feriez-vous afin de vous préparer pour l’hiver? Apprenez au sujet des changements saisonniers dans la forêt et comment les animaux se préparent pour les températures plus froides, comment ils remplissent leurs besoins et font face à des défis tels que trouver de la nourriture en hiver, éviter des prédateurs et éviter de geler!

  • Conversation préservation: défi ultime de navigation

    Convient aux niveaux : 9 - 12
    Durée : jusqu’à 3 heures
    Taille du groupe : jusqu’à 30
    Liens au programme d’études : santé physique, compétences de plein-air, écologie, travail d’équipe, leadership, espèces en péril, intendance, conservation, survie, comment les animaux remplissent leurs besoins, écologie des populations

    Cet automne, nous entrons en partenariat avec Orienteering NB afin d’offrir un excitant nouveau programme pour les élèves du secondaire! Connectez avec et passez du temps en nature à travers d’un défi physique interactif tout en apprenant des compétences de navigation en plein air (carte et boussole) ainsi qu’apprenant au sujet du Parc National Fundy, ses espèces en péril et le rôle que joue le parc pour la conservation et l’intendance.

    Note : ce programme peut comporter deux activités; un défi de navigation et une section au sujet de la survie des animaux sauvages; le groupe sera divisé en deux s’il comporte plus de 15 élèves. Veuillez nous contacter pour davantage de détails.

  • Excursion d’indices écologiques sur les saumons

    Convient aux niveaux : 6 - 12
    Durée : jusqu’à 2 heures
    Taille du groupe : jusqu’à 60
    Liens au programme d’études : Science citoyenne, espèces en péril, restauration, systems riverains, surveillance écologique

    Joignez-vous aux interprètes lors d’une excursion sur le sentier des chutes Dickson pour entendre l’histoire du saumon, sa quasi extinction et les efforts faits afin de sauver la population. Nous chercherons des invertébrés d’eau douce afin de collectionner des données au sujet de la densité des proies de nos précieux saumons, qui seront ensuite utilisées par des biologistes à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick afin de surveiller la santé des saumons et de l’écosystème.

Frais

L’entrée au parc est gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins. Le seul frais est celui du programme, qui est de 2.40$ par élève. Ces frais ne s’appliquent pas aux enseignants et aux parents bénévoles. Veuillez s’il vous plait collectionner l’argent avant votre arrivée Parc National Fundy et payez au Centre d’Accueil lorsque vous arrivez. Les chèques sont payables au Receveur Général du Canada.

Comment vous inscrire

Veuillez nous contacter pour davantage d’information et afin de vous inscrire. Nous acceptons des inscriptions pour les mercredis, jeudis et vendredis entre le périodes du 5 Septembre et du 31 Octobre. Pour ce faire, envoyez un courriel à mira.dietzchiasson@pc.gc.ca ou composez le (506) 887-6028.

À votre arrivée

Nos interprètes vous rencontreront au stationnement du Centre d’Accueil au temps convenu. Nous réservons normalement une période de 10-15 minutes afin que les élèves puissent prendre une collation et visiter les salles de bains au besoin avant le début du programme.