Avalanche Involvement, Teddy-Bear Trees, Glacier National Park, January 4, 2015 

Accident Details

On January 4th, two skiers went up the Connaught Drainage to ski an area known as “Teddy-Bear Trees.” The Avalanche danger that day was rated “Considerable” at treeline. The area had received 10cm of snow overnight and it was still snowing so the group decided to stick to conservative terrain and ski the trees down the shoulder. On their ascent, they found another group’s up-track. The ascent up Teddy-bear Trees can be challenging and the previous group seemed to have known exactly where they were going. Because the up-track seemed efficient and precise they decided to follow it. As they gained the ridge, the track continued beyond the point where they had planned to stop. They decided to continue following the up-track to see where the other group had skied down.

When they reached the point where the previous group had descended, they removed their skins and skied down the ridge a bit lower than the previous group. The leader did a ski cut on a convexity at the ridge-top and had no result. He then put in a few more ski cuts and the final one triggered an avalanche. He was too far downslope and was consequently caught in the avalanche for ~100m through the trees. He broke his leg and was stopped on the surface by a tree as the avalanche continued past him for an additional 400m. His ski partner descended to him, called for a rescue, kept him warm to prevent hypothermia and initiated other first aid.

Rescue Details

At 1400hrs the Visitor Safety team at Rogers Pass were notified of the avalanche incident. A helicopter was dispatched from Revelstoke and at 1450hrs the team did a reconnaissance flight to confirm the location and ensure that it would be safe for rescuers to enter the scene. Two rescuers were slung to the site by helicopter. They assessed the patient, secured the injury by splinting the leg and slung the patient out to an ambulance waiting at Rogers Pass. The ski partner was flown out afterwards.

Analysis

The skier involved in this incident has over 20 years experience in the backcountry and acknowledges he mistakenly allowed another party’s tracks to sway his decision making. The avalanche bulletin on that day described a persistent slab problem which was very reactive in areas where avalanches had not been triggered. In this case, the first group got lucky while the second did not.

In addition, ski cuts are an effective tool but should be used cautiously. Skiers should consider the highest possible release point of the avalanche and work from safe point to safe point to prevent getting caught.

Photo of avalanche showing fracture line, ski tracks and skier location Orange circle shows injured skier and his partner, orange arrow indicates fracture line, red arrow indicates previous groups ski tracks.

Accident d’avalanche dans le secteur Teddy Bear Trees, parc national des Glaciers, le 4 janvier 2015

Détails de l’accident

Le 4 janvier, deux skieurs de randonnée ont remonté le bassin hydrographique du Connaught pour faire du ski dans un secteur appelé Teddy Bear Trees. Le risque d’avalanche était alors coté « Considérable » à la limite forestière. Le secteur avait reçu 10 cm de neige la nuit précédente, et il neigeait encore, si bien que le groupe a décidé de s’en tenir à du terrain sûr et de descendre l’épaulement à skis. Pendant leur montée, les deux skieurs ont aperçu les traces ascendantes d’un autre groupe. La montée du secteur Teddy Bear Trees peut être difficile, et l’autre groupe semblait savoir exactement où il s’en allait. Comme la piste ascendante semblait efficace et précise, les deux compagnons l’ont suivie. À la hauteur de la crête, les traces se poursuivaient au-delà de l’endroit où ils avaient prévu s’arrêter. Les skieurs ont continué de les suivre pour voir jusqu’où l’autre groupe s’était rendu avant de redescendre.
Une fois arrivés à l’endroit où l’autre groupe avait amorcé sa descente, les deux compagnons ont retiré leurs peaux et ont descendu la crête à skis un peu en aval de la trace laissée par l’autre groupe. Le premier skieur a effectué une coupe en skis sur une convexité au sommet de la crête et n’a obtenu aucun résultat. Il a ensuite procédé à quelques autres coupes en skis, et la dernière a déclenché une avalanche. Il se trouvait trop en aval et a été entraîné par l’avalanche sur une centaine de mètres dans la zone boisée. Le skieur a terminé sa chute à la surface, contre un arbre, avec une fracture à la jambe, tandis que l’avalanche a dévalé la montagne sur 400 m de plus. Son compagnon l’a rejoint, a appelé les secours, l’a tenu au chaud pour prévenir l’hypothermie et lui a administré d’autres premiers soins.

Détails du sauvetage

À 14 h, l’équipe de la Sécurité des visiteurs du col Rogers a été informée de l’incident. Un hélicoptère a été dépêché de Revelstoke, et, à 14 h 50, l’équipe a effectué un vol de reconnaissance pour confirmer la position des skieurs et s’assurer que les sauveteurs pourraient se rendre sur les lieux en toute sécurité. Deux spécialistes ont été déposés sur la montagne par hélitreuillage. Ils ont évalué la victime, lui ont posé une attelle sur la jambe et l’ont transporté au bout de l’élingue jusqu’à une ambulance qui attendait au col Rogers. L’hélicoptère est revenu chercher l’autre skieur par la suite.

Analyse

Le skieur entraîné par l’avalanche avait plus de 20 ans d’expérience de l’arrière-pays et reconnaît qu’il a commis une erreur en laissant les pistes d’un autre groupe le détourner de son parcours initial. Le bulletin d’avalanche du jour faisait état de l’existence d’une plaque persistante très sensible dans les secteurs qui n’avaient encore subi aucune avalanche. En l’occurrence, le premier groupe a eu de la chance, et le second n’en a pas eu autant.
Les coupes en skis sont un outil efficace, mais il faut les appliquer avec prudence. Les skieurs doivent tenir compte du point de déclenchement le plus élevé possible et effectuer les coupes en skis d’un point sûr à un autre pour éviter d’être emportés par une avalanche.

Photo of avalanche showing fracture line, ski tracks and skier location

Le cercle orange montre le skieur blessé et son compagnon, la flèche orange, la cassure linéaire, et la flèche rouge, les traces du premier groupe.