Grizzly bear on Hudson Bay shoreline, Wapusk National Park Grizzly bear on Hudson Bay shoreline, Wapusk National Park.
© Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship

Wapusk News - Issue 8, 2015

Wapusk National Park (NP) is known for polar bears—in fact, Wapusk is Cree for “white bear.” But there is some evidence that a new bear may have moved into the park: the barren ground grizzly.

The barren ground grizzly is a slightly smaller cousin of the grizzlies that inhabit the mountains of western Canada, and its traditional range spans throughout the tundra of Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.

Grizzly bear in Wapusk National Park Grizzly bear in Wapusk National Park.
© Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship
Since 1990, people have reported seeing barren ground grizzlies in Wapusk NP, with annual sightings since 2008. Over the past seven years, the number of sightings has been increasing and it is believed that at least two separate individual bears are spending time in the park. In fact, Parks Canada’s trail cameras captured photos of what appears to be a grizzly bear in the park in 2014.

Parks Canada and Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship are working together to find out more about these bears in the Churchill area. Parks Canada has purchased two radio tracking collars and, with Manitoba Conservation, whose Natural Resource Officers have expertise in capturing bears, hopes to collar a grizzly bear. The collars transmit a GPS location that will allow staff to see where the bears are travelling. The information from the collars will be used to confirm that the bears are indeed barren-ground grizzlies, and more importantly, whether they are resident in the park and surrounding area, or merely passing through.

This information is important for park management purposes, and is significant as a permanent presence of grizzlies could impact the park’s ecology. This means that grizzly bears would likely be competing with wolves and polar bears for food and resources. Also, the potential exists for conflict between grizzlies and denning polar bears.

We know that there are grizzly bears in Wapusk NP, but confirming where they are travelling and whether or not they are denning will enable managers to make informed decisions and to address impacts their presence may have on the park and other wildlife that live there.

Grizzli sur la rive de la baie d’Hudson, parc national Wapusk Grizzli sur la rive de la baie d’Hudson, parc national Wapusk.
© Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba

Échos de Wapusk - Volume 8, 2015

Le parc national Wapusk est connu pour ses ours polaires. En fait, le mot Wapusk est un mot cri qui signifie ours blanc. Certains éléments indiquent cependant qu’un autre type d’ours se serait installé dans le parc : le grizzli de Richardson.

Grizzli au parc national Wapusk Grizzli au parc national Wapusk.
© Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba
Le grizzli de Richardson est un peu plus petit que son cousin des régions montagneuses de l’Ouest canadien. Son territoire traditionnel couvre l’ensemble de la toundra du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Depuis 1990, certaines personnes ont signalé avoir vu des grizzlis de Richardon au parc national Wapusk, et depuis 2008, on y en voit tous les ans. Au cours des sept dernières années, de plus en plus de gens ont signalé avoir aperçu un grizzli de Richardon, et tout porte à croire qu’au moins deux ours différents fréquentent le parc. En fait, les appareils du parc ont capté des photos de ce qui semble être un grizzli en 2014.

Parcs Canada et Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba travaillent ensemble pour en apprendre plus sur la présence de ces ours dans la région de Churchill. Parcs Canada a acheté deux colliers émetteurs et espère en poser un sur un grizzli à l’aide des experts de Conservation Manitoba, qui ont l’expérience de la capture des ours. Le collier émet des données de localisation GPS permettant au personnel de suivre les déplacements des ours. Les renseignements recueillis grâce à ces colliers émetteurs serviront à confirmer que les ours aperçus sont bel et bien des grizzlis de Richardson, et surtout, à déterminer si ces ours habitent le parc et la région avoisinante ou s’ils ne font qu’y passer.

Ces renseignements sont importants non seulement aux fins de gestion du parc, mais aussi pour déterminer si la présence permanente de ces ours pourrait avoir des répercussions sur l’écologie du parc. En effet, les grizzlis y feraient probablement concurrence aux loups et aux ours polaires pour la nourriture et les ressources. De plus, il pourrait y avoir un conflit entre les grizzlis et les ours polaires lors de la période de mise bas.

Nous savons tous qu’il y a des grizzlis au parc national Wapusk, mais le fait de confirmer leurs déplacements et leurs aires de mise bas (s’il en existe) permettra aux gestionnaires de prendre des décisions éclairées et de gérer les répercussions potentielles de leur présence sur le parc national et sur les autres animaux qui y vivent.