ISAMR students looking at a quadrant in Wapusk National Park ISAMR students looking at a quadrant in Wapusk National Park
© Jessica C. Levine

Wapusk News - Issue 8, 2015

When it comes to learning, nothing beats hands-on activity. Being immersed in the environment you are studying, particularly a unique and challenging environment like Wapusk National Park (NP), can lead to a richer, more memorable experience. In this context, Wapusk is much more than a national park – it is a classroom.

Students from the high school and university levels come to the park every year to learn. High school students conduct and assist with research activities through programs such as the Wapusk NP Leadership Camp, the International Student-led Arctic Monitoring and Research (ISAMR) camp, and the Junior Canadian Rangers. Graduate students working on their Master’s and Doctoral degrees conduct world-class research in the park for their theses.

From field courses such as a new (in 2014) course examining arctic fox food webs, offered jointly by Dr. Jim Roth (University of Manitoba) and Parks Canada, to facilitated projects at both the Nester One and Nestor 2 research camps, there are many opportunities for active learning in Wapusk NP.

Not only does this learning benefit the students, it also benefits Parks Canada. Our mandate is to protect and present national treasures like Wapusk NP. When people share what they have learned about the park, our staff are better able to communicate why it is so important to protect this special place for future generations.

Students also assist Parks Canada in building awareness and understanding of the park throughout Canada, and beyond. Students who have had the chance to spend time in Wapusk NP often become ambassadors for the park in their communities. For people who aren’t able to visit, Parks Canada brings the park to them through the Parks Canada website (www.pc.gc.ca) and through outreach programs elsewhere in Canada, such as at the Journey to Churchill exhibit at the Assiniboine Park Zoo in Winnipeg.

This issue of Wapusk News features stories and student reflections highlighting the various types of learning that takes place in this outdoor classroom. Please enjoy these stories of learning in Wapusk NP - you just might learn something yourself!

Des participants à l’ISAMR observent un quadrant au parc national Wapusk Des participants à l’ISAMR observent un quadrant au parc national Wapusk
© Jessica C. Levine

Échos de Wapusk - Volume 8, 2015

Lorsque vient le temps d’apprendre, rien ne donne de meilleurs résultats que les activités pratiques. L’immersion dans le milieu étudié, en particulier un milieu unique et plein de défis à relever comme le parc national Wapusk, permet de vivre une expérience riche et mémorable. Dans ce contexte, Wapusk devient plus qu’un parc national : c’est une salle de classe en plein air.

Des élèves du secondaire comme des étudiants universitaires viennent s’y instruire chaque année. Les élèves mènent des activités de recherche ou contribuent à celles-ci grâce à des programmes comme le Camp de leadership du parc national Wapusk, le camp du programme international de surveillance et de recherche dans l’Arctique mené par des élèves (ISAMR) et les rangers juniors canadiens. Des étudiants des cycles supérieurs s’y rendent pour mener des recherches de classe mondiale dans le cadre de leurs thèses de maîtrise ou de doctorat.

Entre les cours offerts sur le terrain, par exemple un nouveau cours (en 2014) sur le réseau trophique du renard arctique donné conjointement par Jim Roth, de l’Université du Manitoba, et par Parcs Canada, et les projets facilités aux camps de recherche Nester One et Nestor 2, les possibilités d’apprentissage par l’action sont nombreuses au parc national Wapusk.

Cet apprentissage ne bénéficie d’ailleurs pas seulement aux élèves, mais aussi à Parcs Canada. Notre mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur les trésors nationaux comme le parc national Wapusk. Lorsque des gens parlent de ce qu’ils ont appris sur le parc, il est plus facile pour nos employés d’expliquer l’importance de protéger cet endroit spécial pour les prochaines générations.

Les étudiants aident aussi Parcs Canada à faire connaître et comprendre le parc d’un bout à l’autre du pays et même à l’étranger. Les élèves qui ont eu l’occasion de passer du temps au parc national Wapusk en deviennent souvent les ambassadeurs au sein de leurs collectivités. Les gens qui ne peuvent se rendre au parc peuvent le découvrir grâce au site Web de Parcs Canada (www.pc.gc.ca) et à des programmes de diffusion externe organisés ailleurs au pays, par exemple l’exposition Périple à Churchill organisée au zoo du parc Assiniboine, à Winnipeg.

Ce numéro des Échos de Wapusk met en vedette des récits et des réflexions d’étudiants, de même que les différents types d’apprentissage qui ont lieu dans cette salle de classe en plein air. Prenez le temps de lire ces récits sur l’apprentissage au parc national Wapusk... Vous pourriez vous instruire vous aussi!