Wapusk National Park is located where the boreal forest transitions to the Arctic tundra. Due to this meeting of ecosystems, both boreal and sub-arctic species are found in Wapusk.

A great example of this is range crossover is between the red and arctic fox species.

The red fox (Vulpes vulpes), a more southerly species and adapted for warmer climates, seems to have expanded its range to the north. The red fox encounters and competes with the Arctic fox (Vulpes lagopus), its smaller, cold-climate-adapted cousin.

The red fox is larger and heavier, with a longer snout and ears than its arctic counterpart. While both species have a varied diet and will eat almost anything (rodents, berries, geese, eggs, carrion) the red fox is a generalist, meaning that it can tolerate a wider range of environmental conditions.

The Arctic fox, on the other hand, is highly specialized. It is adapted for high winds and low temperatures. It has a very thick winter coat and its smaller ears and nose allow it to conserve body heat during the harsh winters by minimizing wind exposure.

As the climate in the region warms, the red fox appears to be becoming more abundant in Wapusk and so may push the Arctic fox from the southern edges of its current range.

Here we have pictured arctic and red foxes caught on remote cameras during the winter of 2016-17.

Le parc national (PN) Wapusk se situe à la limite de la forêt boréale et de la toundra arctique. À cause de la rencontre de ces écosystèmes, des espèces boréales et subarctiques se trouvent dans le PN Wapusk.

Un excellent exemple de cette situation est le chevauchement des aires de répartition du renard roux et du renard arctique.

Le renard roux (Vulpes vulpes), espèce plus méridionale et mieux adaptée à un climat plus chaud, semble avoir étendu son aire de répartition vers le Nord. Le renard roux rencontre le renard arctique (Vulpes lagopus), son cousin de plus petite taille et adapté à un climat froid et est en concurrence avec ce dernier.

Le renard roux est plus grand et plus costaud que son cousin arctique, et possède un museau et des oreilles plus allongés. Les deux espèces ont une alimentation diversifiée et sont omnivores (rongeurs, baies, oies, œufs, charogne), mais le renard roux est un généraliste, ce qui signifie qu’il peut tolérer une large gamme de conditions environnementales.

Par contre, le renard arctique est très spécialisé. Il est adapté aux vents violents et aux basses températures. Son pelage d’hiver très épais et ses oreilles très courtes lui permettent de conserver sa chaleur corporelle durant les hivers rigoureux, en minimisant l’exposition au vent.

Avec le réchauffement climatique de la région, le renard roux semble devenir plus abondant dans le PN Wapusk, et pourrait donc chasser le renard arctique de la limite sud de son aire de répartition actuelle.

Nous avons saisi ces images du renard arctique et du renard roux au moyen d’une caméra actionnée par le mouvement, au cours de l’hiver 2016-2017.