Wapusk National Park is famous for its high concentration of polar bear maternity dens. However, not many people realize that these polar bears also share their turf with two other bear species - grizzly bears and black bears. This makes Wapusk the only park where it’s possible to see all three species of North American bears!

The polar bear (Ursus maritimus) is the largest living species of bear in the world. Since trail cameras were set out in Wapusk in 2011, they have captured over 350 visits by polar bears at three field camps in every month of the year except May. Find out more about this iconic species : Polar bears.

Grizzly bears (Ursus arctos) were once thought to be extinct in Manitoba but have been observed in Wapusk since the mid-1990s. Interestingly, the remote cameras have documented a grizzly bear passing by one of the camps within Wapusk on nearly the exact same date each spring three years in a row. The timing suggests that this individual bear might be denning nearby. All sightings have been of single bears, with no cubs.

The smallest of the three species, the black bear (Ursus americanus), has also been captured on remote cameras in the park. Black bears are true omnivores (they eat everything) and have the widest range distribution of any of the bears in North America. They typically inhabit forests but have been observed at camps far out on the tundra in Wapusk. Its name is rather misleading, as black bears can be a variety of colour shades: black, blond, and even cinnamon.

Le parc national Wapusk est célèbre pour sa forte concentration de tanières de mise bas d’ourses polaires. Toutefois, peu de gens savent que ces ours polaires partagent leur territoire avec deux autres espèces d’ours : les grizzlis et les ours noirs. Par conséquent, Wapusk est le seul parc national où il est possible d’observer les trois espèces d’ours de l’Amérique du Nord!

L’ours polaire (Ursus maritimus) est la plus grosse espèce vivante d’ours au monde. Depuis leur installation le long des sentiers dans le parc national Wapusk en 2011, les appareils ont photographié plus de 350 visites d’ours polaires par mois aux trois camps, à l’exception du mois de mai. Renseignez-vous sur cette espèce emblématique : Ours polaire.

On croyait qu’il n’y avait plus de grizzlis (Ursus arctos) au Manitoba; cependant, on en a observé quelques-uns à Wapusk depuis le milieu des années 1990. Fait intéressant, grâce aux appareils photo actionnés par le mouvement, on a pu constater qu’un grizzli était passé près de l’un des camps du parc national Wapusk presque à la même date tous les printemps trois années de suite. Ce moment de l’année laisse supposer que ce grizzli particulier pourrait avoir une tanière à proximité. On n’a observé que des ours seuls, sans oursons.

Des images de la plus petite des trois espèces, l’ours noir (Ursus americanus), ont également été prises par les appareils actionnés par le mouvement dans le parc. Les ours noirs sont de véritables omnivores (ils mangent de tout) et ont l’aire de distribution la plus étendue de tous les ours en Amérique du Nord. Ils vivent habituellement dans les forêts, mais on les a observés à des camps éloignés dans la toundra du parc national Wapusk. Leur nom est plutôt trompeur puisque leur pelage peut être de diverses couleurs : noir, blond et cannelle.