Boating and Paddling

Protecting park waters

Help keep zebra mussels out of the park. Get your mandatory inspection before launching your motorboat, canoe, kayak, paddleboard, and inflatables into the water. Inspections are free and only take 15-30 minutes. See below for inspection station hours.

Riding Mountain National Park has taken significant steps to prevent aquatic invasive species (AIS) such as zebra mussels from entering waterways in the park. Unfortunately, in the fall of 2017, Whirlpool Lake tested positive for zebra mussel eDNA (environmental DNA). It is important to note that live zebra mussels have not been found in Riding Mountain National Park and eDNA does not confirm a viable population. Whirlpool Lake will remain closed until further notice. Parks Canada staff will continue to monitor and test park waters regularly. 

Due to the increased risk, our AIS prevention program is changing for the 2018 season.

Boating
Kayaking

What do I need to know about watercraft inspections and permits?

MANDATORY INSPECTIONS are required for all watercraft, including motorboats, canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, and inflatables entering RMNP waters. This includes Clear Lake, South Lake, and all outlying lakes (Deep Lake, Lake Audy, Moon Lake & Lake Katherine) as well as all streams and rivers. The service is free of charge and watercraft passing inspection will receive a permit from Parks Canada. See spring inspection schedule below.

  • Inspections are available seven days a week at the Clear Lake Boat Cove and on weekends at the East End boat launch (at the Clear Lake Golf Course entrance). See schedule below.
  • During the shoulder season, you can schedule inspections in advance by calling Parks Canada at (204) 848-7275.
  • Inspections can take anywhere from 15-30 minutes depending on the size of your boat. If decontamination is necessary, you will have to make an appointment and the decontamination process can take 30-60 minutes. Factor this time into your trip planning.
  • Parks Canada will not be issuing permits for the entire 2018 season as has been done in the past. Permits will be valid for a maximum of 7 days.
  • When you launch your watercraft (motorboat, canoe, kayak, paddleboard, and inflatables) outside of RMNP, your permit becomes invalid. In order to re-enter park waters, re-inspection is mandatory.
  • Park Wardens will be monitoring watercraft and doing checks to ensure that watercraft operators have received inspections and possess valid permits. Non-compliant operators face a maximum fine of $100,000.

Inspection Hours: summer and fall hours coming soon

Park staff inspecting watercraft

Clear Lake Boat Cove

June 16 to September 3, 2018

7 days a week: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.


East End Boat Launch

June 22 to September 3, 2018

Friday – Sunday 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.


Decontamination Station Available:

7 days a week: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

NEW This year to the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program

Banning of leeches as fishing bait

Due to the increased risk of spreading microscopic zebra mussel veligers (larvae) via natural bait, the use and possession of leeches is prohibited. Parks Canada encourages fishers to confine the use of tackle to individual lakes and to ensure that all fishing gear is clean and dry before entering park waters. 

Seal system for motorboats leaving Clear Lake

Boats will be sealed to their boat trailer upon exiting Clear Lake with a security seal. If, upon return, the boat is still sealed to the trailer, an inspector will grant you access to the lake without re-inspection. If the seal is broken, re-inspection is mandatory. Permits will not be valid for the entire 2018 season. Re-inspection is mandatory if your motorboat is not sealed to the boat trailer.

Sticker system for canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards staying in RMNP

Resident paddlers will be issued a sticker for their non-motorized watercraft and a permit that will only remain valid if their canoe/kayak/paddleboard remains within the park boundary. If removed from the park, the sticker becomes invalid and re-inspection is mandatory. 

Permit system for canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards visiting RMNP

Visitors bringing in non-motorized watercraft will be issued a permit that will only remain valid for the duration of their stay. Re-inspection for return trips is mandatory.

Motonautisme et pagayer

Protéger les eaux du parc

Aidez-nous à empêcher la propagation de la moule zébrée dans le parc. Faites faire l’inspection obligatoire de votre embarcation à moteur, canot, kayak et planche à pagaie et de vos objets gonflables avant de les mettre à l’eau. Les inspections sont gratuites et ne prennent que de 15 à 30 minutes. Les heures d’ouverture des stations d’inspection sont indiquées ci-dessous.

Le personnel du parc national du Mont-Riding a pris des mesures importantes afin de prévenir l’entrée d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes, comme la moule zébrée, dans les voies navigables du parc. Malheureusement, à l’automne2017, des analyses ont révélé la présence de l’ADN environnemental de la moule zébrée dans le lac Whirlpool. Il importe toutefois de souligner qu’aucune moule zébrée vivante n’a été trouvée dans le parc national du Mont-Riding et que l’ADN environnemental ne confirme pas la présence d’une population viable. Le lac Whirlpool est ouvert pour l’hiver. Le personnel de Parcs Canada continuera de surveiller et de tester les eaux du parc régulièrement.

En raison des risques accrus liés aux des espèces aquatiques envahissantes, nous avons modifié notre programme de prévention pour la saison 2018.  

Boating
Kayaking

 

Que dois-je savoir à propos de l’inspection des embarcations et des permis?

Les INSPECTIONS sont OBLIGATOIRES pour toutes les embarcations (bateaux à moteur, canots, kayaks, planches à pagaie) et tous les objets gonflables qui entrent dans les eaux du parc national du Mont-Riding. Cela comprend lac Clear, lac South, et les les lacs en périphérie (lac Deep, lac Audy, lac Moon et lac Katherine) ainsi que l’ensemble des rivières et des ruisseaux. Le service est fourni gratuitement, et un permis est délivré par Parcs Canada pour les embarcations qui passent l’inspection. L’horaire des inspections se trouve ci-dessous.

  • Les inspections seront réalisées tous les jours à l’anse Boat du lac Clear et les fins de semaine à la rampe de mise à l’eau de l’extrémité est (à l’entrée du terrain de golf Clear Lake). Voir l’horaire ci-dessous. 
  • Pendant la saison intermédiaire, vous pouvez prendre rendez-vous pour faire faire l’inspection en appelant au 204-848-7275.
  • Une inspection peut prendre de 15 à 30 minutes selon la taille de votre bateau. Si on estime qu’il faut décontaminer votre embarcation, vous devrez prendre rendez-vous et prévoir de 30 à 60 minutes pour la décontamination. Prévoyez ce temps supplémentaire lorsque vous planifierez votre voyage.
  • L’Agence Parcs Canada ne délivrera de permis pour la saison 2018 entière comme elle l’a fait auparavant. Les permis seront valides pour un maximum de 7 jours.
  • Lorsque vous lancez votre embarcation (bateau à moteur, canot, kayak et planche à pagaie) à l’extérieur du PNMR, le permis devient invalide. Afin de la remettre à l’eau dans le parc, elle devra obligatoirement faire l’objet d’une nouvelle inspection.
  • Les gardes de parc surveilleront les eaux du parc; ils feront des vérifications pour s’assurer que tous les conducteurs et pagayeurs ont fait faire une inspection et possèdent les permis valides. Les contrevenants s’exposent à une amende maximale de 100 000 $. 

Horaire des inspections : automne 2018

Park staff inspecting watercraft

Anse-aux-bateaux du lac Clear 

Du lundi au jeudi : 8 h à 16 h Réservez une inspection en composant le 204-396-4579

Inspecteurs sur place à la Anse-aux-bateaux
vendredi : 12 h à 20 h
samedi : 8 h à 20 h
dimanche : 8 h à 16 h

Rampe de mise à l’eau de la pointe Est du lac Clear

Fermé pour la saison

Station d'inspection Entrée Nord

Fermé pour la saison

Station de décontamination 

Tout les jours :9 h à 16 h

NOUVEAU Cette année dans le cadre du programme de prévention des espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Interdiction d’utiliser des sangsues comme appât.

En raison du risque accru de propagation des microscopiques véligères (larves de la moule zébrée) par les appâts naturels, l’utilisation et la possession de sangsues sont interdites. Parcs Canada encourage les pêcheurs à restreindre l’usage de leur attirail à un lac en particulier et à s’assurer que leur équipement de pêche est bien nettoyé et séché avant d’entrer dans les eaux du parc. 

Système d’attaches pour les embarcations à moteur qui quittent le lac Clear.

On fixera une attache qui relie le bateau et la remorque à la sortie du lac Clear. Si, au retour, l’attache est intacte, un inspecteur vous accordera l’accès au lac sans que l’embarcation fasse l’objet d’une nouvelle inspection. Les permis ne seront pas valides pour toute la saison 2018. Une nouvelle inspection est obligatoire si l’attache qui relie votre embarcation à moteur et la remorque n’est pas intacte.

Système d’autocollants pour les canots, kayaks et planches à pagaie qui restent dans le parc national du Mont-Riding.

Les pagayeurs-résidents recevront un autocollant pour leur embarcation non motorisée ainsi qu’un permis qui demeurera valide tant que leur canot, kayak ou planche à pagaie restera dans les limites du parc. Si l’embarcation sort du parc, l’autocollant n’est plus valide et l’embarcation devra obligatoirement faire l’objet d’une autre inspection au retour. 

Système de permis pour les canots, kayaks et planches à pagaie des visiteurs du parc national du Mont-Riding.

Les visiteurs qui apportent leur embarcation non motorisée recevront un permis qui demeurera valide pendant leur séjour. L’embarcation doit obligatoirement faire l’objet d’une nouvelle inspection à chaque séjour.