Following is some information specific to Riding Mountain National Park:

What is open in Riding Mountain National Park?

Being in nature provides important physical and mental health benefits. Going outdoors is a great way to maintain health and wellness even during the pandemic, so long as one follows physical distancing practices. Parks Canada is implementing a gradual opening at Riding Mountain National Park. Access and services include day use of trails, grounds, waterways and other outdoor settings.

The Wasagaming Campground in Riding Mountain National Park will open for overnight camping on June 22, 2020. Reservations for select areas of Wasagaming campground will reopen late June to early July. Group activities and public events remain prohibited until further notice

The following services and facilities in the park are open:

  • Entry Gates open for information and to purchase park passes and fishing licences 
  • Trails – some trails are not accessible due to road closures or maintenance (see Trail Condition report)
  • Day use areas, including outlying campgrounds day use areas: picnic areas, kitchen shelters, beaches, and pit privies. Day use is permitted at: Moon Lake, Lake Audy, Whirlpool Lake, and Deep Lake.
    • Camping: Starting June 22, 2020, Riding Mountain National Park will begin to offer limited camping services.
    • Wasagaming campground will open to visitors with existing reservations. New reservations for select areas of the campground will reopen June 27, 2020.
    • Backcountry camping resumes June 22. New Reservations can be made as of June 27, 2020.
    • Self-registration camping will resume at the following outlying campgrounds: Moon Lake, Deep Lake and Whirlpool Lake. Day use at Lake Audy remains open; overnight camping will remain closed until further notice.
    • Camp Kippichewin will open on June 22, 2020. Camp Ma-Ma-O-Pee will remain closed for the 2020 season
    • Washroom and shower facilities located in open campgrounds will be available for use
    •  

      All oTENTiks, and other roofed accommodations at the Wasagaming Campground remain closed until further notice. The oTENTiks at Moon Lake and Lake Audy will remain closed for the season.

  • Bison enclosure

  • Recreational boating is allowed on park waters with a Parks Canada issued permit:
    • To obtain a seasonal permit, you must complete the Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Seasonal Permit Holder Course and undergo a mandatory watercraft inspection.
    • To obtain a temporary permit, you do not need to complete the AIS Seasonal Permit Holder Course, but you must undergo a mandatory watercraft inspection.
    For more detailed information on watercraft permits and inspections, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat
  • Shore fishing and fishing from watercrafts is permitted with a valid fishing licence. Riding Mountain National Park fishing licences (differs from a provincial licence) are now available at park entry gates. For more information about where else you can buy a fishing licence, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass#5 

    Please note: Before watercrafts are permitted in park waters for fishing or other leisure activity, visitors must undergo a mandatory watercraft inspection. A seasonal permit can be obtained by attending the AIS Seasonal Permit Holder Course. Temporary permits are also available and do not require the orientation session. For more information on watercraft permits and inspections, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat
  • Townsite of Wasagaming open:
    • access to businesses remains open
    • green spaces
    • Main beach and pier
    • parking lots
    • washrooms
    • trails
    • kitchen shelters
    • playground
    • The Clear Lake cabin area shower building and kitchen shelters, washrooms will gradually reopen
Will trails in Riding Mountain National Park be open?

Most of the trails in RMNP will be open to the public on June 1, 2020. Certain trails will not be accessible due to temporary road closures or trail maintenance, please see the trail condition report for more information.

Those who choose to access trails must obey all signage and closures. They must follow the advice of public health experts on things like hand hygiene and physical distancing. They must also be conservative in their choices to avoid injury and minimize any need for emergency response. They must leave no trace and remove their garbage.

Is recreational boating allowed?

Yes. As of June 12, 2020 boating is allowed on park waters. Visitors who wish to bring watercrafts into park waters for the season must first complete the virtual AIS Seasonal Permit Holder Course. Upon completion of the course, mandatory inspections of watercrafts can then be booked with one of our inspectors by calling (204) 396-4579.

Please note: Temporary permits are also available and do not require the orientation session.

Mandatory inspections are required for motorboats, canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, and all other watercraft entering park waters. This includes Clear Lake, South Lake, and all outlying lakes (Deep Lake, Moon Lake, Whirlpool Lake, Lake Katherine & Grayling Lake) as well as all streams and rivers. The service is free of charge and watercrafts passing inspection will receive a permit from Parks Canada. For more information on the AIS program and permits, including temporary permits, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat

Is recreational fishing allowed?

Yes. Shore fishing and fishing from watercrafts is permitted in park waters with a valid fishing license for Riding Mountain National Park (differs from a provincial fishing licence). For more information about where to buy a fishing licence, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass#5

Please note: Before watercrafts are permitted in park waters for fishing or other leisure activity, visitors must undergo a mandatory watercraft inspection. Seasonal permits are available upon completion of the virtual aquatic invasive species orientation session. Short-term permits are also available and do not require the orientation session. For more information on watercraft permits and inspections, visit: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat

What about activities like camping and events?

Wasagaming Campground will open for overnight camping starting on June 22, 2020. Reservations for select areas of Wasagaming campground will reopen late June to early July. New reservations will not be available for areas of the campground currently booked to near-capacity until September 6, 2020. We will be operating at normal capacity but will be holding a few campsites aside in order to allow Parks Canada staff to maintain recommended hygiene measures and ensure physical distancing is followed by visitors and staff within the campground.

All backcountry campgrounds closed for overnight use until June 22 where 10 of the 15 backcountry sites will be available for the season; day use is permitted.

All oTENTiks, and other roofed accommodations remain closed until July 15, 2020, while Parks Canada assesses whether and how these services might resume. All large events are suspended until further notice.

Will Parks Canada be taking any precautions at your places such as additional cleaning in washrooms?

The health and safety of visitors, employees, and all Canadians is of the utmost importance and Parks Canada will be following the advice of public health authorities and implementing measures for cleaning, hygiene, and physical distancing at all places open for visitation. Only those places where measures can be implemented to minimize healthy and safety risks will be open to the public. Regular, thorough cleaning will be completed daily using cleaning products approved by Health Canada. In order to maintain physical distancing, washrooms will be closed to visitors while being cleaned.

What safety measures should visitors take when they visit a Parks Canada place at this time?

Parks Canada is asking visitors to respect two-meter physical distancing and enhanced hygiene requirements at Parks Canada places as we re-open.

To ensure physical distancing is possible, visitors are asked to avoid busy areas. Explore less busy parks and sites in your region or visit at times that are less popular.

Those who choose to visit Parks Canada places must obey all signage and closures. Parks Canada is asking visitors to be conservative in their choices to avoid injury and minimize any need for emergency response.

Visitors should leave no trace and dispose of it by using appropriate garbage containers or take their waste home.

Will you be putting limits on the number of people/vehicles that can visit Parks Canada places?

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada will continue to monitor the situation and put in place appropriate measures to help Canadians follow the advice of public health experts and to practice physical distancing and hygiene measures, limit public gatherings, as well as respect travel restrictions and closures.

Will people be refunded for cancelled reservations or activities?

All existing reservations for dates between now and June 21, 2020, will be cancelled and refunded in full. You do not need to cancel your reservation. Your refund will happen automatically.

If you have a reservation after June 21, 2020, you do not need to cancel this reservation. You are encouraged to check back closer to your arrival regarding cancellations.

Please visit pc.gc.ca frequently for information and updates.

Will people who have had reservations cancelled this year get priority booking for next year?

To support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19 and reduce risks to Canadians, visitors and employees, any reservations that are cancelled due to COVID-19 related closures will be automatically and fully refunded.

Parks Canada continues to monitor the situation and will provide information on reservations for 2021 in due course. Unfortunately, any cancelled reservations in 2020 will not give the reservation holder priority for reservations in 2021. 

Will Parks Canada be refunding people with passes since they won’t be able to use their passes for potentially a number of months?

For current pass holders, Parks Canada will automatically extend the end date of Annual Park specific passes and Parks Canada Discovery Passes by an additional four months. This extension accounts for Parks Canada’s suspension of visitor services within the park in our efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19.

Do I need a park pass to enter the park?

Yes, a valid park pass is required to enter all national parks. For further information on park passes, including fees and where to purchase, visit https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass

Where can I get updates on closures?

Please visit Parks Canada frequently for information and updates.


Stay informed

For the most up to date information, visit:

Voici quelques renseignements en ce qui concerne le parc national du Mont-Riding :

Qu'est-ce qui est ouvert dans le parc national du Mont-Riding?

Le contact avec la nature procure d’importants bienfaits pour la santé physique et la santé mentale. Profiter du plein air est un excellent moyen de maintenir la santé et le bien-être, même pendant la pandémie, à condition de respecter les pratiques de distanciation physique.

Parcs Canada commencera à ouvrir progressivement et en toute sécurité certains emplacements extérieurs dans le parc national du Mont-Riding à partir du 1er juin. Il peut s’agir de l’accès en véhicule et de certaines aires de stationnement, de l’utilisation de certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts.

Toutes les installations de camping resteront fermées au moins jusqu’au 21 juin 2020, pendant que Parcs Canada évalue si et comment ces services pourraient reprendre. Tous les grands événements sont suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Les installations et services suivants dans le parc sont ouverts :

  • Postes d’entrée ouverts uniquement pour les demandes de renseignements.
  • Sentiers – Certains sentiers ne sont pas accessibles en raison de la fermeture de la route 19 ou de travaux d’entretien (consultez le rapport sur l’état des sentiers).
  • Aires de fréquentation diurne, y compris celles situées dans les terrains de camping périphériques : aires de pique-nique, abris-cuisine, plages et toilettes sèches. Il est toutefois possible d’accéder aux endroits suivants de jour : lac Moon, lac Audy, lac Whirlpool, et lac Deep.
  • Le terrain de camping de Wasagaming sera ouvert aux visiteurs qui ont déjà une réservation. Il sera possible de faire une nouvelle réservation dans certains secteurs du terrain de camping à partir du 27 juin 2020.
  • Le camping dans l’arrière-pays reprend à partir du 22 juin. Les réservations seront acceptées à compter du 27 juin 2020.
  • L’auto-inscription pour le camping reprendra aux terrains périphériques du lac Moon, du lac Deep et du lac Whirlpool. La fréquentation diurne au lac Audy est possible; toutefois, le terrain de camping est fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre.
  • Le camp Kippichewin ouvrira le 22 juin 2020. Le camp Ma-Ma-O-Pee restera fermé pour la saison 2020.
  • Les visiteurs pourront utiliser les installations sanitaires (toilettes et douches) situées dans les terrains de camping qui sont ouverts.

Les oTENTiks et les unités d’hébergement à toit rigide du terrain de camping de Wasagaming resteront fermées jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Les oTENTiks aux terrains de camping du lac Moon et du lac Audy sont fermées pour la saison.

  • L’enclos des bisons

  • La navigation de plaisance est autorisée sur les plans d’eau du parc à condition d’avoir un permis délivré par Parcs Canada :

    Pour en savoir plus sur les inspections et les permis de navigation, visitez la page https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat.

  • La pêche à partir du rivage ou d’une embarcation est autorisée dans les eaux du parc. Les permis de pêche du parc national du Mont-Riding (il ne s’agit pas d’un permis provincial) sont maintenant disponibles aux postes d'entrée du parc. Pour plus de renseignements sur les endroits où acheter un permis de pêche ailleurs, visitez la page :  https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass

Veuillez prendre note qu’avant de pouvoir naviguer sur les eaux du parc pour la pêche ou une autre activité récréative, les visiteurs doivent soumettre leur embarcation à une inspection obligatoire. Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir un permis saisonnier après avoir suivi la Séance d’orientation virtuelle pour les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Ils peuvent aussi obtenir un permis à la semaine sans avoir à suivre la séance d’orientation. Pour en savoir plus sur les inspections et les permis de navigation, visitez la page https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat.

  • Services aux visiteurs offerts dans le lotissement urbain de Wasagaming :
    • Accès aux entreprises toujours permis
    • Espaces verts
    • Quai et plage principale
    • Stationnements
    • Toilettes
    • Sentiers
    • Abris-cuisine
    • Terrain de jeux
    • Le bâtiment des douches, les abris-cuisine et les toilettes situés dans la zone de cabines du lac Clear rouvriront graduellement.

Pour plus d'informations sur la poursuite des fermetures, consultez le site : COVID-19 et votre visite au parc national du Mont-Riding

Les sentiers seront-ils ouverts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding?

La majorité des sentiers du parc national du Mont Riding seront accessibles au public à compter du 1er juin 2020. Certains sentiers ne seront pas accessibles en raison de fermetures de route temporaires et de travaux d’entretien dans les sentiers. Veuillez consulter le rapport sur l’état des sentiers pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Ceux qui choisiront d’emprunter les sentiers ouverts devront respecter tous les panneaux de signalisation et toutes les fermetures. Ils devront suivre les conseils des experts de la santé publique, notamment en matière d’hygiène des mains et de distanciation physique. Ils devront aussi se montrer prudents dans leurs choix afin d’éviter les blessures et de réduire au minimum la nécessité d’une intervention d’urgence. De plus, ils ne devront laisser aucune trace de leur passage et devront ramasser leurs déchets.

La navigation de plaisance est-elle autorisée?

Oui. À compter du 12 juin 2020, la navigation de plaisance est autorisée sur les plans d’eau du parc. Les visiteurs qui souhaitent apporter une embarcation dans le parc pour toute la saison doivent d’abord suivre la Séance d’orientation virtuelle sur les permis saisonniers pour les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Lorsqu’ils ont suivi la séance d’orientation, les visiteurs peuvent prendre rendez-vous pour l’inspection obligatoire de l’embarcation en communiquant avec l’un des inspecteurs au 204 396 4579.

Veuillez noter que les visiteurs peuvent aussi obtenir un permis à la semaine sans avoir à suivre la séance d’orientation.

Il est obligatoire de faire inspecter les bateaux à moteur, les canots, les kayaks, les planches à pagaie et toutes les autres embarcations qui seront mises à l’eau dans le parc, y compris aux lacs Clear et South, dans la plupart des lacs en périphérie (lacs Deep, Moon, Whirlpool, Audy, Katherine et Grayling), ainsi que dans l’ensemble des ruisseaux et rivières. Le service est gratuit, et les embarcations qui réussissent l’inspection recevront un permis de Parcs Canada. Pour en savoir plus sur le programme des espèces aquatiques envahissantes et les permis, notamment les permis à court terme, visitez la page https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat.

La pêche récréative est-elle permise?

Oui. La pêche à partir du rivage ou d’une embarcation est autorisée dans les eaux du parc avec un permis de pêche en règle du parc national du Mont-Riding (il ne s’agit pas d’un permis provincial). Les permis de pêche sont maintenant disponibles aux postes d'entrée du parc. Pour plus de renseignements sur les endroits où acheter un permis de pêche ailleurs, visitez la page : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass.

Veuillez prendre note qu’avant de pouvoir naviguer sur les eaux du parc pour la pêche ou une autre activité récréative, les visiteurs doivent soumettre leur embarcation à une inspection obligatoire. Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir un permis saisonnier après avoir suivi la Séance d’orientation virtuelle pour les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Ils peuvent aussi obtenir un permis à la semaine sans avoir à suivre la séance d’orientation. Pour en savoir plus sur les inspections et les permis de navigation, visitez la page https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/moto-boat.

Qu’en est-il des activités comme le camping et les événements?

Le terrain de camping de Wasagaming du parc national du Mont-Riding ouvrira pour la nuit à compter du 22 juin 2020. En ce qui concerne certains secteurs de ce camping, les réservations seront possibles à partir de la fin juin ou du début juillet. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics demeurent interdits jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Tous les terrains de camping de l’arrière-pays sont fermés pour la nuit jusqu’au 22 juin; par la suite, 10 des 15 emplacements pourront accueillir des campeurs durant la saison. L’utilisation diurne est permise.

Toutes les tentes oTENTik et autres installations d’hébergement avec toit ne pourront être utilisées avant le 15 juillet 2020. Le terrain de camping Wasagaming du parc national du Mont Riding sera ouvert pour la nuit à compter du 22 juin 2020. Des réservations pour certains secteurs de ce terrain de camping pourront être faites à compter de la fin juin ou du début juillet. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics y demeurent toutefois interdits jusqu’à nouvel ordre, jusqu’à ce que Parcs Canada ait déterminé quand et comment ces activités pourraient reprendre. Tous les grands événements sont également suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

L’Agence Parcs Canada prendra-t-elle des précautions dans ses sites, par exemple un nettoyage supplémentaire dans les toilettes?

La santé et la sécurité des visiteurs, des employés et de tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont de la plus haute importance et Parcs Canada suivra les conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique et mettra en place des mesures de nettoyage, d’hygiène et de distanciation physique dans tous les lieux ouverts aux visiteurs. Seuls les lieux où des mesures peuvent être mises en œuvre pour minimiser les risques pour la santé et la sécurité seront ouverts au public. Un nettoyage régulier et approfondi sera effectué quotidiennement à l'aide de produits de nettoyage approuvés par Santé Canada.Afin de respecter l’éloignement physique, les toilettes seront fermées aux visiteurs pendant le nettoyage.

En ce moment, quelles mesures de sécurité les visiteurs devraient-ils prendre lorsqu’ils visitent un site de Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada demande aux visiteurs de respecter la distanciation physique de deux mètres et les exigences renforcées en matière d’hygiène dans les sites de Parcs Canada lors de la réouverture.

Afin de s’assurer que la distanciation physique est possible, on demande aux visiteurs d’éviter les secteurs occupés. Explorez des parcs et des lieux moins occupés de votre région ou visitez lors de périodes moins achalandées.

Quiconque choisit de visiter un site de Parcs Canada doit respecter toute la signalisation ainsi que les fermetures. Parcs Canada demande aux visiteurs de faire des choix prudents afin d’éviter les blessures et de réduire au minimum les exigences imposées aux équipes de recherche et sauvetage.

Les visiteurs ne doivent laisser aucune trace et utiliser les contenants à ordures appropriés ou rapporter leurs déchets avec eux.

Allez-vous limiter le nombre de personnes ou de véhicules qui pourront avoir accès aux sites de Parcs Canada?

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada sont de la plus haute importance pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada continuera de suivre la situation et mettra en place des mesures appropriées pour aider la population canadienne à suivre les conseils des experts de la santé publique, à appliquer les mesures de distanciation physique et d’hygiène, à limiter les rassemblements publics et à respecter les restrictions de voyage et les fermetures.

Les visiteurs ne doivent pas s’attendre à vivre le genre d’expériences qu’ils ont connues par le passé. Parcs Canada s’adapte à la situation de la COVID-19, et l’accès des visiteurs de même que les services qui leur sont offerts seront limités.

Les personnes qui annulent des réservations ou des activités seront-elles remboursées?

Les réservations déjà prises d’ici au 21 juin 2020 seront annulées et remboursées intégralement. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’annuler votre réservation. Vous serez remboursé automatiquement.

Si vous avez une réservation après le 21 juin 2020, vous n’avez pas à l’annuler. Nous vous encourageons à vérifier à nouveau à l’approche de votre date d’arrivée s’il a eu des annulations.

Veuillez noter qu’une annonce concernant le camping, les activités de groupe et les événements publics dans les sites de Parcs Canada sera faite ultérieurement. Veuillez consulter fréquemment le site pc.gc.ca pour plus d’information et des mises à jour à ce sujet.

Les personnes dont les réservations ont été annulées cette année auront-elles la priorité pour l’année prochaine?

Pour soutenir les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et à réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes, les visiteurs et les employés, toute réservation annulée en raison de fermetures liées à la COVID-19 sera automatiquement et entièrement remboursée.

Parcs Canada continue à suivre la situation et fournira des renseignements sur les réservations en vue de 2021 en temps et lieu. Malheureusement, les personnes dont la réservation a été annulée en 2020 n’auront pas un droit de priorité pour les réservations en 2021. 

Parcs Canada remboursera-t-il les détenteurs de laissez-passer, puisqu’ils n’ont pas pu utiliser leur laissez-passer pendant plusieurs mois?

Pour les détenteurs actuels d’un laissez-passer, Parcs Canada repoussera automatiquement de quatre mois la date d’expiration des laissez-passer annuels pour un parc en particulier. Ce report vise à compenser la suspension par l’Agence des services aux visiteurs dans le parc afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID-19.

Ai-je besoin d’un laissez-passer pour entrer dans le parc?

Oui. Il faut un laissez-passer en règle pour entrer dans tous les parcs nationaux. Pour en savoir plus sur les laissez-passer, notamment les droits à payer et les points de vente, visitez la page https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/mb/riding/visit/pass.

Où puis-je obtenir des informations sur les fermetures?

Veuillez consulter fréquemment le site Parcs Canada pour obtenir des informations et des mises à jour.


Restez informé

Pour les informations les plus récentes, visitez :