Too often we search for that perfect picture instead of letting the perfect picture come to us. This guide is not about how to take the perfect picture instead it is to ensure that you can enjoy photography while keeping yourself and animals safe.

Note: All photos were taken from safe distances or from vehicles where extreme caution was taken in all instances.

Five things to do while exploring:

  1. Take photos from a safe place and distance: We all dream of taking that close-up photo that we see in magazines and the truth is that those photos are taken from great distances with very expensive lenses. Even the professionals use great caution and keep their distance when dealing with wildlife. While driving, remain in your vehicle should you come across any animal!
  2. Have patience: Whether you are outside or in a vehicle, if you stay still and wait you will get that perfect shot. Animals such as moose and deer are less likely to perceive you as a threat if you remain quiet and will continue on doing what they do best!
  3. Be quiet and listen: When you are outside exploring, you do not want to scare away your subjects. Most wildlife can hear from great distances and something as simple as kicking some loose gravel can send animals running! Exercise caution and DO make noise if you believe a dangerous situation is forthcoming. Safety first!
  4. Optimum timing and light: Any photographer will tell you that pictures are best taken an hour after dawn and an hour before dusk. The same is true for seeing wildlife! Most animals feed in the early morning or late in the evening when it is generally cooler outside. Plan your trip accordingly to get those awesome shots!
  5. Be alert: You never know when an animal will appear out of the woods or in a ditch. Do a little research on animal behaviour before heading out to better prepare yourself for a wildlife encounter.
Moose calf

Five things NOT to do when you encounter an animal:

  1. DO NOT bait or feed an animal: It is illegal, and you can put yourself and others at risk. Feeding animals is very dangerous as the animal will quickly become habituated to humans, cars, or whatever it thinks will feed it. Anyone minding their own business may become targets for these animals! Do not put the lives of innocent people and animals at risk.

     

  2. DO NOT search for babies: We all love baby animals and believe it or not, their moms like them too! Not only will put yourself at risk of an attack by mom, but you may unintentionally create a scent trail for predators that will lead them straight to their next meal. If you think there are babies nearby, or find one laying in the grass, keep back and leave the area immediately. They are hidden away for protection!
  3. DO NOT approach any wild animal: You have heard it a million times before but it continues to happen. Wildlife are very unpredictable and even the gentlest creatures can be dangerous. Wildlife can attack without any warning so give them space and let them do their wildlife things! If you encounter an animal and it shows signs of aggression, IMMEDIATELY back off and give it space!
  4. DO NOT assume you can outrun any animal: That 1500 pound bison you are looking at can reach speeds up to 65km/hr in no time flat. In other words, an agitated bison at top speed can run 50 meters in roughly 3 seconds, or the amount of time it takes to open, get in, and close a car door. Depending on how agitated the animal is, even if you get into a vehicle it might not stop. This holds true for all large animals such as elk, moose and bears.
  5. DO NOT stress: If you are out exploring and come across an animal, do not be scared! First and foremost, give the animal space. Secondly, remain cool and calm to avoid spooking the animal unless you feel you are in danger, in which case it is definitely okay to make some noise. Once the animal understands you are not a threat, start snapping photos!

     

    Fox

Trop souvent, nous sommes à la recherche de la photo parfaite au lieu de la laisser venir à nous. Ce guide n’explique pas comment prendre la photo parfaite, mais il vous aidera à vous faire plaisir en prenant des photos, tout en vaillant à votre sécurité et à celle des animaux.

Remarque : Toutes les photos ont été prises à des distances sécuritaires ou depuis des véhicules, en prenant toujours les plus grandes précautions qui soient.

Cinq conseils à suivre lors de vos sorties

  1. Prenez vos photos depuis des lieux sûrs et à des distances sécuritaires : Nous rêvons tous de faire un gros plan comme on en voit dans les magazines. En réalité, ces gros plans sont pris de loin à l’aide de téléobjectifs très coûteux. Même les professionnels sont très prudents et restent à bonne distance des animaux sauvages. Lorsque vous êtes en voiture, restez à l’intérieur si vous voyez un animal, quel qu’il soit !
  2. Patience : Que vous soyez à pied ou dans un véhicule, vous pourrez faire la photo parfaite si vous restez immobile à attendre. Si vous ne bougez pas, les animaux comme les orignaux et les cerfs vous verront moins comme une menace et continueront de vaquer à leurs occupations préférées !
  3. Ne faites pas de bruit et tendez l’oreille : When you are outside exploring, you do not want to scare away your subjects. Most wildlife can hear from great distances and something as simple as kicking some loose gravel can send animals running! Exercise caution and DO make noise if you believe a dangerous situation is forthcoming. Safety first!
  4. Le moment idéal et la lumière optimale : Tous les photographes savent que les périodes idéales pour prendre des photos se situent une heure après l’aube et une heure avant le crépuscule. Ces périodes sont aussi idéales pour voir des animaux sauvages! La plupart des animaux se nourrissent tôt le matin ou tard le soir, lorsqu’il fait plus frais. Pensez y en organisant vos sorties, pour pouvoir prendre les photos parfaites !
  5. Vigilance : On ne sait jamais à quel moment un animal surgira d’un bois ou d’un fossé. Faites quelques recherches sur le comportement des animaux sauvages, afin de mieux vous préparer à une rencontre imprévue.
Moose calf

Cinq choses À NE PAS FAIRE en présence d’un animal

  1. N’APPÂTEZ PAS et ne nourrissez pas un animal : D’abord, c’est illégal. Ensuite, vous pouvez vous mettre ou mettre d’autres personnes en danger. Il est très dangereux de nourrir les animaux car ils risquent de s’habituer rapidement à la présence d’humains, de voitures ou de tout ce qu’ils associent à la nourriture. Toute personne qui se trouve à proximité peut devenir une cible pour ces animaux! Ne mettez pas en danger la vie de personnes et d’animaux qui n’ont rien demandé.
  2. NE CHERCHEZ PAS de petits : Nous adorons tous les bébés animaux, mais leurs mères aussi! Non seulement vous risquez de vous faire attaquer par la mère, mais vous pouvez sans le vouloir créer une piste odorante qui pourrait mener les prédateurs tout droit à leur prochaine proie. Si vous pensez que des bébés sont présents à proximité, ou si vous en trouvez un dans l’herbe, restez à l’écart et quittez la zone immédiatement. C’est pour se cacher et se protéger qu’ils sont là!
  3. NE VOUS APPROCHEZ PAS d’un animal sauvage : Vous avez entendu ce conseil des centaines de fois mais il y en a toujours qui ne le respectent pas. Les animaux sauvages sont tout à fait imprévisibles; même les plus dociles peuvent être dangereux. Les animaux sauvages peuvent attaquer sans prévenir, alors laissez leur toute la place dont ils ont besoin et laissez les vivre leur vie! Si vous rencontrez un animal qui se montre agressif, reculez IMMÉDIATEMENT pour lui faire de la place!
  4. NE CROYEZ PAS que vous pouvez échapper à tous les animaux en courant : Le bison de 1 500 livres que vous regardez peut atteindre la vitesse de 65 km/h presque instantanément. Autrement dit, un bison énervé en pleine vitesse peut parcourir 50 mètres en environ 3 secondes, soit le temps qu’il faut pour ouvrir la porte d’une voiture, y monter et refermer la porte. Si l’animal est très énervé, il ne s’arrêtera pas forcément, même si vous entrez dans un véhicule. Ces conseils s’appliquent à tous les grands animaux comme les wapitis, les orignaux et les ours.
  5. NE SOYEZ PAS stressé : Si vous rencontrez un animal lors d’une promenade, n’ayez pas peur! Tout d’abord, laissez lui de la place. Ensuite, restez calme pour éviter de l’effrayer, sauf si vous vous sentez en danger, auquel cas vous pouvez faire du bruit. Lorsque l’animal a compris que vous n’êtes pas une menace, vous pouvez commencer à prendre des photos!

     

    Fox