Partnering with Riding Mountain National Park

By working in collaboration with respected organizations who share our values, Parks Canada is able to better deliver its promise to Canadians by continuing to be a world leader in the protection and presentation of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. We believe in sharing leadership and working with our partners to offer unique, inspiring opportunities for Canadians to discover our treasured places and to achieve extraordinary results.

We are proud to be formally collaborating with the following partners:


 

Coalition of First Nations with Interests in Riding Mountain National Park  

Working with Indigenous Partners

Riding Mountain National Park works collaboratively with Indigenous partners to protect and present the park. In 1998, Parks Canada and Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation (KOFN) established the Senior Officials Forum agreement to formalize a working relationship. After the establishment of the Senior Officials Forum, it was recognized by KOFN that the conversations needed to involve other First Nations in close proximity to RMNP. In 2006, a Ministerial Agreement between Parks Canada and Indigenous partners formalized the Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP through the Riding Mountain Forum, consisting of seven nations from Treaty 2, 4, and 1.

These forums allow for the parties to find ways to:

  • develop mutually beneficial, positive, and productive working relationships;
  • identify and resolve issues of common interest or concern;
  • provide advice to Parks Canada in the implementation of the Park Management Plan;
  • incorporate Traditional Knowledge into management practices at RMNP;
  • present First Nation history and culture at RMNP;
  • offer employment opportunities in RMNP, and;
  • facilitate land use within RMNP by First Nations people for traditional, spiritual and ceremonial purposes.

Parks Canada is committed to supporting Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation tell their histories and raise public awareness and appreciation for Anishinabe cultural heritage. Stop in at the Anishinabe Sharing Lodge in Wasagaming to learn more.

For more information: Indigenous connections


Travel Manitoba

Travel Manitoba

Travel Manitoba is the provincial marketing organization for Manitoba's tourism industry. Travel Manitoba and Parks Canada began a marketing relationship in 2005. The first agreement was to formally recognize a mutual interest in strengthening the province's tourism industry by developing attractive, engaging and authentic heritage tourism products and services, promoting them to Canadians and visitors, and delivering high quality experiences to people visiting the heritage places of Manitoba and Canada.

The agreement has expanded over the years and now includes selected tourism promotions for Riding Mountain National Park, Wapusk National Park, and seven National Historic Sites in Manitoba, as well as public relations and communications activities, including staff training. The partners also collaborate in the presentation and provision of information to the public at the Explore Manitoba Centre at The Forks National Historic Site in Winnipeg.


Manitoba Arts Council

The Manitoba Arts Council (MAC) is an arms-length agency of the government of Manitoba that envisions a province where arts and culture are at the heart of community life. MAC makes awards to individuals, groups, and organizations in all art forms including theatre, dance, music, literary arts, media arts, visual arts, and craft.

Riding Mountain National Park and the Manitoba Arts Council work together on the Riding Mountain Artists’ Residency, which provides professional artists time to focus on their work in the inspiring and natural setting of the park. The residency is housed in the historic Deep Bay log cabin, built in 1934, on the shoreline of Clear Lake. The program provides opportunities for Canadians to discover art and to connect with artists in the park. Canadians are passionate about wilderness and nature, and artistic expression is a powerful tool that has and continues to be an effective way to connect Canadians to national parks and places.


Province of Manitoba Conservation and Climate

Manitoba

Province of Manitoba Conservation and Climate, a department of the Government of Manitoba, is committed to delivering programs and services that result in a clean, healthy and diverse natural environment for current and future generations. MCWS wishes to work collaboratively with First Nations and other Aboriginal communities, and many stakeholders, to balance the environmental, social and economic needs of Manitobans.

Parks Canada and Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to support collaboration in areas around Wapusk National Park and the provincial Churchill Wildlife Management Area. The agreement also applies to Riding Mountain National Park and surrounding provincial lands. Parks Canada and MCWS will work cooperatively and collaboratively to provide a greater capacity for ecological monitoring, resource management and public education pertaining to ecological and cultural resources for the benefit of Manitobans and Canadians.

For more information, visit: Churchill Wildlife Management Area.


Nature Conservancy of Canada

The Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) is Canada's leading national land conservation organization. As a private, non-profit organization, they partner with individuals, corporations, foundations, Indigenous communities and other non-profit organizations and governments at all levels to protect our most important natural treasures — the natural areas that sustain Canada’s plants and wildlife. Since 1962, NCC and its partners have helped to protect 14 million hectares (35 million acres), coast to coast to coast.

Riding Mountain National Park and the NCC work together to improve the capacity to plan, coordinate, suppress, and manage wildland fires and to provide each other mutual aid. Wildland fire is a natural process that maintains diversity in vegetation and wildlife habitats. It’s an important ecosystem process within Riding Mountain National Park and within the various properties owned and administered by NCC in Manitoba. .


Assiniboine Park Conservancy

Assiniboine Park Conservancy

Assiniboine Park Conservancy is a not-for-profit corporation which is mandated, by the City of Winnipeg, to manage and develop Assiniboine Park and its amenities, including the Assiniboine Park Zoo. The Conservancy works to connect people with nature and to inspire them to take positive actions to protect wildlife and wild places by delivering memorable programming, including direct, indirect and hands-on exploration and discovery.

Parks Canada (Riding Mountain and Wapusk National Parks) and the Assiniboine Park Conservancy are engaging in a public outreach education collaboration to offer Assiniboine Park Zoo audiences opportunities to learn about species and ecosystems common to Assiniboine Park Zoo and Wapusk and Riding Mountain National Parks, and to create awareness of and connections to these places. Through this collaboration, visitors will also learn about conservation and the tools that support conservation actions.


Friends of Riding Mountain National Park and The Riding Mountain Trail Stewards Association Inc.

Friends of Riding Mountain National Park

 

The Friends of Riding Mountain National Park is a non-profit organization, committed to increasing awareness and appreciation of the natural and cultural heritage of Riding Mountain National Park. Through innovative programming in partnership with Parks Canada and other like-minded organizations, they provide valuable educational opportunities that inspire environmental stewardship. www.friendsofridingmountain.ca

The Riding Mountain Trail Stewards Association Inc. is committed to providing Nordic skiing opportunities in Riding Mountain National Park. This organization is found in five satellite areas of the park.

The Riding Mountain Trail Stewards Association Inc.

The Riding Mountain Trail Stewards Association Inc., Friends of Riding Mountain National Park, and Parks Canada are working together to ensure Nordic skiing opportunities are maintained in the park. This year the group groomed 18 trails throughout Riding Mountain National Park. These valued partners also strived to provide Parks Canada up to date trail condition information so visitors could better plan their Nordic skiing adventures.

Partenariat avec le parc national du Mont-Riding

La collaboration d'organisations respectées qui partagent ses valeurs permet à l'Agence Parcs Canada de mieux remplir sa promesse faite aux Canadiens tout en demeurant un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la protection et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. L'Agence croit au partage du leadership et à la collaboration avec ses partenaires dans le but d'offrir aux Canadiens des occasions uniques et inspirantes de découvrir nos trésors et d'atteindre des résultats extraordinaires.

L'Agence Parcs Canada est fière de s'associer officiellement avec les partenaires suivants :


 

La Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding

Collaborer avec les partenaires autochtones

Le parc national du Mont-Riding travaille en collaboration avec des partenaires autochtones pour protéger et mettre en valeur le parc. En 1998, Parcs Canada et la Première Nation ojibway de Keeseekoowenin ont signé l’entente sur le Forum des cadres supérieurs pour officialiser leur relation de travail. Après la mise sur pied du Forum, la Première Nation a fait savoir que le dialogue devrait être élargi à d’autres Premières Nations établies près du parc national du Mont-Riding. En 2006, une entente ministérielle entre Parcs Canada et les partenaires autochtones a officialisé la Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding en créant la Tribune du Mont-Riding. Formée de sept Nations dont les territoires sont visés par les traités no 2, 4 et 1.

Ces forums permettent aux parties de trouver des moyens de :

  • développer des relations de travail positives, productives et mutuellement avantageuses;
  • de relever les enjeux et résoudre les problèmes d’intérêt commun;
  • donner des conseils à Parcs Canada sur la mise en oeuvre du plan directeur du parc;
  • d'intégrer le savoir traditionnel aux pratiques de gestion du PNMR;
  • Mettre en valeur l’histoire et la culture des Premières Nations au parc national;
  • Offrir des possibilités d’emploi dans le parc national;
  • Encourager les membres des Premières Nations à pratiquer, dans le parc national, des activités traditionnelles, spirituelles et cérémonielles.

L’Agence s’engage à aider la Première Nation ojibway Keeseekoowenin à raconter ses histoires, à sensibiliser la population et à favoriser l’appréciation du patrimoine culturel des Anishinabe. Venez en apprendre plus au pavillon Anishinabe Sharing Lodge, à Wasagaming.

Pour plus de renseignements : Liens avec les Autochtones


Voyage Manitoba

Voyage Manitoba

Voyage Manitoba est l'organisation provinciale de marketing pour l'industrie du tourisme au Manitoba. Voyage Manitoba et Parcs Canada ont établi une relation de marketing en 2005. Leur première entente visait à officiellement reconnaître leur intérêt commun à renforcer l'industrie du tourisme provinciale en offrant des produits et des services qui sont à la fois attrayants, intéressants et authentiques en ce qui concerne le patrimoine, et en en faisant la promotion auprès des Canadiens et des visiteurs. De plus, ils s'engagent à offrir des expériences de haute qualité aux visiteurs des lieux historiques du Manitoba ainsi que du Canada.

L'entente a été élargie au fil du temps et comprend maintenant des promotions touristiques précises pour le parc national du Mont-Riding, le parc national Wapusk et sept lieux historiques nationaux au Manitoba, ainsi que des activités de relations publiques et de communications, notamment la formation du personnel. En outre, les partenaires collaborent à la présentation et à la prestation de renseignements au public au centre Explorez le Manitoba, situé au lieu historique national de La Fourche , à Winnipeg.


Le Conseil des arts du Manitoba

Le Manitoba Arts Council (CAM) est un organisme indépendant du gouvernement du Manitoba souhaitant placer les arts et la culture au coeur de la vie communautaire manitobaine. Le CAM remet des prix à des personnes, à des groupes et à des organisations s’illustrant dans la panoplie de disciplines artistiques qui existent, comme le théâtre, la danse, la musique, les arts littéraires, les arts médiatiques, les arts visuels et l’artisanat.

Le parc national du Mont-Riding et le CAM collaborent dans le cadre du programme Résidence pour artistes au Mont-Riding, lequel permet aux artistes professionnels de se concentrer sur leur art dans un coin naturel et inspirant du parc. La résidence se fait dans la cabane en bois rond historique de la baie Deep, qui a été construite en 1934 au bord du lac Clear. Grâce à ce programme, les Canadiens peuvent découvrir des productions artistiques et échanger avec des artistes à l’intérieur du parc. Les Canadiens se passionnent pour les milieux sauvages et la nature, et l’expression artistique est encore aujourd’hui un outil efficace pour renforcer les liens des Canadiens avec les lieux et les parcs nationaux.


Province du Manitoba Conservation et Climat

Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitobaun ministère du gouvernement du Manitoba, s'engage à assurer la prestation de programmes et de services visant la promotion d'un environnement naturel, sain et diversifié pour les générations actuelles et futures. CGRHM souhaite collaborer avec les Premières nations et d'autres communautés autochtones ainsi que bon nombre d'intervenants en vue de répondre aux besoins des Manitobains sur les plans environnemental, social et économique.

Parcs Canada et CGRHM ont signé un protocole d'entente pour favoriser la collaboration dans les régions entourant le parc national de Wapusk et l'aire de gestion de la faune de Churchill. L'entente s'applique également au parc national du Mont-Riding et aux terres provinciales environnantes. Parcs Canada et CGRHM collaboreront de manière à assurer une surveillance écologique plus rigoureuse, une meilleure gestion des ressources et une sensibilisation accrue de la population à l'égard des ressources écologiques et culturelles dans l'intérêt des Manitobains et des Canadiens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez : l'aire de gestion de la faune de Churchill.


Conservation de la nature Canada

Conservation de la nature Canada (CNC) est le chef de file en conservation de terres au Canada. Nous sommes un organisme privé à but non lucratif travaillant en partenariat avec des particuliers, des entreprises, des fondations, des communautés autochtones, d'autres organismes à but non lucratif et diverses instances gouvernementales, afin de protéger nos richesses naturelles les plus précieuses, soit les milieux naturels abritant la faune et la flore du Canada. Nous protégeons des propriétés (grâce à des dons, des achats, des servitudes de conservation et la renonciation à d'autres intérêts juridiques en matière de propriété foncière) et en assurons la gestion à long terme. Depuis 1962, CNC et ses partenaires ont contribué à la protection de 14 millions d’hectares (35 millions d’acres) de territoire de grande valeur écologique, partout au pays.

Le parc national du Mont-Riding et Conservation de la nature Canada (CNC) travaillent de concert pour améliorer leur capacité de planifier et de coordonner les efforts, de freiner et de gérer les feux de végétation et de s’aider mutuellement. Les feux de végétation consistent dans un processus naturel protégeant la diversité de la végétation et les habitats fauniques. Il s’agit d’un processus écosystémique important à l’intérieur du parc national du Mont Riding et des divers lieux du Manitoba gérés et détenus par CNC.


L'Assiniboine Park Conservancy

Assiniboine Park Conservancy

L'Assiniboine Park Conservancy (anglais seulement) est une société sans but lucratif qui a reçu comme mandat, de la ville de Winnipeg, de gérer et d’aménager le parc Assiniboine et ses installations, notamment le Assiniboine Park Zoo. Elle travaille en vue de créer des liens entre les personnes et la nature et d’inspirer les gens à prendre des mesures positives pour protéger les animaux et les régions sauvages en offrant des programmes mémorables, comme des possibilités d’exploration et de découverte directes, indirectes et pratiques.

Parcs Canada (parcs nationaux de Wapusk et du Mont-Riding) et l’organisme l’Assiniboine Park Conservancy collaborent à une initiative de sensibilisation et d’éducation du public afin d’offrir aux visiteurs du Assiniboine Park Zoo des possibilités pour se renseigner sur les espèces et les écosystèmes courants au Assiniboine Park Zoo et aux parcs nationaux de Wapusk et du Mont-Riding, et de favoriser la sensibilisation et les connections à ces lieux. Par l’entremise de cette collaboration, les visiteurs pourront également se renseigner sur la conservation et les outils qui soutiennent les mesures de conservation.


L’Association des Intendants des Sentiers du Mont-Riding Inc., l’association Friends of Riding Mountain National Park et Parcs Canada

The Riding Mountain Trail Stewards Association Inc.

L’Association des Intendants des Sentiers du Mont-Riding Inc., l’association Friends of Riding Mountain National Park et Parcs Canada travaillent conjointement afin de s’assurer que la possibilité de pratiquer le ski nordique dans le parc soit maintenue. Cette année, ce groupe a entretenu dix-huit sentiers à travers le Parc national du Mont-Riding. Ces partenaires importants s’efforcent de fournir au parc des informations à jour sur les conditions des sentiers afin de permettre aux visiteurs de planifier au mieux leurs sorties en ski nordique..

Friends of Riding Mountain National Park

 

L’association Friends of Riding Mountain National Park est une organisation à but non-lucratif dédiée à promouvoir la connaissance et l’appréciation du patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc national du Mont-Riding. Grâce à une programmation innovante développée en partenariat avec Parcs Canada ainsi qu’avec d’autres organisations partageant la même vision, cette association offre des opportunités éducatives inspirantes dans le domaine de la gérance de l'environnement. www.friendsofridingmountain.ca (anglais seulement)

L’Association des Intendants des Sentiers du Mont-Riding Inc. est engagée dans le maintien des possibilités de pratique du ski nordique au parc national du Mont-Riding. Cette organisation est présente dans cinq localités situées en périphérie du parc..