Hilo is standing on the shores of Whirlpool Lake, Riding Mountain National Park, waiting patiently for instructions. It’s Hilo’s job to find zebra mussels. During his training, Hilo was able to identify 100% of the watercraft containing aquatic invasive species (AIS), while humans found only 75% - that's because he's a dog.

Hilo, from Working Dogs for Conservation, sniffing the shores of Whirlpool Lake in September 2018.
Whirlpool Lake

When Parks Canada closed Whirlpool Lake in December of 2017 due to the potential presence of zebra mussels, hearts were heavy. Environmental DNA (eDNA) was found in water samples taken from the lake during regular testing for the AIS monitoring program in the park. As a precautionary measure, to prevent the spread of zebra mussels, the lake was closed.

Christian Tremblay, AIS Project Coordinator for Riding Mountain National Park, has been working tirelessly to monitor and test park waters, including Whirlpool Lake. He also works hard to build relationships with other experts in the field.

Christian Tremblay, demonstrating the substrate sampler, one of 3 ways to test park waters for zebra mussels.  
Maxime LeGal, AIS Team Lead for prevention program in Riding Mountain National Park.

“An important part of my job is building connections, “said Tremblay. “We have great working relationships with Sustainable Development for the province of Manitoba, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Environment and Parks for the province of Alberta. We have all done quite a bit of training together, and we work collaboratively in the field.”

Tremblay and his team have conducted over 100 tests for zebra mussel eDNA, veligers (larvae), and adult zebra mussels at Whirlpool Lake. So far, none of the results indicate that there are zebra mussels in the lake. “We have been proactive in managing the lake and haven’t had any positive results for eDNA since last winter, so we can only speculate as to why we had those positive results last year,” said Tremblay.

A big part of the challenge in keeping AIS out of park waters is communicating this with park visitors. AIS, like zebra mussels can destroy ecosystems, and hitchhike from lake to lake on boats, inflatables, and beach toys.

“Our AIS Prevention Program is the front line to block AIS from entering park waters. It’s the only way to ensure that people will continue to be able to enjoy our lakes. If we find zebra mussels in other lakes, we will have to close them too,” Tremblay said.

 

This fall Tremblay invited the Conservation K-9 Unit from Alberta to Whirlpool Lake to have a sniff. They are a team of dogs and handlers trained to detect aquatic invasive species. Cindy Sawchuk is the AIS Operations Lead for the province of Alberta. The dogs, Hilo and Seuss, come from an organization out of Montana called Working Dogs for Conservation.

In order to get the dogs on task, their handlers, Cindy Sawchuk and Hannah McKenzie, planted vials containing zebra mussel samples along the shoreline for the dogs to find.

Their first passive response to discovering a zebra mussel is to sit. Once their handler confirms that they have in fact discovered a zebra mussel, they get a verbal reward and playtime with a tug toy.

Cindy Sawchuk rewards Hilo with his tug toy after he finds another planted vial of zebra mussels.  
Hannah McKenzie and Seuss, working on the northern shore of Whirlpool Lake.

“This is the only time during their work that they get to play. Then it’s back to work, but Hilo would work all day if I let him,” said Sawchuk.

The team inspected the shoreline along the campground and day use area, the dam and fish ladder, and then everyone paddled to the other side of the lake for inspection of the north shore.

“They can differentiate between an invasive mussel and all of these native mussels. They are completely focused on picking up the right scent,” said Cindy standing on the shore, where she counted several different kinds of mussel shells.

Much to everyone’s relief, the dogs came up short on their hunt for zebra mussels at Whirlpool Lake.

“So for now we can say that we haven’t found any evidence of zebra mussels at Whirlpool Lake, but we’re not out the woods quite yet,” said Tremblay.

The good news is that Whirlpool Lake is open for winter use. As spring approaches, Parks Canada will reassess whether or not the lake will remain open for spring and summer of 2019.

We all play a part in keeping AIS out of park waters. Be sure to have your boats inspected before you head out onto the water in the park.

Hilo se tient sur les rives du lac Whirlpool, dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, et attend patiemment des instructions. Son travail consiste à trouver des moules zébrées. Au cours de sa formation, il a réussi à détecter 100 % des embarcations contenant une espèce aquatique envahissante, alors que les humains n’en repèrent généralement que 75 %. C’est que Hilo est un chien!

Hilo, from Working Dogs for Conservation, sniffing the shores of Whirlpool Lake in September 2018.
Whirlpool Lake

Lorsque Parcs Canada a fermé le lac Whirlpool, en décembre 2017, en raison de la présence possible de moules zébrées, tout le monde avait le cœur gros. On avait trouvé de l’ADN environnemental (ADNe) dans des échantillons d’eau prélevés dans le lac au cours d’analyses effectuées périodiquement pour le programme de surveillance des espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans le parc. Par mesure de précaution, le lac a été fermé afin d’éviter la propagation de la moule zébrée.

Christian Tremblay, coordonnateur du projet des espèces aquatiques envahissantes au parc national du Mont-Riding, travaille sans relâche pour surveiller et tester les eaux du parc, y compris celles du lac Whirlpool. Il s’efforce également d’établir des rapports avec d’autres experts du domaine.

Christian Tremblay, demonstrating the substrate sampler, one of 3 ways to test park waters for zebra mussels.  
Maxime LeGal, AIS Team Lead for prevention program in Riding Mountain National Park.

« Une partie importante de mon travail consiste à tisser des liens, a-t-il expliqué. Nous entretenons d’excellentes relations de travail avec le ministère du Développement durable du Manitoba, avec Pêches et Océans Canada et avec le ministère de l’Environnement et des Parcs de l’Alberta. Nous avons suivi plusieurs formations avec les employés de ces organismes, et nous travaillons tous en collaboration sur le terrain. »

M. Tremblay et son équipe ont effectué une centaine d’analyses au lac Whirlpool à la recherche d’ADNe de moule zébrée, de larves véligères et de moules zébrées adultes. Jusqu’à présent, aucun des résultats n’indique la présence de cet animal dans le lac.

« Nous avons géré le lac de manière proactive et n’avons obtenu aucun résultat positif pour l’ADNe depuis l’hiver dernier, alors nous ne pouvons qu’émettre des hypothèses quant à l’origine des résultats positifs obtenus à ce moment », a indiqué M. Tremblay.

Pour empêcher la colonisation des eaux du parc par des espèces aquatiques envahissantes, il importe de bien communiquer le problème aux visiteurs. Ces espèces, notamment les moules zébrées, peuvent détruire les écosystèmes et passer d’un lac à un autre en s’accrochant aux bateaux, aux embarcations et jouets gonflables, ou aux jouets de plage.

« Notre programme de prévention des espèces aquatiques envahissantes sert de première ligne pour empêcher ces espèces de gagner les eaux du parc. Sans ce programme, nous ne pourrions pas permettre aux visiteurs de continuer de profiter de nos lacs. Si nous trouvons des moules zébrées dans d’autres lacs, nous devrons les fermer eux aussi », a ajouté M. Tremblay. 

 

Cet automne, M. Tremblay a invité l’Unité de conservation canine de l’Alberta à venir faire un tour au lac Whirlpool. Cette équipe de chiens et de maîtres, formés pour détecter les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, est dirigée par Cindy Sawchuk, chef des opérations sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes pour la province de l’Alberta. Les chiens, Hilo et Seuss, ont été dressés par une organisation du Montana appelée Working Dogs for Conservation (site Web en anglais seulement).

Pour faire travailler les chiens, leurs maîtres, Cindy Sawchuk et Hannah McKenzie, ont caché des fioles contenant des échantillons de moules zébrées le long du rivage.

La première réaction des chiens à la découverte d’une moule zébrée est une réaction passive : ils s’assoient. Lorsque leur maître a confirmé qu’ils ont effectivement découvert une moule zébrée, ils reçoivent une récompense verbale et ont droit à une séance de souque-à-la-corde avec leur jouet favori.

Cindy Sawchuk rewards Hilo with his tug toy after he finds another planted vial of zebra mussels.  
Hannah McKenzie and Seuss, working on the northern shore of Whirlpool Lake.

« C’est le seul moment où ils peuvent jouer lorsqu’ils sont au travail. Ensuite, ils se remettent à la tâche, mais Hilo travaillerait toute la journée si je le laissais faire », a expliqué Mme Sawchuk.

L’équipe a inspecté la rive le long du terrain de camping et de l’aire de fréquentation diurne, de même que le barrage et la passe à poissons, après quoi tout le monde s’est rendu en canot de l’autre côté du lac pour inspecter la rive nord.

« Les chiens peuvent faire la différence entre une moule envahissante et toutes ces moules indigènes. Ils sont complètement concentrés sur la détection de la bonne odeur », a précisé Mme Sawchuk depuis le rivage, où elle a remarqué des coquilles de plusieurs sortes de moules différentes.

Au grand soulagement de tous, les chiens sont revenus bredouilles de leur chasse à la moule zébrée au lac Whirlpool.

« Pour l’instant, nous pouvons donc dire que nous n’avons trouvé aucune trace de moule zébrée au lac Whirlpool, mais nous ne sommes pas encore sortis du bois », a déclaré M. Tremblay.
La bonne nouvelle, c’est que le lac Whirlpool est ouvert pour l’hiver. Pour le moment, aucune décision n'a été prise quant à savoir si elle demeurera ouverte pour le printemps et l'été 2019.

Nous avons tous un rôle à jouer afin d’éviter la propagation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans les eaux du parc. Assurez-vous de faire inspecter vos embarcations avant de les mettre à l’eau.