The Anishinabe of Riding Mountain

For the Anishinabe, Turtle Island, also known as North America, was chosen as their homeland by the Creator, Kichi Manitou. It is a common understanding that this has been home since time immemorial. The Anishinabe have maintained traditional connections to the land and waters, and with Parks Canada work to protect and present Riding Mountain National Park. 

Riding Mountain National Park is located within Treaty 2 Territory and Parks Canada works with First Nations from Treaties 2, 4 and 1. We mention this to honor our relations and the contributions made to establish the park, the province, and Canada.

We All Work Together - Widokodadiwin

The common interest to improve and foster positive relationships between local First Nations and Parks Canada helped to create the Senior Management Agreement to establish the Senior Officials Forum (1998) and the Agreement to establish the Riding Mountain Forum (2006). The consistent link between First Nations and Parks Canada provides pathways to continue to work together, share information and cooperate in areas of mutual interest.

Map of the 7 First Nations in the Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP
Map of the 7 First Nations in the Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP

Senior Officials Forum

RMNP Contribution Agreement Senior Officials Forum, group photo 2009
RMNP Contribution Agreement Senior Officials Forum, group photo 2009

It has been 20 years since the Senior Officials Forum Agreement between Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation (KOFN) and Parks Canada Agency (PCA) was signed. It signaled the beginning of a new and positive relationship. The Agreement to establish the Senior Officials Forum has led to many acts of cooperation that have led to greater access to Riding Mountain National Park.

 

 

Coalition of First Nations with Interest in Riding Mountain National Park

Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP, group photo 2009
Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP, group photo 2009

After the establishment of the Senior Officials Forum, it was recognized early on that the conversations needed to involve other First Nations in close proximity to RMNP. This recognition led to the establishment of the Coalition of First Nations with Interest in RMNP consisting of nations from Treaty 2, 4, and 1 including Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation, Ebb and Flow First Nation, Waywayseecappo First Nation, Rolling River First Nation, Tootinaowaziibeeng First Nation, Gambler First Nation, and Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation.

Riding Mountain Forum

Riding Mountain Forum Signing Ceremony, group photo 2006
Riding Mountain Forum Signing Ceremony, group photo 2006

The Coalition entered into an agreement with Parks Canada to establish the Riding Mountain Forum to share and put ideas into action. The Riding Mountain Forum opened the door to advise the development and implementation of the Park Management Plan.


Related Links

Discover and Explore Anishinabe Perspectives

Attend an Indigenous interpretation program

The park offers a number of cultural programs with Indigenous content and messaging developed by park staff, some of whom are local Anishinabe, but also with input from our First Nations partners. An important part of the messaging is the acknowledgement of Treaty 2 territory and the welcoming of visitors to Treaty 2 territory. This opens up the conversations to speak about the treaty relationship between the Indigenous people of Canada and Canadians as well as the historical and future partnerships that play a significant role in what Canada is today.


Indigenous Community Profiles


The Coalition of First Nations with
Interest in Riding Mountain National Park
consists of the following communities


Ebb and Flow First Nation - Gaa-gwekwekojiwangEbb and Flow First Nation
Gaa-gwekwekojiwang
Gambler First Nation – AtaagewininiingGambler First Nation
Ataagewininiing
Rolling River First Nation – Ditibineya-ziibiingRolling River First Nation
Ditibineya-ziibiing
Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation – Gaa-wiikwedaawangaagSandy Bay Ojibway First Nation
Gaa-wiikwedaawangaag
Tootinaowaziibeeng First Nation - Dootinaawi-ziibiingTootinaowaziibeeng First Nation
Dootinaawi-ziibiing

Les Anishinabe de Mont-Riding

Pour les Anishinabe, l’île de la Tortue, aussie appelée Amérique du Nord, a été choisie comme patrie à leur intention par le Créateur, Kichi Manitou. D’après la tradition orale, ce territoire est leur depuis des temps immémoriaux. Les Anishinabe ont conservé des liens traditionnels avec la terre et les eaux, et ils collaborent avec Parcs Canada à la protection et à la mise en valeur du parc national du Mont-Riding.

Le parc national du Mont-Riding est situé sur le territoire du Traité no 2, et Parcs Canada travaille de concert avec les Premières Nations des Traités nos 2, 4 et 1. Nous le signalons pour souligner nos liens réciproques et les contributions réalisées pour créer le parc, la province et le Canada.

Un travail collectif - Widokodadiwin

L’intérêt commun de renforcer les relations positives entre les Premières Nations locales et Parcs Canada, en les favorisant, a contribué à la signature d’une entente avec la haute direction en vue d’établir un forum des cadres supérieurs (1998) et d’un accord de création de la Tribune du Mont-Riding (2006). Ce canal sans interruption entre les Premières Nations et Parcs Canada permet de maintenir la collaboration, de mettre en commun de l’information et de coopérer dans les secteurs d’intérêt mutuels.

Carte des sept collectivités de Premières Nations dans la Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le PNMR
Carte des sept collectivités de Premières Nations dans la Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le PNMR

Forum des cadres supérieurs

Entente de contribution du PNMR, forum des cadres supérieurs, photo de groupe de 2009
Entente de contribution du PNMR, forum des cadres supérieurs, photo de groupe de 2009

Cela fait maintenant 20 ans que l’entente sur le forum des cadres supérieurs a été signée entre Parcs Canada et la Première Nation ojibway de Keeseekoowenin (PNOK). Cet accord signalait le début d’une relation nouvelle et positive, qui a mené à de nombreuses initiatives de coopération ayant bonifié l’accès au parc national du Mont-Riding.

 

 

Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding

Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le PNMR, photo de groupe de 2009
Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le PNMR, photo de groupe de 2009

Dans la foulée de la création du forum des cadres supérieurs, on a rapidement réalisé que les discussions devaient inclure les autres Premières Nations à proximité du PNMR. De cette constatation est née la Coalition des Premières Nations ayant des intérêts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, qui regroupe les Nations des Traités nos 2, 4 et 1, y compris la Première Nation ojibway de Keeseekoowenin, la Première Nation d’Ebb and Flow, la Première Nation de Waywayseecappo, la Première Nation de Rolling River, la Première Nation de Tootinaowaziibeeng, la Première Nation de Gambler, et la Première Nation ojibway de Sandy Bay.

Tribune du Mont-Riding

Cérémonie de signature, Tribune du Mont-Riding, photo de groupe de 2006
Cérémonie de signature, Tribune du Mont-Riding, photo de groupe de 2006

La Coalition a signé une entente avec Parcs Canada en vue de créer la Tribune du Mont-Riding, afin de mettre en commun et en pratique les idées. Le Forum a permis des consultations sur le développement et la mise en application du plan directeur du parc.


Liens connexes :

Découvrir et explorer les perspectives des Anishinabes

Suivre un programme d'interprétation sur la culture autochtone

Le parc offre un certain nombre de programmes culturels renfermant du contenu et des messages autochtones élaborés par le personnel du parc, dont certains Anishinabe locaux, mais aussi grâce aux observations de nos partenaires des Premières Nations. Un élément important de ces messages est la reconnaissance du territoire du Traité no 2 et le message de bienvenue aux visiteurs sur le territoire du Traité no 2. Ces messages suscitent des conversations sur les traités entre les Autochtones du Canada et les Canadiens, ainsi que les partenariats historiques et futurs qui jouent un rôle important dans le portrait du Canada d’aujourd’hui.


Profils des communautés autochtones


La Coalition des Premières Nations
ayant des intérêts dans le parc national du Mont-Riding
regroupe les communautés ci-dessous.


Première Nation de Rolling River – Ditibineya-ziibiingRolling River First Nation
Ditibineya-ziibiing
Première Nation ojibway de Sandy Bay – Gaa-wiikwedaawangaagSandy Bay Ojibway First Nation
Gaa-wiikwedaawangaag
Première Nation de Tootinaowaziibeeng - Dootinaawi-ziibiingTootinaowaziibeeng First Nation
Dootinaawi-ziibiing