FireSmart Tree Removal

Issued: November 30, 2020

Through its national fire management program, Parks Canada is committed to reducing the risk of wildfires and protecting visitors, infrastructure, and natural and cultural resources on the lands it manages.

In Riding Mountain National Park, wildfire risk reduction is continuing in Wasagaming and along the roadways in the North Shore subdivision of Clear Lake. This program will help protect homes, cottages and businesses in the event of a wildfire. Parks Canada staff will be working on tree thinning and removal along both the east and west entrances of North Shore Road and along the north end of Ta-Wa-Pit Drive. Parks Canada staff will also remove a small 0.2-hectare section of white spruce plantation along highway 10. Work is expected to continue until April 2021.

Visitor safety is a priority for Parks Canada. Visitors are asked to use caution if travelling in the areas where tree removal is underway and to watch for heavy equipment and crews.

Parks Canada is a recognized leader in conservation. Prior to the removal of trees and vegetation, all projects undergo an environmental assessment to ensure that mitigation measures are in place to maintain the overall ecology of the site, and that tree felling is conducted outside bird-nesting and migratory periods.

Parks Canada is an active partner of the FireSmart program that focuses on how individuals and communities can work together to reduce the risk of loss from wildfires in communities across Canada. Through safe and effective fire management, Parks Canada is reducing the danger of wildfire to the public, infrastructure and neighbouring lands, while improving the ecological health of our forests and grasslands.

Information:

Shaun Cassan
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Riding Mountain National Park
shaun.cassan@canada.ca

Abattage d’arbres dans le cadre du programme Intelli-feu

Émis le : 30 novembre 2020

Grâce à son programme national de gestion des incendies, l’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à réduire les risques de feux de forêt et à protéger les visiteurs, l’infrastructure et les ressources naturelles et culturelles sur les terres qu’elle administre.

Au parc national du Mont-Riding, la réduction des risques d’incendie se poursuit dans Wasagaming et le long des routes du lotissement de la rive nord du lac Clear. Ce programme permet de mieux protéger les habitations, chalets et entreprises en cas d’incendie. Le personnel de Parcs Canada travaillera à l’éclaircissage et à l’enlèvement d’arbres le long des accès est et ouest de la route de la rive nord, et le long de l’accès nord de la chaussée Ta-Wa-Pit. Le personnel de Parcs Canada procédera aussi à la coupe d’une petite parcelle de 0,2 hectare d’épinettes blanches le long de la route 10. Les travaux seront en cours jusqu’en avril 2021.

La sécurité des visiteurs est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. Les visiteurs sont priés de faire preuve de prudence s’ils circulent dans les secteurs où ont lieu les travaux et de faire attention à l’équipement lourd et aux équipes.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est un chef de file reconnue en matière de conservation. Avant d’enlever des arbres ou de la végétation, tous les projets font l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale pour s’assurer que des mesures d’atténuation sont en place afin de maintenir l’écologie du site et s’assurer que les travaux ont lieu en dehors des périodes de nidification ou de migration.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est une partenaire active du programme Intelli-feu, lequel est axé sur la façon dont les gens et les collectivités peuvent collaborer pour réduire les risques associés aux feux de forêt dans les collectivités du Canada. Grâce à une gestion sûre et efficace du feu, Parcs Canada réduit les dangers des feux de forêts pour le public, les infrastructures et les terres avoisinantes, tout en améliorant la santé écologique des forêts et des prairies.

Renseignements :

Shaun Cassan
Agente, relations publiques et communications
Parc national du Mont-Riding
Parcs Canada
shaun.cassan@canada.ca