Friends of Riding Mountain National Park and Clear Lake Country present Winter Adventure Weekend, February 7th to 9th, 2020!

Weekend festivities include the ‘Cabin Fever Reliever’ social and men’s hockey tournament at the Onanole Rec Centre, maple syrup rolling, winter camping demos, snow tubing and kick spark adventures, live music at Lakehouse in downtown Wasagaming, sleigh rides, fat biking and great family programming at Friends of Riding Mountain including boot hockey, a winter scavenger hunt and so much more!

Learn more at Friends of Riding Mountain National Park and Clear Lake Country!

Parks Canada Guided Events

S’mores Bar

Mmmmmm! Warm melted chocolate and marshmallow fighting for space between two delicious cookies; served up by a cozy fire! How can you resist? Stop by the Parks Canada “S’mores Bar” in the cookshack by the skating path, this February 7 -9, 2020 during the Friends of Riding Mountain Winter Adventure Weekend.

Hosted hours: Friday 6-9pm, Saturday 2-8pm, Sunday 12-6pm.


Sleigh rides through the woods

Photo: Molly Kelleher

Come celebrate Winter Adventure Weekend by joining the team from Elkhorn Riding Adventures for a ride through a picturesque wintry forest adjacent to the Wasagaming townsite. Enjoy some hot chocolate while a park interpreter fills you in on all things Aspen Parkland!

  • Sign up at Friends of Riding Mountain National Park, 154 Columbine Dr in Wasagaming, or by calling 1.204.848.4037
  • $23.00/ adult, $11.80/ children 12 and under, free for children under 5 
  • Outings at 11:00a.m., 1:30p.m. and 3:00 p.m.
  • Rides leave from Elkhorn Riding Adventures, Mooswa Dr. E, Onanole MB (on the grounds of the Elkhorn Resort)
  • Ride Duration: approximately 35 mins
  • Limit of 16 passengers per outing
  • Warm clothing required

Guided winter fat bike tours

Photo: Parks Canada / Madelaine Lahaie 

First-time winter cyclist? No problem! Rent a fat bike at Friends of Riding Mountain National Park and join Eric Mentuck at to learn the ins and outs of this rapidly-growing winter sport. Eric is a member of the Waywayseecappo First Nation here in Treaty 2 territory, at the intersection of Treaties 1 and 4, who mentors Anishinabe youth by teaching them about their traditional lands from the seat of a fat bike. The South Lake Trail is about a half-hour ride and is perfect for beginners. At 2:00 p.m. Eric will meet potential cyclists at the Friends of RMNP Learning Centre for an informal, come-and-go fat bike open house to offer tips and tricks for winter cyclists.

  • Sign up and rent a fat bike (rates vary) at Friends of Riding Mountain National Park, 154 Columbine Dr in Wasagaming, or call 1.204.848.4037
  • Ride leaves at 11:00 a.m. from the Learning Centre
  • Duration of Ride: approximately 45 mins
  • Group size limit: 10 riders
  • Warm clothing required

Friends of Riding Mountain National Park et Clear Lake Country présentent la Fin de semaine des aventures hivernales, le 7 au 9 février, 2020 !

Les festivités du week-end comprennent l’événement social et tournoi de hockey 'Cabin Fever Reliever' au centre récréatif Onanole Rec Centre, le roulage de sirop d'érable, des démonstrations de camping d'hiver, des aventures en tubing et trottienette sur neige, de la musique live au restaurant Lakehouse au centre-ville de Wasagaming, des promenades en traîneau, des sorties en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés et activités familiales au Friends of Riding Mountain National Park, y compris le hockey sur chaussures, une chasse au trésor d'hiver et bien plus encore!

Renseignez-vous davantage aux sites Friends of Riding Mountain National Park et Clear Lake Country ! (En anglais seulement)

Activités dirigées Parcs Canada

Bar « S’mores »

Miammmm ! Du chocolat fondu et de la guimauve luttant pour l’espace entre deux délicieux biscuits, servis par un feu attrayant ! Comment pouvez-vous resister? Passez par le bar « S’mores » de Parcs Canada dans l’abri-cuisine auprès de la patinoire, du 7 au 9 février 2020, lors de la fin de semaine Aventures hivernales de Friends of Riding Mountain.

Heures d’accueil : le vendredi entre 18h et 21h, le samedi de 14h à 20h et le dimanche de 12h à 18h.

Promenades en traîneau dans les bois

Photo : Molly Kelleher

Fêtez la fin de semaine d’aventures hivernales en rejoignant l'équipe d'Elkhorn Riding Adventures pour une balade hivernale dans un bois pittoresque adjacent au village de Wasagaming. Savourez du chocolat chaud pendant qu'un interprète de parc vous informe sur tout ce qui concerne la forêt-parc à trembles !

  • Inscrivez-vous au centre d’apprentissage Friends of Riding Mountain National Park, 154 promenade Columbine Wasagaming ou en appelant le 1.204.848.4037 (service en anglais seulement)
  • 23,00 $ / adulte | 11,80 $ / enfants de 5 à 12 ans | gratuit pour les moins de 5 ans
  • Sorties à 11h00, 13h30 et 15 h 00
  • Les promenades partent d'Elkhorn Riding Adventures, pr. Mooswa Est, Onanole MB (sur le terrain du Elkhorn Resort)
  • Durée de la promenade : environ 35 minutes
  • Limite de 16 passagers par sortie
  • Vêtements chauds requis 

Sorties guidées d'hiver en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés

Photo : Parcs Canada / Madelaine Lahaie 

Cycliste d'hiver pour la première fois ? Aucun problème ! Louez un vélo à pneus surdimensionnés (VPS) au centre d’apprentissage Friends of Riding Mountain National Park et rejoignez Eric Mentuck pour découvrir les tenants et les aboutissants de ce sport d'hiver en pleine croissance. Eric est un membre de la Première nation Waywayseecappo ici dans le territoire du Traité 2, au carrefour des territoires des Traités 4 et 1, qui encadre les jeunes Anishinabe en leur enseignant sur le sujet de leurs terres traditionnelles depuis le siège d'un VPS. Le sentier Lac-sud est d'environ une demi-heure, parfait pour les débutants. À 14 h 00 Eric rencontrera des cyclistes potentiels au centre d’apprentissage Friends of RMNP pour une séance portes-ouvertes informelle, et offrira des trucs et astuces aux cyclistes d'hiver.

  • Inscrivez-vous et louez un gros vélo (les tarifs varient) au centre d’apprentissage Friends of RMNP, 154, pr. Columbine à Wasagaming, ou appelez le 1.204.848.4037 (service en anglais seulement)
  • Départ à 11h00 du centre d’apprentissage
  • Durée du trajet : environ 45 minutes
  • Limite de taille de groupe : 10 cyclistes
  • Vêtements chauds requis
  • Séance trucs et astuces de VPS : 14h00 au centre d’apprentissage (en anglais seulement)