Why here?

Bird with dark head and bright bill perches on shoreline
Caspian terns are among many species of birds that nest in and use the Thaidene Nëné area
© Wayne Lynch, Parks Canada

The goal of establishing a national park is to: protect the diversity of vegetation and landscape features of representative ecosystems; maintain the ecological integrity of wildlife habitat and plant species; and provide opportunities for quality visitor experiences such as recreational activities and the presentation of natural and cultural heritage.

Thaidene Nëné’s spectacular wilderness characteristics already attract many visitors and local residents each year. While remote, the area’s proximity to the City of Yellowknife allows for a degree of access that is less common in other northern national parks. The proposed boundary for Thaidene Nëné national park reserve will also be easily accessed through the gateway community of Łutsël K’e, whether by water or by air.

Ecological and Cultural Importance

Thaidene Nëné is a spectacular area of ecological and cultural importance in the Northwest Territories. The living connections between land and people, water and land, forest and tundra make Thaidene Nëné a national treasure. Thaidene Nëné is a living legacy for future generations, including important cultural features, as well as traditional hunting, fishing, gathering and spiritual areas used by various Aboriginal peoples.

The Thaidene Nëné area is characterized by: numerous lakes, rivers and waterfalls, a striking archipelago of islands, peninsulas, landscape formations shaped by ancient ice sheets, dramatic cliffs, a variety of climates, soils and ecosystem processes. The vegetation varies from open woodlands and forests carpeted with mosses and shrubs, to lichen-covered tundra with occasional clumps of low-growing plants. This diverse ecological region is also home to many boreal and tundra mammals such as barren-ground caribou, moose, muskox, grey wolf, black and grizzly bear, red and Arctic fox, lynx, wolverine, otter, beaver, muskrat, as well as many species of birds and fish.

Thaidene Nëné has long been an important cultural area for the people of Łutsël K’e Dene First Nation and their ancestors as described in their vision. The Northwest Territory Métis Nation also has long standing ties to the Thaidene Nëné area as do other Aboriginal groups.

The Thaidene Nëné area was first visited by Europeans in the early 1800s, explored for northern travel and trade corridors including the route used to access the tundra from Great Slave Lake, now known as Pike’s Portage. The remains of Fort Reliance, which served as a base in searches for the missing John Ross expedition and later the missing Sir John Franklin expedition, is also located in the proposed national park reserve. Fort Reliance is designated both a national historic site and a territorial historic site.  

Proposed Boundary

Colourful tent pitched for camping with trees and a clear, bright sky overhead
The Thaidene Nëné area is rich with a variety of recreational opportunities
© Wayne Lynch, Parks Canada

The proposed boundary for the national park reserve in the Thaidene Nëné area includes a complex mosaic of lakes, cliffs, beaches, islands, waterfalls and some of North America’s deepest waters in renowned Great Slave Lake. This rugged and scenic landscape spans an abrupt transition from boreal forest to tundra and is important habitat for large and small mammals, fish, as well as providing key waterfowl staging areas and critical nesting for birds of prey.

The proposed boundary meets the federal – territorial commitment to a “significantly smaller” national park reserve – it is 58 percent smaller than the 33,690 km2 interim land withdrawal. The proposed land use approach endorsed by the GNWT Cabinet for Thaidene Nëné includes the potential designation of a national park reserve established under the Canada National Parks Act.

Prior to making any final decisions on the national park reserve, Parks Canada will undertake and conclude consultations with Aboriginal groups and communities, stakeholders and third-party interests, and the public. It will then report on the results of these consultations to the federal Minister of Environment and Minister Responsible for Parks Canada.

The proposed boundary achieves key conservation objectives and enhances economic opportunities in the area. The proposed boundary:

  • represents a previously unrepresented natural region of the national park system;
  • has a configuration that will maintain ecological integrity;
  • includes areas that will provide iconic visitor experiences;
  • will allow for tourism investments that benefit communities;
  • excludes all areas of high mineral potential;
  • will accommodate third party interests; and
  • is a significant contribution to the National Conservation Plan.

Un oiseau à la tête noire et au bec de couleur vive se pose sur le rivage
La sterne caspienne fait partie des nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux qui nichent dans la région de Thaidene Nene
© Wayne Lynch, Parcs Canada

La création d’un parc national vise les objectifs suivants : protéger la diversité de la végétation et les caractéristiques du paysage dans des écosystèmes représentatifs; préserver l’intégrité écologique des espèces végétales et de l’habitat de la faune; fournir aux visiteurs des occasions de vivre des expériences de qualité lors d’activités récréatives et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel. Dans le cas particulier de Thaidene Nene, un des éléments importants est la protection et la gestion collaborative d’un paysage culturel qui est essentiel aux Autochtones, celui-ci ayant assuré leur subsistance depuis des générations.

L’aspect spectaculaire du milieu sauvage de Thaidene Nene attire déjà de nombreux visiteurs et résidents chaque année. La région, bien qu’éloignée, est proche de la ville de Yellowknife, ce qui permet quand même un accès plus facile que dans d’autres parcs nationaux du Nord. La réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene pourra également être aisément accessible en passant par la communauté de Łutsël K’e, en bateau ou en avion.

Importance écologique et culturelle

Thaidene Nene est une région spectaculaire qui représente l’importance écologique et culturelle des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les liens vivants qui unissent la terre et les gens, les eaux et les terres, la forêt et la toundra font de la région un trésor national. Thaidene Nene est un patrimoine vivant à préserver pour les générations à venir, et compte des caractéristiques culturelles importantes en plus de comprendre des aires de chasse, de pêche et de cueillette traditionnelles de même que des sites sacrés pour plusieurs peuples autochtones.

La région de Thaidene Nene se caractérise par de nombreux lacs, cours d’eau et chutes, un magnifique archipel, des péninsules, des formations géologiques façonnées par les glaciers, des falaises spectaculaires, une diversité de climats, de sols et de processus écosystémiques. La végétation passe de forêts ouvertes et boisés tapissés de mousse et d’arbustes, à la toundra couverte de lichen et parsemée de buissons. La diversité écologique de la région abrite également de nombreux mammifères de la région boréale et de la toundra comme le caribou de la toundra, l’orignal, le bœuf musqué, le loup gris, l’ours noir, le grizzly, le renard roux et le renard arctique, le lynx, le carcajou, la loutre, le castor et le rat musqué, de même que de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux et de poissons.

Thaidene Nene est depuis longtemps une région culturelle importante pour la Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K’e et leurs ancêtres, comme le décrit leur vision (lien disponible en anglais seulement). La Nation métisse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a également des liens de longue date avec cette région, tout comme d’autres groupes autochtones.

La région de Thaidene Nene a été visitée pour la première fois par des Européens au début des années 1800; ils l’ont explorée pour se rendre dans le Nord et établir des corridors de commerce, dont la route utilisée pour accéder à la toundra à partir du Grand lac des Esclaves, qu’on appelle aujourd’hui le portage Pike. Les vestiges du fort Reliance, qui ont servi de base aux recherches pour retrouver l’expédition disparue de John Ross puis celle de Sir John Franklin, sont également situés dans les limites du projet de réserve de parc national. Fort Reliance est à la fois un lieu historique national et un lieu historique territorial.

Limites

Tente colorée dressée pour le camping dans une clairière, sous un ciel dégagé et ensoleillé
La région de Thaidene Nene est riche en possibilités récréatives
© Wayne Lynch, Parcs Canada

La réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene abrite une mosaïque complexe de lacs, de falaises, de plages, d’îles, de chutes et de certaines des eaux les plus profondes d’Amérique du Nord du célèbre Grand lac des Esclaves. Ce paysage accidenté et spectaculaire offre une transition abrupte entre la forêt boréale et la toundra et constitue un habitat important pour des mammifères et des poissons, gros ou petits, tout en offrant d’importants lieux de rassemblements à la sauvagine et des aires de nidification essentielles aux oiseaux de proie.

Avant de prendre une décision finale sur la réserve de parc national, Parcs Canada a mené des consultations auprès des groupes et communautés autochtones, des intervenants, des tierces parties et du public, puis rapporté les résultats de ces consultations à la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada.

Thaidene Nene permet l’atteinte d'objectifs clés de conservation et renforcent les possibilités économiques dans la région :

  • permet d’inclure une région naturelle encore non représentée dans le réseau des parcs nationaux; 
  • sa configuration permettra de maintenir l’intégrité écologique; 
  • comprend des secteurs qui offriront aux visiteurs des expériences emblématiques; 
  • permet des investissements en tourisme qui auront des retombées pour les communautés; 
  • exclut tous les secteurs où le potentiel d’extraction de minéraux est élevé; 
  • tient compte des intérêts des tierces parties; 
  • représente une contribution importante au Plan de conservation national.