Chronology

1969

A person walking in a tundra landscape, with low vegetation, near Artillery Lake
Exploring the diverse landscape of Thaidene Nëné
© David Murray, Parks Canada

The Government of Canada approached Chief Pierre Catholique of Łutsël K'e Dene First Nation (ŁKDFN), then known as the Snowdrift Band, with the concept for a new national park. At the time, there was insufficient support for the park proposal to proceed.

1970

To leave the option for a national park open, an area of 7,340km2 was set aside in a land withdrawal under the Territorial Lands Act in 1970.

1980s

In the latter half of the 1980s, provisions for establishment of a national park were negotiated as part of the Dene and Métis Comprehensive Land Claim. During this period Parks Canada entered into consultations with affected Dene and Métis; the federal government completed a Mineral and Energy Resource Assessment (MERA) for the 1970 land withdrawal; Parks Canada and the GNWT solicited public input about the proposal; and Parks Canada proposed boundaries for the national park.

1990

The Dene and Métis General Assembly rejected elements of the Dene and Métis Agreement and the federal government began a series of regional negotiations to settle the claims of the Dene and Métis of the Mackenzie Valley.

2000

Chief Felix Lockhart of ŁKDFN approached the Government of Canada to renew discussions about a proposed national park.

2001

With initiation of the Akaitcho Treaty 8 negotiations, ŁKDFN resumed discussions with Parks Canada about the national park proposal.

2005

Slope filled with bright flowers and remnants of burned forest behind
Fireweed is a commonly seen flower in the Thaidene Nëné area
© Wayne Lynch, Parks Canada

ŁKDFN requested that the Government of Canada reconsider the boundaries of the 1970 land withdrawal. In response, Parks Canada initiated a study to reassess the ‘area of interest’ for a national park including additional lands surrounding the East Arm of Great Slave Lake.

2006

ŁKDFN Chief Adeline Jonasson and the Federal Minister of Environment and Minister Responsible for Parks Canada signed a Memorandum of Understanding which defined a process for working together on matters pertaining to establishing a national park.

2007

An Interim Land Withdrawal of 26,350 km2 was added to the 1970 land withdrawal bringing the total study area to 33,690 km2. ŁKDFN Elders proposed the name Thaidene Nëné for the study area which means ‘Land of the Ancestors’ in the Chipewyan language.

2009

Parks Canada commissioned an Assessment of Landscape Values (Our Landscape Values) study for the Thaidene Nëné area to identify and assess ecological goods and services, and incorporate these goods and services into a cost-benefit analysis, for the potential establishment of a national park reserve.

Canada’s Northern Strategy was released including the conservation initiative to create a national park in the East Arm of Great Slave Lake.

2010

Parks Canada and ŁKDFN signed a Framework Agreement and began negotiation of an Establishment Agreement for the proposed Thaidene Nëné national park reserve. Parks Canada and the Northwest Territory Métis Nation (NWTMN) furthered discussions about the proposed negotiation of and Impact and Benefit Agreement. As well a draft National Parks Chapter was further considered within the Land and Resources Agreement between the NWTMN, the government of Canada and the GNWT.

2013

Parks Canada and ŁKDFN negotiators reached an agreement in principle on most elements of an Establishment Agreement. The agreement is subject to internal review and consultation by both ŁKDFN and Parks Canada. The Impact and Benefit Agreement negotiations, based on the language in the National Parks Chapter of the Land and Resources Agreement in Principle, began between Parks Canada and the NWTMN.

2014

Through the Northwest Territories Devolution Act, pursuant to the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement, signed by the governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories, the lands of the Thaidene Nëné proposal came under the administration and control of the Government of the Northwest Territories effective April 1, 2014. The Thaidene Nëné Interim Land Withdrawal, under the authority of the Territorial Lands Act was renewed and will continue to March 31, 2016.

2015

In January, the GNWT initiated work on developing a matrix of protected area designations and northern tools for the 33,600 square kilometre Thaidene Nëné land withdrawal area. It was agreed that a In January 2015, the GNWT initiated work on developing a matrix of protected area designations and northern tools for the 33,600 km2 Thaidene Nëné land withdrawal area. Through a series of meetings with Parks Canada, GNWT, £utsël K'e Dene First Nation, Northwest Territory Métis Nation and Aboriginal groups, it was agreed that a proposal for a national park reserve of 14,000 km2 would be part of that matrix.

On June 10, Parks Canada and the NWTMN negotiators reached an agreement in principle on most elements of an Impact and Benefit Agreement. The agreement is subject to internal review and consultation by both the NWTMN and Parks Canada.

The Government of Canada announced its proposed boundary for a national park reserve in the Thaidene Nëné area on July 29th, and launched formal consultations on the boundary.

1969

Une personne marche dans un paysage de toundra, à travers la végétation basse, près du lac Artillery
Découvrir le paysage diversifié de Thaidene Nene
© David Murray, Parcs Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada entre en contact avec Pierre Catholique, chef de la Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K'e (PNDŁK) alors connue sous le nom de bande de Snowdrift, pour lui présenter un projet de nouveau parc national. À l’époque, la proposition ne recueille pas suffisamment d’appuis pour aller de l’avant.

1970

Pour préserver la possibilité d’un nouveau parc national, un secteur de 7 340 kilomètres carrés est mis en réserve en vertu de la Loi sur les terres territoriales.

Années 1980

Dans la deuxième moitié des années 1980, on négocie des dispositions pour la création d’un parc national dans le cadre de la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et des Métis. Parcs Canada entreprend alors des consultations avec les Dénés et les Métis concernés; le gouvernement fédéral réalise une évaluation des ressources minérales et énergétiques (ERME) pour les terres mises en réserve en 1970; Parcs Canada et le GTNO demandent les commentaires du public sur le projet; Parcs Canada propose des limites pour le parc national.

1990

L’assemblée générale des Dénés et des Métis rejette certains éléments de l’Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et des Métis et le gouvernement fédéral entame une série de négociations régionales pour régler les revendications des Dénés et des Métis de la vallée du Mackenzie.

2000

Le chef de la PNDŁK, Felix Lockhart, prend contact avec le gouvernement du Canada pour reprendre les discussions sur le projet de parc national.

2001

Avec le début des négociations sur le Traité no 8 d’Akaitcho, la Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K'e reprend les discussions avec Parcs Canada sur le projet de parc national.

2005

Une pente couverte de fleurs aux couleurs vives, avec, en arrière plan, ce qui reste d’une forêt incendiée
L’épilobe à feuilles étroites est une fleur courante dans la région de Thaidene Nene
© Wayne Lynch, Parcs Canada

La PNDŁK demande au gouvernement du Canada de revoir les limites des terres mises en réserve en 1970. Parcs Canada lance donc une étude pour réévaluer la « zone d’intérêt » pour le parc national, y compris des terres supplémentaires autour du bras Est du Grand lac des Esclaves.

2006

La chef de la PNDŁK, Adeline Jonasson et le ministre fédéral de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada signent un protocole d’entente qui définit un processus de collaboration sur les questions relatives à la création d’un parc national.

2007

De nouvelles terres sont provisoirement mises en réserve pour une superficie de 26 350 kilomètres carrés; elles s’ajoutent aux terres mises en réserve en 1970 et portent l’ensemble de la zone d'étude à 33 690 km2. Les Aînés de la PNDŁK proposent le nom de Thaidene Nene pour la zone à l’étude; cela signifie « Terre des ancêtres » en chippewyan.

2009

Parcs Canada commande une étude des valeurs associées aux paysages (Our Landscape Values) pour la zone projetée de Thaidene Nene afin de dresser la liste des biens et services écologiques, de les évaluer et de les intégrer à une analyse de rentabilité en vue de la création potentielle d’une réserve de parc national.

Le gouvernement du Canada lance sa Stratégie pour le Nord, qui comprend un projet de création d’un parc national dans la région du bras Est du Grand lac des Esclaves.

2010

Parcs Canada et la PNDŁK signent une entente-cadre et entament des négociations sur une entente de création pour le projet de réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene. Parcs Canada et la Nation métisse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (NMTNO) poursuivent leurs discussions sur le projet et sur l’entente sur les répercussions et les avantages. On envisage également d’ajouter un chapitre sur les parcs nationaux dans l’entente sur les terres et les ressources entre la NMTNO, le gouvernement du Canada et le GTNO.

2013

Les négociateurs de Parcs Canada et de la PNDŁK concluent une entente de principe sur la plupart des éléments de l’entente de création. L’entente est sujette à un examen et à une consultation au sein de la PNDŁK et de Parcs Canada. Parcs Canada et la NMTNO entament des négociations sur l’entente sur les répercussions et les avantages, basées sur la formulation du chapitre de l’entente de principe sur les terres et les ressources portant sur les parcs nationaux.

2014

En vertu de la Loi sur le transfert des responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et conformément à l’Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités liées aux terres et aux ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, signée par le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les terres visées par le projet Thaidene Nene passent sous l’administration et le contrôle du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à compter du 1er avril 2014. La mise en réserve provisoire des terres de Thaidene Nene, en vertu de la Loi sur les terres territoriales, est renouvelée jusqu’au 31 mars 2016.

2015

En janvier 2015, le GTNO a lancé des travaux sur la création d’une matrice de désignation des aires protégées et des outils nordiques pour les 33 600 km2 des terres de Thaidene Nene mises en réserve. Dans le cadre d’une série de réunions entre Parcs Canada, le GTNO, la Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K'e, la nation métisse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et les groupes autochtones, on a convenu qu’une réserve de parc national de 14 000 km2 ferait partie de cette matrice.

Le 10 juin, les négociateurs de Parcs Canada et de la NMTNO concluent une entente de principe sur la plupart des éléments d’une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages. L’entente est sujette à examen et à consultation au sein de la NMTNO et de Parcs Canada.

Le 29 juillet, le gouvernement du Canada annonce les limites proposées pour la réserve de parc national dans le secteur Thaidene Nene, et lance des consultations officielles sur ces limites.

2019

Le gouvernement du Canada a signé des accords avec le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Łutsël K’e Dene First Nation, la nation métisse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la Deninu K’ue First Nation, ainsi qu’une entente de principe avec la Yellowknives Dene First Nation, afin d’établir Thaidene Nene comme 47e parc national du Canada.