A view from an aircraft window looks out across a partially snow covered tundra landscape under bright blue sky. Some areas on Bathurst Island are key habitat for Peary caribou.

The proposal to establish Qausuittuq National Park is part of Parks Canada’s goal to complete Canada’s National Parks System Plan.  The plan divides Canada into 39 natural regions, ten of which are found either partly or completely within Nunavut.  The goal is to establish one park in each of these natural regions and northern Bathurst Island has been identified as having representative characteristics of the Western High Arctic Natural Region.

The dramatic landscape of Bathurst Island also holds natural and cultural importance.  The proposed national park will encompass key wildlife habitat including, in particular, travel routes, calving grounds and wintering grounds for Peary caribou, which were listed as endangered under Canada’s Species at Risk Act in 2011.

Stones are piled high on  the rocky landscape to form a cairn. Impressive in size and construction, this cairn on Helena Island, within the proposed Bathurst Island National Park , was built in 1853 by one of the British Naval Franklin search expeditions.

Archaeological studies in the Bathurst Island complex indicate occasional human use over the past 4500 years.  Both prehistoric as well as historic Dorset and Thule Inuit cultures are known to have been present in the area.  Human presence fluctuated with changes in climate, ice cover and the corresponding availability of wildlife for subsistence.

The community of Resolute, located on Cornwallis Island to the southeast of the proposed national park, was established in 1953 and Inuit from the community still travel the land and waters of the Bathurst Island area to hunt, fish and trap.

Vue aérienne de la toundra partiellement enneigée sur fond de ciel bleu. Certaines régions del’île Bathurst constitue un habitat essentiel du caribou de Peary.

Le projet d’établissement du parc national Qausuittuq fait partie de l’objectif de Parcs Canada de terminer son Plan de réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada. Ce plan divise le Canada en 39 régions naturelles, dont 10 se situent entièrement ou partiellement dans le Nunavut. Le but est d’établir un parc dans chacune de ces régions naturelles, et le secteur du nord de l’île Bathurst a été identifié comme possédant les caractéristiques représentatives de la région naturelle de l’Extrême-Arctique Ouest.

Des pierres sont empilées sur le sol rocheux pour former un cairn. Impressionnant de par sa taille et sa construction, ce cairn, situé sur l’île Helena, au parc proposé de l’île Bathurst, a été construit en 1853 lors de l’une des expéditions de la Marine britannique à la recherche de Franklin.

Les paysages spectaculaires de l’île Bathurst ont aussi une importance naturelle et culturelle. Le parc national proposé englobera des habitats fauniques essentiels, notamment des lieux de passage, des terrains de mise bas et des aires d'hivernage fréquentés par le caribou de Peary, espèce considérée depuis 2011 comme étant en voie de disparition, aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada.

Des études archéologiques réalisées dans la région de l’île Bathurst ont démontré la présence occasionnelle d’humains au cours des 4,500 dernières années. Des peuples de culture dorsétienne et thuléenne inuite, tant préhistorique qu’historique, ont déjà occupé la région. La présence d’humains a fluctué au gré des changements climatiques et des variations de la couche de glace qui eurent une incidence sur la disponibilité des espèces sauvages nécessaires à leur subsistance.

La communauté de Resolute, située sur l’île Cornwallis, au sud-est du parc national proposé, a été établie en 1953, et les Inuits de cette communauté continuent de parcourir les terres et les plans d’eau de la région de l’île Bathurst pour chasser, pêcher et faire du trappage.