The protection of the Hog Island Sandhills carries incredible meaning for many people. The First Nations of Prince Edward Island, the Government of Prince Edward Island, and the Government of Canada agree the undertaking of a feasibility assessment is merited, and an important step toward the lasting preservation of the area.

Protecting this area means Canada takes one more step towards achieving its goal of protecting 25 percent of the nation’s land and water by 2025. If established, a new national park reserve in the Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills) would represent and protect culturally significant First Nations heritage locations, geologically significant features, and important ecological habitats.

What this means for the area and for the Province of Prince Edward Island is the addition of an important officially-protected area. It means more research into coastal erosion, and more emphasis placed on understanding the impacts of climate change on the shores of PEI. It means the protection a 50-kilometer-long string of barrier islands along the northwestern coast of PEI.

For the Mi’kmaq, it means the protection of not only the barrier islands, but important cultural and historical heritage. The Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills) area is fabled in Mi’kmaq culture and stories of the islands reach back generations. Home of multiple archaeological sites, rare geological formations, and ceremonial lands, protecting Pituamkek means ensuring that the Mi’kmaq connection to these ancestral lands is not only recognised, but supported, preserved, and fostered.

Parks Canada is working with the Mi’kmaq First Nation governments and the Government of Prince Edward Island to conduct a feasibility assessment for the potential establishment and management of the proposed new national park reserve in Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills).


The potential benefits of a national park reserve in the Pituamkek region

Conservation and protection
  • The conservation of one of Eastern Canada’s most unique coastal habitats – one which has played a significant cultural role for Mi’kmaq communities for thousands of years
  • Increased protection of federally and provincially listed species at risk and their habitats including, but not limited to; the little brown bat, the northern long-eared bat, the piping plover, and the Gulf St. Lawrence aster
  • Protection of a significant and diverse region of our country facing the effects of climate change
  • The protection of natural and cultural resources of the lands through Parks Canada’s management program and mandate to foster public understanding, appreciation, and enjoyment
  • The management of activities within the proposed national park reserve in a more ecologically holistic manner
Relationships
  • Strengthen the relationship between the Governments of Canada, Prince Edward Island, and the Mi’kmaq People of Prince Edward Island through a new partnership
  • Help to preserve Mi’kmaq cultural land use traditions
  • Consult on the park concept development process with a different focus aligned to organizations’ priorities all leading to a common goal – the protection of the Pituamkek area
Economic opportunities
  • Provide opportunities for residents and visitors to continue to experience and appreciate this environment
  • Encouragement of ecologically sustainable economic opportunities in the region

Timeline
Find out where we are in the journey of creating a national park reserve in Pituamkek.


More information

La protection de l’île Hog et des dunes Sandhills est extrêmement importante pour beaucoup de gens. Les Premières Nations de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le gouvernement provincial et le gouvernement du Canada s’entendent sur le fait que la tenue d’une étude de faisabilité est justifiée et représente un jalon important dans la préservation durable du secteur.

En protégeant celui-ci, le Canada ferait un pas de plus vers l’atteinte de son objectif de protéger 25 % de ses terres et de ses eaux d’ici 2025. Si elle est créée, la nouvelle réserve de parc national de Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills) protégerait des exemples représentatifs du paysage, des trésors du patrimoine autochtone, des caractéristiques géologiques importantes et des habitats écologiques vitaux.

Pour le secteur et le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, cette mesure viendrait officialiser la protection d’un lieu important. Elle engendrerait de nouvelles recherches sur l’érosion côtière et accroîtrait l’importance accordée à la compréhension des effets du changement climatique sur le littoral de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. De plus, cette mesure assurerait la protection d’un cordon littoral de 50 km le long de la côte nord-ouest de la province.

Pour les Mi’kmaq, la création de la réserve de parc assurerait la protection non seulement du cordon littoral, mais aussi d’un important patrimoine culturel et historique. Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills) est un secteur légendaire très présent dans la culture Mi’kmaq et dans des récits remontant à plusieurs générations. Il abrite de multiples sites archéologiques, des formations géologiques rares et des lieux de cérémonie. Sa protection signifierait que les liens unissant les Mi’kmaq à ce territoire ancestral sont non seulement reconnus, mais aussi soutenus, préservés et promus.

Parcs Canada collabore avec les gouvernements des Premières Nations Mi’kmaq et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour réaliser une étude de faisabilité sur la création et la gestion d’une nouvelle réserve de parc national à Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills).


Bienfaits possibles d’une réserve de parc national dans la région de Pituamkek

Conservation et protection
  • Assurer la conservation d’un des habitats côtiers les plus exceptionnels de l’Est du Canada – un habitat qui joue un rôle culturel important pour les Mi’kmaq depuis des milliers d’années
  • Offrir une protection accrue aux espèces en péril inscrites aux registres fédéral et provincial ainsi qu’à leur habitat, notamment la petite chauve-souris brune, la chauve-souris nordique, le pluvier siffleur et l’aster du golfe Saint-Laurent
  • Assurer la protection d’une région importante et diversifiée de notre pays qui subit les effets du changement climatique
  • Assurer la protection de ressources naturelles et culturelles du territoire grâce au programme de gestion de Parcs Canada et à son mandat, qui consiste à en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance
  • Gérer des activités d’une manière holistique et respectueuse de l’environnement dans la réserve de parc national proposée
Relations
  • Renforcer la relation entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard par l’intermédiaire d’un nouveau partenariat
  • Contribuer à préserver les traditions Mi’kmaq liées à l’utilisation culturelle du territoire
  • Mener des consultations sur le processus d’élaboration du concept du parc en s’alignant sur les priorités des organisations, lesquelles convergent toutes vers un objectif commun : la protection de la région de Pituamkek
Possibilités économiques
  • Offrir aux résidents et aux visiteurs l’occasion de continuer de faire l’expérience de cet environnement et de l’apprécier à sa juste valeur
  • Favoriser des possibilités économiques écologiquement viables dans la région

Calendrier et prochaines étapes
Voyez où nous en sommes dans nos efforts pour la création de la réserve de parc national Pituamkek.


En plus