MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

BETWEEN

Her Majesty The Queen in Right OF CANADA AS REPRESENTED BY THE MINISTER OF THE ENVIRONMENT FOR THE PURPOSES OF THE PARKS CANADA AGENCY

(“CANADA”)

AND

THE MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW-SAQMAQ (THE MI’KMAW NATION GOVERNMENT OF PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND AS REPRESENTED BY THE PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND CHIEFS)

(“MI’KMAQ EPEKWITNEWAQ” (THE MI’KMAW NATION IN EPEKWITK)

COLLECTIVELY REFERRED TO IN THIS MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING AS THE “PARTIES”

RESPECTING

THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A NATIONAL PARK RESERVE IN

Pituamkek

(HOG ISLAND-SANDHILLS REGION OF PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND)


PREAMBLE

  1. WHEREAS Pituamkek (“at the long sand dunes”) has helped sustain the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq (the Prince Edward Island Mi’kmaq) for thousands of years and will continue to do so;
  2. WHEREAS the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1725, 1749, 1752, 1760/61 and 1779, signed by the Crown and the Mi’kmaq are solemn and binding agreements which set out ongoing promises, and mutual obligations and benefits for the Mi’kmaq and the Crown, but which do not cede Mi’kmaq Aboriginal title to the land;
  3. WHEREAS Section 35(1) of the Constitution Act, 1982 recognizes and affirms “the existing aboriginal and treaty rights of the aboriginal peoples of Canada”
  4. WHEREAS the Parties fully support the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and commit to implement the Declaration in the context of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act, S.C. 2021 c. 14 ;
  5. WHEREAS the Parties are committed to true and lasting reconciliation and a renewed government to government relationship that recognizes the ongoing presence and inherent rights of the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq, of which the member communities include the Lennox Island First Nation and the Abegweit First Nation;
  6. WHEREAS the Parties jointly announced in 2019 the launch of a tri-partite process to determine the terms and conditions to establish, develop and operate a proposed national park reserve in treating the area with the highest degree of respect and protecting and managing it for present and future generations of Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq, Prince Edward Islanders and all Canadians;
  7. WHEREAS after reviewing the results of a series of studies and community and stakeholder consultations, the government of Canada and the Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow (the Mi’kmaq Nation Government of Prince Edward Island) have concluded that the proposed national park reserve is feasible and have agreed to undertake the necessary work to protect the Pituamkek the area under the Canada National Parks Act;
  8. WHEREAS the establishment of a proposed national park reserve in Pituamkek will result in contributing to Canada’s international and domestic commitments and serve as a model as to how Crown and Indigenous governments can collaborate;
  9. WHEREAS the protection of species and ecosystems of cultural significance and endangered species and endangered habitats is a common goal of the Parties to ensure the living connection between land and people, between water and land, and between culture and ecology remains intact for present and future generations and acknowledges the need for broader management of cultural and ecological values across Epekwitk (Prince Edward Island) as the Parties work towards the common goal of protecting Pituamkek; and
  10. WHEREAS the Mi’kmaq Epekwitknewaq Kapmntemuow have designated Pituamkek as a Mi’kmaq Heritage Landscape and an Indigenous Protected and Conserved Area.

    NOW THEREFORE the Government of Canada and the Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow agree as follows:

ESTABLISHMENT OF A NATIONAL PARK RESERVE

  1. The Parties agree that it is feasible to continue to work together towards the establishment of a national park reserve in the Pituamkek region of Prince Edward Island by negotiating the necessary agreement to establish a national park reserve under the Canada National Parks Act, referred to hereafter as the “establishment agreement”
  2. The working boundary for the proposed national park reserve is depicted in Annex 1.
  3. In negotiating the protection of the Pituamkek region, the Parties will be mindful that all social and ecological management is consistent with Netukulimk, which has its origin in inherent right and is the long held Mi’kmaq philosophy that the use of the natural bounty provided by the Creator is for self support and well-being of the individual and the community by achieving adequate standards of community nutrition and economic and spiritual well-being, without jeopardizing the integrity, diversity or productivity of the natural bounty.
  4. The establishment, development, management and operation of a national park reserve in Pituamkek will respect Aboriginal and treaty rights consistent with Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
  5. The Parties agree to support a consensus approach to decision making in the negotiation and implementation of the national park reserve establishment agreement, and the ability for the Parties to make decisions together as to how Pituamkek will be used and what economic benefits will be derived in the context of conservation, use and management. These concepts will be protected as described in the establishment agreement.

PROPOSED NATIONAL PARK RESERVE AREA BOUNDARY

  1. The boundary of the proposed national park reserve in Pituamkek is intended to be substantially along the lines of the map in Annex 1, and encompass an area of approximately 3000 hectares (30km2).

    The Parties agree that the final boundary of the proposed national park reserve will be supported and informed by ongoing discussions regarding existing and proposed protected areas in Pituamkek, including federal, provincial, and Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow protection initiatives which could lead to the achievement of larger conservation goals and support ecosystem connectivity. The Parties agree that best efforts should be made to work with adjacent land owners to support and protect cultural and ecological integrity within the Pituamkek area.
  2. In negotiating the establishment agreement, the initial focus will be on transferring the administration and control of Crown lands as the first phase of the proposed national park reserve, supplemented by the possible purchase of private lands within the Pituamkek area by Canada at fair market value on a willing seller – willing buyer basis.
  3. As directed by Parliament under the Canada National Parks Act, Canada cannot and will not expropriate private property in order to establish or expand a national park or national park reserve. Private lands will only be acquired for the proposed national park reserve purposes on a willing seller – willing buyer basis.
  4. All public utility corridors and associated statutory rights of way will remain under the administrative authority of that specific utility/statutory right of way.
  5. Residents will not have to pay a fee to access their homes/private property or to receive guests.
  6. The establishment of the proposed national park reserve will not change the jurisdiction of Indigenous, local, provincial or federal governments in relation to the lands adjacent to it.

NEGOTIATION OF ESTABLISHMENT AGREEMENT

  1. Canada and the Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow, will proceed to negotiate a formal national park reserve establishment agreement that will define the terms and conditions for the establishment, development, management and operation of a national park reserve.
  2. Prior to initiating negotiations towards a national park reserve establishment agreement, the Parties will organize a joint workshop for their representatives for the purpose of reviewing and understanding the relevant laws and governance mechanisms that the Parties must be mindful of in negotiating an establishment agreement.
  3. Negotiation of an establishment agreement will allow the Parties to recommend to their respective decision- making bodies the protection of the lands and waters currently under the administration and control of Canada or the Government of Prince Edward Island which will be described within the proposed boundary under the Canada National Parks Act and the Parties will be mindful of inherent right and Netukulimk.
  4. For greater clarity, the authority to enter into the national park establishment agreement will require additional approvals from each of the Parties.
  5. Without an establishment agreement reached between the Parties under clause 15, the federal Minister of the Environment and the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaw-Saqmaq (the Prince Edward Island Mi’kmaq Chiefs) will not recommend establishment of a national park reserve.
  6. The proposed national park reserve establishment agreement will include provisions related to:
    1. finalization of the boundary for the proposed national park reserve in the Pituamkek region;
    2. timing and process for the transfer of administration and control of provincial protected areas and Crown lands to Canada for the proposed national park reserve;
    3. management of said lands between the coming into effect of the establishment agreement and the date the lands are listed under Schedule 2 of the Canada National Parks Act;
    4. federal investment in the establishment, development, management and operation of the national park reserve; and
    5. any other items to which the Parties agree.
  7. The proposed national park reserve establishment agreement will also include provisions specific to Mi’kmaq inherent right, Netukulimk, and Mi’kmaq culture and history related to:
    1. co-operative management regime that defines how the Parties will work together to establish, develop and manage a national park reserve, management planning and the development of a system that includes traditional/cultural management and western methodologies;
    2. affirming the continuation of fishing, hunting, water access and management, gathering, foods and medicines, and associated management practises, and provisions for the mitigation of any impacts to Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq for traditional use and harvesting within the proposed national park reserve.
    3. protection and management of spiritual or culturally significant sites and special management areas (e.g. hunting areas, etc.) and ongoing use and access to such areas including campsites, pictograph sites, archaeological sites, and ceremonial sites;
    4. the use of Mi’kmawey Kjijitaqn (traditional ecological knowledge) in protection, management and harvest practises including fire and water management;
    5. engagement of Mi’kmawey Kjijitaqn (traditional ecological knowledge) of elders and youth, and the promotion and use of Mi’kmaq language and cultural knowledge and resource management within all aspects of national park reserve implementation;
    6. training opportunities to assist Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq community members to take advantage of employment opportunities in the national park reserve;
    7. economic and employment opportunities for the Epekwitnewaq Mi'kmaq in the national park reserve and measures which will be adopted to assist the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq to take advantage of such opportunities in the national park reserve; and
    8. emergency measures and mitigation (e.g. fire, floods, invasive species issues, etc.).
  8. Canada will fund any reasonable additional financial requirements of the Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow that may be required to enable the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq to participate effectively in negotiation of the establishment agreement, participate in community engagement and consultation, and participate in public consultation.
  9. The proposed national park reserve establishment agreement may also include provisions specific to third party interests related to terms and conditions of existing leases, licenses, permits, a local advisory committee to provide advice on park issues as they pertain to local community matters, and other authorizations as required.

COMMUNICATIONS SECTION

  1. Upon signing, this Memorandum of Understanding will be considered a public document and will be made available to the public.
  2. The Parties commit to developing a communications protocol covering all communications regarding the negotiation and establishment of a proposed national park reserve.
  3. The Parties agree to develop and distribute communications material on an on-going basis in order to convey updates on the establishment process of the proposed national park reserve.

EFFECT OF MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

  1. This Memorandum of Understanding is an expression of the mutual intentions of the Parties and is not legally binding on them or enforceable against them.
  2. This Memorandum of Understanding is not intended to be, and is not a treaty or land claim agreement within the meaning of sections 25 and 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
  3. This Memorandum of Understanding is an expression of the mutual intentions and goodwill of the Parties and is not intended to create, affect or deny any rights, claims, positions or obligations of any of the Parties.
  4. In recognition and respect for the different languages spoken by the Parties to the Memorandum of Understanding the Parties have defined the Mi’kmaq terms in the Memorandum of Understanding, with the English word or phrase in parenthesis immediately after the Mi’kmaq term.
  5. This Memorandum of Understanding will come into effect when signed by the Parties and will remain in effect until a proposed national park reserve establishment agreement is negotiated or a Party withdraws from the Memorandum of Understanding.
  6. This Memorandum of Understanding can only be amended with the prior written consent of both Parties.
  7. A Party may withdraw from the Memorandum of Understanding upon providing 60 days written notice to the other Parties.

This Memorandum of Understanding was signed this 19th day of January, 2022 by:

For the GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

The Honourable Steven Guibeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change

For the MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW-SAQMAQ

Chief Darlene Bernard

For the MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW-SAQMAQ

Chief Junior Gould

This MOU may be signed in any number of counterparts and such counterparts may be delivered by electronic mail, facsimile or other electronic means. Such counterparts, taken together, will constitute one and the same MOU.


ANNEX 1

Proposed national park reserve working boundary map
Proposed Pituamkek National Park Reserve working boundary map — Text version

This map shows the proposed working boundary of the proposed national park reserve in Pituamkek.

The study area begins to the east of Alberton, stretching from Oulete's Island in the west to the islands east of Lennox Island, slightly northwest of Malpeque Bay.

A dotted line indicates a broader area of Ecological and Cultural Interest, from which the working boundary was chosen.

Shaded areas on the map denote the land being considered as part of the national park reserve, identified as the Pituamkek Working Boundary.


More information

PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE

ENTRE

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CANADA, REPRÉSENTÉE PAR LE MINISTRE DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT, AGISSANT POUR LE COMPTE DE L’AGENCE PARCS CANADA

(« CANADA »)

ET

MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW SAQMAQ (LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA NATION MI’KMAW DE L’ÎLE DU PRINCE ÉDOUARD, REPRÉSENTÉ PAR LES CHEFS DE L’ÎLE DU PRINCE ÉDOUARD)

(« MI’KMAQ EPEKWITNEWAQ » [LA NATION MI’KMAW D’EPEKWITK])

DÉSIGNÉS COLLECTIVEMENT COMME LES « PARTIES » DANS LE CADRE DU PRÉSENT PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE

CONCERNANT

L’ÉTABLISSEMENT D’UNE RÉSERVE DE PARC NATIONAL À

Pituamkek

(RÉGION DE L’ÎLE HOG ET DES DUNES SANDHILLS DE L’ÎLE DU PRINCE ÉDOUARD)


PRÉAMBULE

  1. ATTENDU QUE Pituamkek (« à la longue dune de sable ») contribue à la subsistance des Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq (Mi’kmaq de l’Île du Prince Édouard) depuis des milliers d’années et continuera de le faire;
  2. ATTENDU QUE les Traités de paix et d’amitié de 1725, 1749, 1752, 1760-1761 et 1779, conclus entre la Couronne et les Mi’kmaq, sont des accords solennels et contraignants qui établissent des promesses continuelles ainsi que des obligations et des avantages mutuels pour les Mi’kmaq et la Couronne, mais qui ne cèdent pas le titre ancestral Mi’kmaq sur les terres;
  3. ATTENDU QUE le paragraphe 35(1) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 reconnaît et confirme «  [l]es droits existants – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des peuples autochtones du Canada […] »;
  4. ATTENDU QUE les parties appuient entièrement la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s’engagent à la mettre en œuvre dans le cadre de la Loi concernant la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, L.C., 2021, ch. 14;
  5. ATTENDU QUE les parties s’engagent à une réconciliation véritable et durable et à une relation de gouvernement à gouvernement renouvelée qui reconnaît la présence permanente et les droits inhérents des Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq, dont les communautés membres comprennent la Première Nation de Lennox Island et la Première Nation d’Abegweit;
  6. ATTENDU QUE les parties ont annoncé conjointement en 2019 le lancement d’un processus tripartite visant à déterminer les modalités d’établissement, d’aménagement et d’exploitation d’une réserve de parc national de façon à traiter la région avec le plus haut degré de respect et la protéger et à la gérer pour les générations actuelles et futures des Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq, des habitants de l’Île du Prince Édouard et de tous les Canadiens;
  7. ATTENDU QUE, après avoir examiné les résultats d’une série d’études et de consultations auprès de la communauté et des parties prenantes, le gouvernement du Canada et le Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow (gouvernement de la Nation Mi’kmaq de l’Île du Prince Édouard) ont conclu que la réserve de parc national proposée est faisable et ont convenu d’entreprendre les travaux nécessaires pour protéger la région de Pituamkek en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada;
  8. ATTENDU QUE l’établissement d’une réserve de parc national à Pituamkek contribuera aux engagements nationaux et internationaux du Canada et servira de modèle de collaboration entre la Couronne et les gouvernements autochtones;
  9. ATTENDU QUE la protection des espèces et des écosystèmes d’importance culturelle ainsi que des espèces et des habitats en voie de disparition est un objectif commun des parties pour préserver le lien vivant entre la terre et les personnes, entre l’eau et la terre et entre la culture et l’écologie au profit des générations actuelles et futures, et pour reconnaître la nécessité d’une gestion élargie des valeurs culturelles et écologiques dans l’ensemble d’Epekwitk (Île du Prince Édouard), alors que les parties travaillent à l’atteinte de l’objectif commun de protéger la région de Pituamkek;
  10. ATTENDU QUE le Mi’kmaq Epekwitknewaq Kapmntemuow a désigné Pituamkek comme un paysage patrimonial Mi’kmaq et une aire protégée et de conservation autochtone.

    POUR CES MOTIFS, le gouvernement du Canada et le Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow conviennent de ce qui suit :

ÉTABLISSEMENT D’UNE RÉSERVE DE PARC NATIONAL

  1. Les parties conviennent qu’il est possible de continuer à travailler ensemble à l’établissement de la réserve de parc national dans la région de Pituamkek à l’Île du Prince Édouard en négociant l’entente nécessaire pour établir une réserve de parc national en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, ci-après « entente d’établissement ».
  2. Les limites opérationnelles de la réserve de parc national proposée sont décrites à l’annexe 1.
  3. En négociant la protection de la région de Pituamkek, les parties veilleront à ce que la gestion sociale et économique respecte le principe Netukulimk, qui tire son origine du droit inhérent et qui est la philosophie mi’kmaq de longue date selon laquelle l’utilisation de la richesse naturelle apportée par le Créateur est destinée à l’autosuffisance et au bien-être de l’individu et de la communauté, leur permettant d’atteindre des normes adéquates de nutrition communautaire et de bien-être économique et spirituel sans compromettre l’intégrité, la diversité ou la productivité de la richesse naturelle.
  4. La création, l’aménagement, la gestion et l’exploitation d’une réserve à vocation de parc national à Pituamkek respecteront les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, conformément à l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.
  5. Les parties conviennent de privilégier une approche consensuelle à la prise de décisions et aux négociations dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l’entente d’établissement d’une réserve de parc national. Les parties auront la capacité de prendre des décisions ensemble sur la façon dont Pituamkek sera utilisé et les avantages économiques qui en découleront dans le contexte concomitant de sa conservation, de son utilisation et de sa gestion. Ces concepts seront protégés de la façon décrite dans l’entente d’établissement.

LIMITES DE LA RÉSERVE DE PARC NATIONAL PROPOSÉE

  1. Les limites de la réserve de parc national proposée à Pituamkek devraient essentiellement correspondre aux lignes de la carte figurant à l’annexe 1. La réserve couvrirait ainsi une superficie d’environ 3 000 hectares (30 km2).

    Les parties conviennent que les limites définitives de la réserve de parc national proposée seront fondées sur les discussions en cours concernant les aires protégées existantes et proposées à Pituamkek, y compris des initiatives de protection fédérales, provinciales et du Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow qui pourraient mener à l’atteinte d’objectifs de conservation plus vastes et appuyer la connectivité des écosystèmes. Les parties conviennent également de faire tout leur possible pour travailler avec les propriétaires fonciers adjacents dans le but de soutenir et de protéger l’intégrité culturelle et écologique au sein de la région de Pituamkek.
  2. Lors de la négociation de l’entente d’établissement, l’accent initial sera mis sur le transfert de l’administration et du contrôle des terres de la Couronne qui consistera en la première phase de la réserve de parc national proposée, complétée par l’achat possible, à l’intérieur des limites de Pituamkek, de terres privées par le Canada à la juste valeur marchande, dans le cadre d’une transaction conclue de gré à gré entre l’acheteur et le vendeur.
  3. Comme le Parlement l’a ordonné en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, le Canada ne peut procéder ni ne procédera à l’expropriation d’une propriété privée pour établir ou agrandir un parc national ou une réserve de parc national. L’acquisition des terres privées pour les besoins de la réserve de parc national proposée sera conclue uniquement d’un commun accord entre l’acheteur et le vendeur.
  4. Tous les corridors de services publics et les droits de passage connexes demeureront sous l’autorité administrative de cette emprise précise.
  5. Les résidents n’auront pas à payer de droits pour accéder à leur domicile/propriété privée ou y recevoir des invités.
  6. L’établissement de la réserve de parc national proposée ne changera pas la compétence des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et autochtones ni des administrations locales à l’égard des terres adjacentes.

NÉGOCIATION DE L’ENTENTE D’ÉTABLISSEMENT

  1. Le Canada et le Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow négocieront une entente officielle sur la création d’une réserve de parc national qui définira les modalités de l’établissement, de l’aménagement, de la gestion et de l’exploitation d’une réserve de parc national.
  2. Avant d’entamer des négociations en vue d’une entente d’établissement d’une réserve à vocation de parc national, les parties organiseront un atelier à l’intention de leurs représentants afin d’examiner et de comprendre les lois et les mécanismes de gouvernance pertinents dont les parties doivent tenir compte dans la négociation d’une entente d’établissement.
  3. La négociation d’une entente d’établissement permettra aux parties de recommander à leurs organes décisionnels respectifs la protection des terres et des eaux actuellement sous l’administration et le contrôle du Canada ou du gouvernement de l’Île du Prince Édouard qui seront désignés dans les limites proposées en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Les parties tiendront également compte du droit inhérent et du Netukulimk.
  4. Pour plus de certitude, le pouvoir de conclure l’entente d’établissement d’un parc national nécessitera des approbations supplémentaires de chacune des parties.
  5. En l’absence d’une entente d’établissement conclue entre les parties en vertu de l’article 15, le ministre fédéral de l’Environnement et les Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaw Saqmaq (chefs mi’kmaq de l’Île du Prince Édouard) ne recommanderont pas l’établissement d’une réserve de parc national.
  6. L’entente proposée pour la création d’une réserve de parc national comprendra des dispositions concernant :
    1. la finalisation des limites de la réserve de parc national proposée dans la région de Pituamkek;
    2. le calendrier et le processus de transfert de l’administration et du contrôle des aires protégées provinciales et des terres de la Couronne au Canada en vue de l’établissement de la réserve de parc national proposée;
    3. la gestion desdites terres entre la date de l’entente et la date à laquelle les terres sont inscrites en vertu de l’annexe 2 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada;
    4. l’investissement fédéral dans la création, l’aménagement, la gestion et l’exploitation de la réserve de parc national;
    5. tout autre point sur lequel les parties s’entendent.
  7. L’entente d’établissement de la réserve de parc national proposée comprendra également des dispositions propres au droit inhérent des Mi’kmaq, au Netukulimk ainsi qu’à la culture et à l’histoire des Mi’kmaq en ce qui concerne :
    1. le régime de gestion coopérative qui définit la façon dont les parties travailleront ensemble à l’établissement, à l’aménagement et à la gestion d’une réserve de parc national, à la planification de la gestion et à l’élaboration d’un système qui inclut la gestion traditionnelle/culturelle et les méthodes occidentales;
    2. l’affirmation du maintien de la pêche, de la chasse, de l’accès à l’eau et de la gestion de l’eau, de la cueillette, de la nourriture et des médicaments, ainsi que des pratiques de gestion connexes, et des dispositions pour l’atténuation de toute incidence sur les Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq en ce qui concerne les usages et la récolte traditionnels dans la réserve de parc national proposée;
    3. la protection et la gestion de sites d’importance spirituelle ou culturelle et de zones spéciales de gestion (p. ex., zones de chasse) ainsi que l’utilisation de ces zones et leur accès continu, y compris les sites de campement, les lieux de pictogrammes, les sites archéologiques et les sites cérémoniels;
    4. l’utilisation du Mi’kmawey Kjijitaqn (savoir écologique traditionnel) dans les pratiques de protection, de gestion et de récolte, y compris la gestion des incendies et de l’eau;
    5. la mobilisation du Mi’kmawey Kjijitaqn (savoir écologique traditionnel) des aînés et des jeunes, et la promotion et l’utilisation de la langue mi’kmaq, des connaissances culturelles et de la gestion des ressources dans tous les aspects de la mise en œuvre de la réserve à vocation de parc national;
    6. les possibilités de formation visant à aider les membres de la communauté des Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq à décrocher un emploi dans la réserve à vocation de parc national;
    7. les débouchés et les possibilités économiques s’offrant aux Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq dans la réserve de parc national et les mesures qui seront adoptées pour les aider à profiter de ces possibilités dans la réserve de parc national;
    8. les mesures d’urgence et d’atténuation (p. ex., incendies, inondations, problèmes liés aux espèces envahissantes).
  8. Le Canada financera tout besoin financier supplémentaire raisonnable du Mi’kmaq Epekwitnewaq Kapmntemuow, financement qui pourrait être nécessaire pour permettre aux du Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq de participer efficacement à la négociation de l’entente d’établissement, à la consultation publique ainsi qu’à la mobilisation et à la consultation de la communauté.
  9. L’entente d’établissement de la réserve de parc national proposée peut également comprendre des dispositions propres aux intérêts de tiers en ce qui a trait aux conditions des baux, des licences et des permis existants, d’un comité consultatif local chargé de fournir des conseils sur les questions relatives aux parcs concernant les affaires communautaires locales, et d’autres autorisations au besoin.

SECTION DES COMMUNICATIONS

  1. Le présent protocole d’entente sera considéré comme un document public dès qu’il sera signé et sera alors mis à la disposition du public.
  2. Les parties s’engagent à élaborer un protocole de communication couvrant toutes les communications concernant la négociation et l’établissement d’une réserve de parc national.
  3. Les parties conviennent d’élaborer et de distribuer des documents de communication de façon continue afin de faire le point sur le processus d’établissement de la réserve de parc national.

EFFET DU PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE

  1. Le présent protocole d’entente est l’expression des intentions mutuelles des parties. Il n’a aucun effet juridique contraignant ou exécutoire.
  2. Le présent protocole d’entente ne se veut pas et n’est pas un traité ou un accord sur des revendications territoriales au sens des articles 25 et 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.
  3. Le présent protocole d’entente témoigne des intentions mutuelles et de la bonne volonté des parties et n’a nullement pour effet de créer, de léser ou de nier les droits, revendications, positions ou obligations de l’une ou l’autre des parties.
  4. En reconnaissance des différentes langues parlées par les parties au présent protocole d’entente et afin de respecter cette réalité, les parties ont défini les termes mi’kmaq dans le protocole d’entente en ajoutant une traduction française entre parenthèses immédiatement après chaque terme mi’kmaq.
  5. Le présent protocole d’entente entrera en vigueur une fois qu’il aura été signé par les parties et demeurera en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’une entente d’établissement d’une réserve de parc national proposée soit négociée ou qu’une partie se retire du protocole d’entente.
  6. Le présent protocole d’entente ne peut être modifié qu’avec le consentement écrit préalable de toutes les parties.
  7. Une partie peut se retirer du protocole d’entente en donnant un préavis écrit de 60 jours aux autres parties.

EN FOI DE QUOI, LES PARTIES ONT SIGNÉ CE 19 JOUR DE JANVIER 2022

Pour le GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

L’honorable Steven Guibeault, Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique

Pour la MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW-SAQMAQ

Chief Darlene Bernard

Pour la MI’KMAWEY KAPMNT TA’N NIKANA’TU’TIJ EPEKWITNEWAQ MI’KMAW-SAQMAQ

Chief Junior Gould

Le présent accord peut être signé en un nombre quelconque d’exemplaires, et ces exemplaires peuvent être remis par courrier électronique, télécopie ou par tout autre moyen électronique. Tous ces exemplaires constituent ensemble un seul et même accord.


ANNEXE 1

Carte provisoire des limites de la réserve de parc national proposée
Carte du projet de la réserve de parc national Pituamkek — Version texte

Cette carte montre les limites provisoires de la réserve de parc national à Pituamkek.

L’aire d’étude commence à l’est d’Alberton, s’étendant de l’île d’Oulete à l’ouest, puis jusqu’aux îles à l’est de l’île Lennox, légèrement au nord-ouest de la baie Malpeque.

Une ligne pointillée indique une zone d'intéret écologique et culturel plus large à partir de laquelle la limite de travail a été choisie.

Les zones ombragées sur la carte indiquent les terres étant considérées comme faisant partie de la réserve du parc national, identifiées comme les limites géographiques provisoires de Pituamkek.


En plus