The creation of a new protected area is a complex process and the Government of Canada, L’nuey, and Government of Prince Edward Island will take the necessary time to ensure that all parties are engaged and that the appropriate consideration is given at each stage. As the characteristics and considerations of each proposal for a new national park or national park reserve are unique, there is no specific timeframe.

2006 to 2007
Prompted by long history and cultural traditions of the area, the First Nations, through the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of Prince Edward Island, arranged for an archaeological survey to be conducted in the Pituamkek area (Hog Island and Sandhills). With support from the Canadian Museum of Civilization (now known as the Canadian Museum of History), the survey recorded several important archaeological sites, which have since been the subject of detailed archaeological work done in partnership between the government of PEI and the PEI First Nations. The findings of this work have painted an increasingly detailed picture of the lives of the Mi’kmaq of millennia past in the Pituamkek area.
2008
The Government of Prince Edward Island and the First Nations first contacted the Minister of the Environment to make the case that, according to Parks Canada criteria, the Pituamkek area is of national significance and merits consideration for protected status.
2009
A tripartite group made of representatives from the federal, provincial and Mi’kmaq governments began a dialogue to find mutually acceptable ways to protect the Pituamkek area. Around this time, the Nature Conservancy of Canada began to acquire land for conservation purposes on Cascumpec and Conway islands.
2010 to 2018
During this time, important foundation work was continued by the Mi’kmaq First Nations, the Nature Conservancy of Canada, Island Nature Trust, and Parks Canada.
2019 to 2020
A feasibility assessment was launched in August 2019 to determine if, and under what conditions, a national park reserve could be established in Pituamkek of Prince Edward Island. The public consultation process was scheduled to begin in early 2020, but has been delayed by emergency orders surrounding the novel coronavirus. L’nuey, the Epekwitk Mi’kmaq Rights Initiative, was launched by the First Nations in September 2019 and was mandated to lead discussions and negotiations related to the feasibility study on behalf of the First Nations.
2020 to 2021
Between June 4, 2021 and July 23, 2021, Parks Canada and L’nuey, representing the Epekwitk Assembly of Councils, invited partners, stakeholders and the public to provide their input on key aspects for consideration in establishing a national park reserve in northwestern Prince Edward Island through a series of public engagement opportunities.

A third-party consultation company was hired in July 2021 to assess and report the findings of the public engagement and input phase. The report demonstrated almost unanimous support for the proposed creation of a national park reserve in the Pituamkek area (Public engagement survey and consultation summary).
2022
On January 19, 2022, the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, along with Chief Darlene Bernard and Chief Junior Gould, co-chairs of the Epekwitk Assembly of Councils, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to formally work towards the establishment of a new national park reserve in the Pituamkek area (Hog Island Sandhills) in Prince Edward Island.

Next steps

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) outlines next steps and provides a framework for collaboration as negotiations begin for an establishment agreement for the creation of the new national park reserve. Working together, the Government of Canada and the Epekwitnewaq Mi’kmaq are taking action to protect this iconic natural and cultural landscape for future generations.



More information

La création d’une aire protégée est un processus complexe. Le gouvernement du Canada, L’nuey et le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard prendront le temps qu’il faudra pour obtenir l’apport de toutes les parties et pour faire les examens et les réflexions nécessaires à chaque étape. Les caractéristiques et les aspects de chaque parc national ou réserve de parc national proposé sont uniques, et il n’y a donc pas de calendrier de déroulement précis.

De 2006 à 2007
Fortes de leur longue histoire et de leurs traditions culturelles dans la région, les Premières Nations Mi’kmaq, par l’entremise de la Confédération des Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, organisent des travaux de reconnaissance archéologique à Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills). Grâce à l’appui du Musée canadien de l’histoire (à l’époque, le Musée canadien des civilisations), les travaux permettent de recenser plusieurs sites archéologiques importants qui feront par la suite l’objet de fouilles minutieuses menées en partenariat avec le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les Premières Nations de la province. Les résultats de ce travail permettent de brosser un portrait de plus en plus détaillé de l’existence que menaient les Mi’kmaq il y a plusieurs milliers d’années dans la région de Pituamkek.
2008
Le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les Premières Nations Mi’kmaq communiquent pour la première fois avec le ministre de l’Environnement pour faire valoir que, selon les critères de Parcs Canada, la région de Pituamkek revêt une importance nationale et mériterait d’être désignée aire protégée.
2009
Un groupe tripartite formé de représentants du gouvernement du Canada, du gouvernement provincial et des gouvernements Mi’kmaq entame un dialogue pour trouver des moyens convenant à toutes les parties de protéger la région de Pituamkek. Durant cette période, Conservation de la nature Canada entreprend l’acquisition de terres à des fins de conservation sur les îles Cascumpec et Conway.
De 2010 à 2018
Pendant ce temps, les Premières Nations Mi’kmaq, Conservation de la nature Canada, la fondation Island Nature Trust et Parcs Canada poursuivent d’importants travaux pour jeter les bases du projet.
De 2019 à 2020
En août 2019, une étude de faisabilité est lancée pour déterminer s’il est possible de créer une réserve de parc national à Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhill), à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et, le cas échéant, dans quelles conditions. Les consultations publiques prévues pour le début de 2020 sont reportées en raison des mesures d’urgence entourant le nouveau coronavirus. L’nuey, organisme de défense des droits des Mi’kmaq d’Epekwitk, est fondé en septembre 2019 et se voit confier le mandat de mener les discussions et les négociations entourant l’étude de faisabilité au nom des Premières Nations.
De 2020 à 2021
Entre le 4 juin 2021 et le 23 juillet 2021, Parcs Canada et L’nuey, qui représente l’Assemblée des conseils d’Epekwitk, ont invité les partenaires, les intervenants et le public à donner leur avis sur les principaux aspects à prendre en considération pour la création d’une réserve de parc national dans le nord-ouest de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, dans le cadre d’une série d’occasions de participation du public.

Une société de consultation tierce a été engagée en juillet 2021 pour évaluer et rendre compte des résultats de la phase de participation et de contribution du public. Le rapport a démontré un soutien quasi unanime à la proposition de création d’une réserve de parc national dans la région de Pituamkek (Résumé du sondage et des consultations auprès du public).
2022
Le 19 janvier 2022, le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, l’honorable Steven Guilbeault, ainsi que les chefs Darlene Bernard et Junior Gould, coprésidents de l’Assemblée des conseils d’Epekwitk, ont signé un protocole d’entente afin de collaborer officiellement à la création d’une nouvelle réserve de parc national dans la région de Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills) à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Le protocole d’entente décrit les prochaines étapes et fournit le cadre de collaboration pour entamer les négociations visant un accord d’établissement pour la création de la nouvelle réserve de parc national. En travaillant ensemble, le gouvernement du Canada et les Mi’kmaq d’Epekwitnewaq prennent des mesures pour protéger ce paysage naturel et culturel emblématique pour les générations futures.



En plus