Located in northwestern Prince Edward Island (Epekwitk), the area known in the Mi’kmaq language as Pituamkek (Bee-doo-um-gek), which means ‘At the Long Sand Dune’, and in English as Hog Island and the Sandhills, is rich in ancient Mi’kmaq history. Working with linguists and Elders, the Mi’kmaq of PEI have discovered this word and uncovered its meaning. It is also home to an ongoing tradition of Mi’kmaq land and resource use.

Anko’tmu’kw aq mui’watmu’kw maqmikeminu tujiw ta’n aq wjit me’j teli-tko’tmu’kw kiskuk
To preserve and celebrate the ancestral and present connection to the land.

For thousands of years the Mi’kmaq People of eastern North America have frequented the shores and forests of Prince Edward Island, including Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills). Epekwitk (Prince Edward Island) has played an important role in the culture and history of the Mi’kmaq People.

In addition to the rich Mi’kmaq heritage, Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills) offers a series of stunning landscapes ranging from coastal dune systems to old-growth forests and Prince Edward Island’s only occurrence of igneous rock formations.

In August 2019, the Government of Canada, the Government of Prince Edward Island, and the Mi’kmaq Governments of Lennox Island and Abegweit First Nations announced the launch of a feasibility assessment on the establishment of a national park reserve in Pituamkek (Hog Island Sandhills).

A new national park reserve presents an opportunity to strengthen a nation-to-nation relationship with the Mi’kmaq of PEI, and will contribute to Canada and Prince Edward Island’s growing network of protected and conserved areas. These protected areas help safeguard Canada’s biodiversity and provide opportunities for Canadians to experience the outdoors, learn about our environment, and significantly contribute to the protection and preservation of Canada’s most vulnerable ecosystems.


Timeline
Find out where we are in the journey of creating a national park reserve in Pituamkek.


Images


More information

La région appelée Pituamkek (bi-dou-ehm-gèk), ou « À la longue dune de sable », dans la langue Mi’kmaq et île Hog et dunes Sandhills en français est riche en histoire ancienne des Mi’kmaq. Les Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont travaillé avec des linguistes et des aînés pour découvrir cette nouvelle forme du mot et en révéler la signification. Située dans le nord-ouest de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Epekwitk), elle abrite aussi une tradition vivante d’utilisation des terres et des ressources par les Mi’kmaq.

Anko’tmu’kw aq mui’watmu’kw maqmikeminu tujiw ta’n aq wjit me’j teli-tko’tmu’kw kiskuk
Pour préserver et célébrer les liens ancestraux et actuels à la terre.

Pendant des millénaires, le peuple Mi’kmaq de l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord a fréquenté le littoral et les forêts de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, y compris Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills). Epekwitk (l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard) a joué un rôle majeur dans la culture et l’histoire de ce peuple.

En plus de son riche patrimoine Mi’kmaq, Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills) se distingue par ses paysages saisissants, formés notamment de vieilles forêts et d’un réseau de dunes côtières, ainsi que par ses formations de roche ignée, les seules de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

En août 2019, le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les gouvernements Mi’kmaq des Premières Nations de Lennox Island et d’Abegweit ont annoncé le lancement d’une étude de faisabilité pour la création d’une réserve de parc national à Pituamkek (île Hog et dunes Sandhills).

La création d’une réserve de parc national représente une belle occasion de renforcer la relation de nation à nation avec les Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. De plus, ce projet contribuera au réseau grandissant d’aires protégées et de conservation du Canada et de la province. Ces aires protégées contribuent à préserver la biodiversité du Canada et offrent à la population canadienne des occasions de faire l’expérience du plein air, d’en apprendre davantage sur son environnement et de contribuer véritablement à la protection et à la préservation des écosystèmes les plus vulnérables du pays.

Calendrier et prochaines étapes
Voyez où nous en sommes dans nos efforts pour la création de la réserve de parc national Pituamkek.


Images


En plus