Feasibility Assessment (January 2011) Canada-British Columbia Steering Committee

Background

In 2002, representatives of the Okanagan Nation Alliance and community members were the first proponents for protecting the area around the South Okanagan Grasslands Protected Area as a national park reserve. In 2003, the governments of Canada and British Columbia signed a Memorandum of Understanding to cooperate on assessing the feasibility of establishing a national park reserve in the South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen region.

The Canada-British Columbia Steering Committee established a working group, comprised of representatives from the Government of British Columbia (Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Forests and Ministry of Agriculture and Lands) and Parks Canada, to facilitate implementation, coordination, and communication of the feasibility assessment process.

The South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen is part of the Interior Dry Plateau natural region of Canada, and one of 39 regions identified by Parks Canada as a distinctive component of the national landscape. This region is not yet represented in Canada’s system of national parks. Located in the extreme south of the Interior Dry Plateau where the northern edge of the Great Basin reaches into British Columbia, the South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen is one of Canada’s richest areas of biodiversity. From both national and provincial perspectives, this is an area of high conservation value and an excellent candidate area for Parks Canada to represent this natural region.

The feasibility assessment incorporated an iterative process of consultations, design, evaluation, and refinement of a park concept. Feedback from First Nations, local communities, and stakeholders was sought in order to develop a park concept which fits within the regional context. In 2006, feedback on the draft park concept was gathered from open houses, forums, workshops and meetings. Further discussions assisted Parks Canada and the Working Group in better understanding where common interests from First Nations, communities, the public, and stakeholders could be combined to build a common vision.

Revisions were made and a new 2010 park concept was completed (Figure 4).

Why a national park in the South Okanagan?

  • Enhance protection of British Columbia’s temperate grassland ecosystems – landscapes that are critically endangered globally.
  • Consolidate and connect the existing network of provincial and national protected areas – through the purchase of private lands and through partnerships with surrounding landowners and users.
  • Build strong and meaningful relationships with the Okanagan Nation.
  • Establish partnerships with the Okanagan Nation and local communities to collaborate on conservation, management and education – building upon traditional local ecological knowledge.
  • Facilitate collaboration between scientific researchers, ranchers, range professionals and the Okanagan Nation to achieve ecological management objectives and protect key “at risk” habitats within the national park reserve and to improve current range conditions in surrounding grasslands and to manage wildlands in rural-urban transition areas.
  • Make it easy for people from the Southern Interior and other Canadians to visit the park for an hour, a day or longer – by offering a wide range of first class opportunities to experience and connect with this nationally significant natural and cultural heritage area.
  • Raise the profile of the South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen as a tourism destination by adding new visitor experience opportunities to the existing marketing mix, encouraging investment in the local tourism infrastructure and creating strategic benefits for the tourism industry.

Concept

The South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen is characterized by a relatively dry, warm climate. The vegetation is predominantly grassland and shrub-steppe at lower elevations with coniferous parkland at higher elevations. This area is also recognized for its nationally significant wetlands and riparian areas that provide essential habitat to birds (Important Bird Areas), amphibians and reptiles. The South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen is one of Canada’s richest areas of natural biodiversity and has a large number of species and habitats at risk. Results from a Parks Canada conservation target analysis suggest that the 2010 Park Concept (Figure 4) adequately represents key biogeoclimatic zones, as well as priority habitats and special features. It represents the unique elements of biodiversity found in this region—and nowhere else in Canada. In addition, there are fifty-six federally-listed species at risk known to occur in the South Okanagan-Lower Similkameen and most are found within the park concept area. The 2010 park concept focuses on protection of the lower elevation grasslands where species diversity is highest and most at risk.

The 2010 Park Concept includes two distinct areas, the Northern Component and the South Okanagan Grasslands Component. The proposed boundary of the park reserve includes approximately 284 square kilometres of provincial parks and protected areas, multi-use Crown Lands, and private lands (private lands would be secured on a willing seller and willing buyer basis.) Derived from the 2006 draft park concept, changes to reduce the size of the park concept were made in response to First Nations, key stakeholders, and some members of the public who expressed concerns that the original plan was “too much, too fast.”

Northern Component highlights include:

  • 10 square kilometres of aquatic habitats, the rare ‘pocket desert’ habitat (antelope brush), species at risk, a concentration of cultural sites and a signature view
  • Cooperative management with the Canadian Wildlife Service at Vaseux Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary and Bighorn National Wildlife Area
  • Partnerships in adjacent areas including White Lake and Vaseux protected areas, National Research Council lands, and other conservation lands
  • Accessible nature education and interpretation values with excellent day use opportunities
  • Potential interpretive theme: ‘Snakes and Lakes’

South Okanagan Grasslands Component highlights include:

  • Grasslands, ponderosa pine parklands, interior Douglas fir forests and a scenic upland joining the Similkameen and Okanagan valleys
  • Approximately 93 square kilometres of provincial protected area in 5 parcels; 83 square kilometres of multi-use Crown land; 98 square kilometres of private land
  • Consolidation of fragmented protected areas; provide opportunities for road-accessible day use, trails, viewpoints, star gazing, interpretation
  • Experience elevation gradient spanning five ecosystems
  • Receive and orient visitors, and interpret the region at existing or new visitor centres (outside the park reserve)
  • Integrate an extensive trail system within the proposed park with existing community roads and trails
  • Potential interpretive theme: ‘From the Desert to the Stars’.

These two components make an important contribution towards Parks Canada’s national goals of representation of this natural region. The grasslands and other associated ecosystems are areas rich in biodiversity, and are home to many species. The diverse landscapes provide unique educational and visitor opportunities to experience one of the driest, hottest and most threatened ecosystems in Canada.

Figure 4

South Okanagan Grasslands Component

Conclusion

  1. A national park reserve is feasible;
  2. The proposed park reserve boundary contained herein be approved at a conceptual level;
  3. The governments of Canada and British Columbia sign a Memorandum of Understanding respecting the establishment of a national park reserve in the South Okanagan-Similkameen; and
  4. Parks Canada continue to work with the Okanagan Nation Alliance and affected bands to achieve shared understandings regarding the protection and future management of the park proposal area.

In 2011, officials with the governments of Canada and British Columbia concluded that a 284-square-kilometre national park reserve was feasible and recommended that work continue with the Okanagan First Nation. However, the B.C. Government determined that it was not ready to proceed with a national park reserve at that time.

Moving forward

From a Parks Canada perspective, when re-engaging on the proposal, some of the aspects to be addressed include:

  • agreeing on a final park boundary;
  • defining a cooperative management governance approach with the Okanagan Nation Alliance;
  • continuation of grazing activities on some park lands;
  • tourism development opportunities;
  • future of land-use activities that are incompatible with a national park reserve;
  • potential land acquisition;
  • reassuring the local helicopter company that its business would not be threatened by the park; and
  • securing the necessary federal funding to undertake the necessary work to achieve an agreement as well as establish, develop and operate the national park reserve.

Étude de faisabilité (janvier 2011) du Comité directeur Canada – Colombie-Britannique

Cette page Web résume le contexte et les conclusions d’une évaluation de faisabilité entreprise en 2011; certains renseignements présentés ici pourraient ne plus refléter l’état actuel du projet. Par exemple, depuis 2017, un comité directeur tripartite, composé de Parcs Canada, du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et de deux communautés membres représentantes de la Nation Syilx/Okanagan, de la bande indienne de Lower Similkameen et de la bande indienne d’Osoyoos, oriente désormais le processus d’établissement de la réserve de parc national proposée.

Des mises à jour sur la réserve de parc national proposée dans la région du sud de l’Okanagan et de Similkameen, notamment concernant le concept du parc, le comité directeur et l’état du projet, ainsi qu’une carte à jour de la zone du projet, sont accessibles à :

Contexte

En 2002, les représentants de l’Alliance de la Nation okanagan et des membres de la communauté ont été les premiers à promouvoir la protection de la zone entourant l’aire protégée des prairies de l’Okanagan-Sud en tant que réserve de parc national. En 2003, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique ont signé un protocole d’entente visant à collaborer à l’évaluation de la possibilité de créer une réserve de parc national dans la région de l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen.

Le comité directeur Canada – Colombie-Britannique a créé un groupe de travail composé de représentants du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique (ministère de l’Environnement, ministère des Forêts et ministère de l’Agriculture et des Terres) et de Parcs Canada afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre, la coordination et la diffusion du processus d’évaluation de la faisabilité.

L’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen fait partie de la région naturelle du Plateau Intérieur du Canada et de l’une des 39 régions que Parcs Canada a désignées comme une composante distinctive du paysage national. La région n’est pas encore représentée dans le réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada. Située à l’extrême sud du Plateau Intérieur où la limite nordique de la région de Great Basin touche à la Colombie-Britannique, l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen est l’une des zones du Canada où la biodiversité est la plus riche. Tant du point de vue national que provincial, cette zone est d’une grande valeur pour la conservation et une excellente candidate que Parcs Canada pourrait envisager pour représenter cette région naturelle.

L’étude de faisabilité comprenait un processus itératif de consultations, de conception, d’évaluation et de perfectionnement d’un concept de parc. On a sollicité la rétroaction des Premières Nations, des communautés locales et des intervenants afin d’élaborer un concept de parc qui serait adapté au contexte régional. En 2006, les commentaires concernant l’ébauche du concept de parc ont été recueillis dans des soirées portes ouvertes, des forums, des ateliers et des réunions. Des discussions approfondies ont aidé Parcs Canada et le groupe de travail à mieux comprendre où pouvaient se rejoindre les intérêts communs des Premières Nations, des communautés, du grand public et des intervenants pour créer une vision commune.

Des révisions ont été faites et un concept de parc actualisé a été achevé en 2010.

Pourquoi un parc national dans l’Okanagan-Sud - Similkameen?

  • Pour accroître la protection des écosystèmes de prairies tempérés de la Colombie-Britannique – des paysages qui sont gravement menacés à l’échelle mondiale.
  • Pour consolider et relier le réseau existant d’aires provinciales et nationales protégées.
  • Pour créer des liens solides et significatifs avec la Nation syilx/okanagan.
  • Pour établir des partenariats avec la Nation syilx/okanagan et les communautés locales et ainsi collaborer sur la conservation, la gestion et l’éducation – miser sur les connaissances traditionnelles locales en écologie.
  • Pour faciliter la collaboration entre les chercheurs, les grands éleveurs, les spécialistes des grands pâturages libres et la Nation syilx/okanagan et ainsi atteindre les objectifs de gestion écologique et protéger les principaux habitats « menacés » à l’intérieur de la réserve de parc national, améliorer les conditions actuelles des pâturages libres dans les prairies environnantes et gérer les friches dans les zones de transition rurales-urbaines.
  • Pour qu’il soit plus facile pour les gens de l’Intérieur sud et les autres Canadiens d’aller dans le parc pour une heure, une journée ou plus – en leur offrant un large éventail de possibilités de premier ordre qui leur permettront d’explorer ce lieu patrimonial naturel et culturel d’importance nationale et de s’en rapprocher.

Concept 2010

La région de l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen se caractérise par un climat relativement sec et chaud. La végétation est principalement constituée de prairies et de steppes arbustives à basse altitude et de forêts-parcs de conifères en haute altitude. La région est aussi reconnue pour ses zones riveraines et ses milieux humides d’importance nationale qui fournissent un habitat essentiel aux oiseaux (zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux), à la faune, aux amphibiens et aux reptiles. La région de l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen est l’une des plus riches sur le plan de la biodiversité naturelle et abrite un grand nombre d’espèces et d’habitats menacés. Les résultats d’une analyse des cibles de conservation menée par Parcs Canada semblent indiquer que le concept de parc de 2010 représente bien les zones biogéoclimatiques importantes ainsi que les habitats prioritaires et les caractéristiques particulières. Il est représentatif des éléments uniques de biodiversité que l’on trouve dans cette région – et nulle part ailleurs au Canada. En outre, il y a cinquante-six espèces en péril inscrites par le gouvernement fédéral qui vivent dans l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen et la plupart d’entre elles se trouvent dans l’aire visée par le concept de parc. Le concept de parc de 2010 est axé sur la protection des prairies de basse altitude où la diversité des espèces est la plus importante et la plus menacée.

Le concept de parc de 2010 comprend deux zones distinctes : la composante nord et la composante des prairies de l’Okanagan-Sud. La limite proposée pour la réserve de parc compte environ 284 kilomètres carrés d’aires protégées et de parcs provinciaux, et de terres de la Couronne à usage multiple. L’acquisition de propriétés privées dans les limites provisoires de la réserve de parc national proposée ne se fera que sur la base du consentement du vendeur et de l’acheteur. Découlant de l’ébauche de concept de parc de 2006, les changements qui visent à réduire la taille du concept de parc ont été faits en réaction aux Premières Nations, aux intervenants clés et à quelques personnes du grand public qui ont exprimé leurs inquiétudes face au plan initial : c’était trop, trop rapide.

Points saillants de la composante nord

  • 10 kilomètres carrés d’habitat aquatique, un habitat rare de terres désertiques (purshie tridentée), des espèces en péril, une concentration de sites culturels et un panorama exclusif
  • Cogestion avec le Service canadien de la faune, au refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs du lac Vaseux et à la Réserve nationale de faune Vaseux-Bighorn
  • Partenariats dans les zones adjacentes dont les aires protégées Vaseux et White Lake, les terres du Conseil national de recherches et d’autres terres protégées
  • Éducation sur la nature et données d’interprétation accessibles, en plus d’excellentes possibilités d’activités diurnes
  • Thème d’interprétation potentiel : « Serpents et lacs »

Points saillants de la composante des prairies de l’Okanagan-Sud

  • Prairies, forêts-parcs de pins ponderosa, forêts de douglas de l’intérieur et hautes terres panoramiques reliant les vallées de la Similkameen et de l’Okanagan
  • Environ 93 kilomètres carrés d’aire protégée provinciale en cinq parcelles; 83 kilomètres carrés de terres de la Couronne à usage multiple; 98 kilomètres carrés de terres privées
  • Consolidation des aires protégées fragmentées; possibilités d’accéder en véhicule aux aires de fréquentation diurne, sentiers, belvédères, observation des étoiles, interprétation
  • Traverse un gradient d’altitude englobant cinq écosystèmes
  • Réception et orientation des visiteurs, et interprétation de la région aux centres d’accueil, existants ou nouveaux (à l’extérieur de la réserve du parc)
  • Intégration d’un vaste réseau de sentiers dans le parc proposé, avec les routes et les sentiers locaux existants
  • Thème d’interprétation potentiel : « Du désert aux étoiles »

Ces deux composantes contribuent de manière importante aux objectifs nationaux de Parcs Canada concernant la représentation de la région naturelle du Plateau intérieur. Les prairies et autres écosystèmes connexes sont des zones riches en biodiversité et abritent de nombreuses espèces. Les paysages diversifiés fournissent des possibilités uniques d’apprentissage et permettent aux visiteurs de découvrir un des écosystèmes parmi les plus secs, les plus chauds et les plus menacés au Canada.

Recommandations

  1. L’établissement d’une réserve de parc national est possible.
  2. Les limites proposées pour la réserve du parc devraient être approuvées au niveau conceptuel.
  3. Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique devraient signer un protocole d’entente concernant l’établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans la région de l’Okanagan-Sud – Similkameen;
  4. Parcs Canada devrait continuer à collaborer avec la Nation syilx/okanagan et les bandes concernées pour en arriver à une compréhension commune de ce qu’est la protection et la gestion future du parc national proposé.

En 2011, des fonctionnaires des gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique ont conclu qu’une réserve de parc national de 284 kilomètres carrés était possible et ont recommandé que les discussions se poursuivent avec la Nation syilx/okanagan. Cependant, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique avait indiqué qu’il n’était pas prêt à aller de l’avant avec une réserve de parc national à ce moment-là.

La suite des choses

Du point de vue de Parcs Canada, au moment d’un nouvel engagement concernant la proposition, il faudra tenir compte de certains aspects, dont les suivants :

  • Entente sur les limites définitives du parc
  • Définition d’une approche de gouvernance pour la cogestion avec la Nation syilx/okanagan
  • Poursuite des activités de pâturage sur certaines terres du parc
  • Obtenir le financement du gouvernement fédéral requis pour entreprendre les travaux nécessaires à la conclusion d’une entente ainsi qu’à l’établissement, au développement et à l’exploitation de la réserve de parc national