Table of contents

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2020

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin, 2020

For more information about the management statement or about Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site of Canada:


Mailing address:
   Location: Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site - Yoho National Park
     P.O. Box 99
     Field, BC V0A 1G0
     Canada




Approval

Approved by:

Rick Kubian
Field Unit Superintendent
Lake Louise, Yoho and Kootenay
Parks Canada


Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site.

Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site was designated in 1992. The Tea House was designated because it provides a good representation of the Rustic Design Tradition, and because it is associated with outdoor recreation in the national parks. The original single-story hut was erected in 1908 by the Canadian Pacific Railway for use as an overnight shelter for backcountry trail rides. A second story and an adjacent chalet were constructed in the 1920s and later linked to the original building. Its location near the foot of Twin Falls in the Upper Yoho Valley, approximately 8.5km from the trailhead at Takakkaw Falls, has contributed to its appeal as a heritage attraction and destination for generations of hikers exploring the Yoho backcountry.

Today the Twin Falls Tea House persists as a well-preserved example of rustic log building design and construction. It is run by a private operator under a Parks Canada Licence of Occupation. Although the Tea House continues to provide rustic overnight accommodation to park visitors on an occasional basis, it does not operate fully throughout the regular summer operating season. Basic interpretive information is provided on-site and the Heritage Sites and Monuments Board plaque is mounted in front of the Tea House. The building retains a strong sense of place, evoking the early history of log building construction and backcountry recreation in the Rocky Mountains.


Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage the Twin Falls Tea House as a significant heritage attraction that provides park visitors with a sense of the style of building and mode of accommodation typical of early wilderness recreation in the Rocky Mountains. Parks Canada will prepare a new Licence of Occupation that will provide for the continued operation and maintenance of the site by a third-party. A key consideration of the new licence will be the revitalisation of the visitor experience at the Tea House. Parks Canada will manage vegetation around the national historic site to reduce the risk of wildfire to the buildings using FireSmart guidelines and strategies.


Management objectives

Resource conservation

The log buildings, heritage character, and associated historic resources at Twin Falls Tea House are protected, monitored, and maintained in good condition. Natural vegetation around the site is maintained to reduce wildfire risk to the historic structures.

Visitor experience

Overnight guests and day hikers visiting Twin Falls feel welcome to explore the area surrounding the tea house, and appreciate the heritage architecture and natural setting of the site.

Public appreciation and understanding

Information on the historical significance of the Tea House is available to overnight guests and day hikers. Key messages are also communicated to others through interpretive signage, the park website and on social media.


Links

Tables des matières

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2020.

Issued also in English under the title:
Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement, 2020

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes lieu historique national du Canada du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin :


Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national du Canada du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin - Parc national Yoho
     C.P. 99
     Field (Colombie-Britannique) V0A 1G0
     Canada




Approbation

Approuvé par :

Rick Kubian
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Lake Louise, Yoho et Kootenay
Parcs Canada


Introduction et aperçu

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces trésors patrimoniaux dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures, tant pour leur agrément que pour l’enrichissement de leurs connaissances. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche et les objectifs adoptés par Parcs Canada pour la gestion du lieu historique national du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin.

Le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin a été désigné lieu historique national en 1992 pour deux raisons : d’une part, il représente bien la tradition architecturale rustique et, d’autre part, il est associé aux loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux. Le chalet rustique, qui ne comportait à l’origine qu’un étage, a été construit en 1908 par le Canadien Pacifique pour l’hébergement des excursionnistes de l’arrière-pays. L’étage supérieur a été ajouté dans les années 1920, tout comme un second chalet qui a ultérieurement été annexé au bâtiment original. L’emplacement du salon de thé, près du pied des chutes Twin, dans la vallée de la haute Yoho, à environ 8,5 km du point de départ du sentier, aux chutes Takakkaw, contribue à son charme en tant qu’attraction patrimoniale et destination pour des générations de randonneurs désireux d’explorer l’arrière-pays du parc national Yoho.

Aujourd’hui, le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin demeure un exemple bien préservé de bâtiment en rondins de conception et de construction rustiques. Il est exploité par des intérêts privés en vertu d’un permis d’occupation délivré par Parcs Canada. Même s’il continue de fournir occasionnellement un hébergement rustique aux visiteurs du parc, le salon de thé n’est pas exploité au maximum de sa capacité d’accueil durant la saison estivale. Des renseignements d’interprétation de base sont fournis sur place, et la plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est érigée devant le bâtiment. Le salon de thé conserve un puissant esprit des lieux, qui évoque les débuts de la construction de bâtiments en rondins et des loisirs dans l’arrière-pays des Rocheuses.


Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin comme une importante attraction patrimoniale qui présente aux visiteurs du parc un aperçu du style de construction et des moyens d’hébergement typiques de l’époque de la naissance des loisirs en milieu sauvage dans les Rocheuses. Parcs Canada préparera un nouveau permis d’occupation pour assurer l’exploitation et l’entretien continus du lieu historique par une tierce partie. Ce nouveau permis prévoira également la revitalisation de l’expérience du visiteur au salon de thé. Parcs Canada gérera la végétation autour du lieu historique en appliquant les lignes directrices et les stratégies du programme Intelli-feu, afin de réduire les risques d’incendie pour les bâtiments.


Objectifs de gestion

Conservation des ressources

Protéger, surveiller et maintenir en bon état les bâtiments en rondins, le caractère patrimonial et les ressources historiques associées au salon de thé des Chutes-Twin. Entretenir la végétation naturelle autour de la propriété en vue de réduire les risques d’incendie pour les structures historiques.

Expérience du visiteur

Créer une atmosphère accueillante pour les clients hébergés et les randonneurs d’une journée qui veulent explorer les environs du salon de thé et leur faire apprécier l’architecture patrimoniale et le cadre naturel du lieu historique.

Appréciation et compréhension du public

Transmettre des renseignements sur l’importance historique du salon de thé aux clients hébergés et aux randonneurs d’une journée. Communiquer des messages clés à distance par des panneaux d’interprétation, par le site Web du parc et par les médias sociaux.


Liens