Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site.

Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site of Canada was designated in 1971 to commemorate the route chosen for the construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway through the Rocky Mountains. It is a large-scale cultural landscape that stretches across the Continental Divide from Lake Louise, Alberta in Banff National Park to Field, British Columbia in Yoho National Park. Construction of the railway through the pass in the 1880s constituted one of the final hurdles in the completion of the trans-continental railroad, and helped to bring the Province of British Columbia into the Canadian Confederation. The grade on the western slope of the pass exceeded the standard, so two Spiral Tunnels were excavated in the mountains to act as switchbacks that reduced the grade. The designated place is defined by a corridor 200m on either side of the centreline of the existing railway, except for the sections through the Spiral Tunnels where the designated place is bounded by the interior surface of each of the tunnels.

Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site is rich in cultural resources dating from the period 1881 to 1909, when the current configuration of the railway was adopted with the completion of the Spiral Tunnels. In-situ resources include a stone and steel trestle bridge, portions of the original rail grade and run-away alignments, stone retaining walls, a stone bake oven used by construction workers, an old locomotive, the Spiral Tunnels, and numerous smaller archaeological sites and artefacts. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board plaque is displayed at the Spiral Tunnels viewpoint where key features of the site’s railway history are interpreted.

Today Kicking Horse Pass remains an essential link in an important national transportation corridor. It is the mainline of the Canadian Pacific Railway through the Rocky Mountains and is also the route for part of the Trans-Canada Highway over which 2.5 million vehicles travel each year. 

Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site as part of an evolving transportation corridor. Through collaboration with the Canadian Pacific Railway and other stakeholders, in-site cultural resources will be protected and opportunities to connect travellers with the unique history of the site will be provided. As work to improve the Trans-Canada Highway proceeds, opportunities will be sought to enhance awareness and understanding of this important historic corridor. Management decisions will recognise the need to maintain a safe, efficient, and cost-effective national transportation corridor.    

Management objectives

Collaboration with others : By working together with Canadian Pacific, the Friends of Yoho, and others, Parks Canada maximises opportunities to reveal the story of Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site to the thousands of travellers who pass through each year. 

Resource conservation : Key elements of the cultural landscape and in-situ cultural resources are protected as the corridor continues to evolve through upgrades to the Trans-Canada Highway. Basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources is undertaken, and interventions are documented. 

Public understanding and appreciation : Parks Canada provides up-to-date information about the significance of Kicking Horse Pass at on-site exhibits, on the national historic site website, and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. In addition, other tools and online resources are provided that connect the story of the site with external audiences.  

Historical information about Kicking Horse National Historic Site 

For more information, please contact : Yoho National Park, PO Box 99, Field, BC, V0A 1G0

Introduction et aperçu 

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces joyaux de notre patrimoine dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures. Le présent énoncé de gestion expose l’approche et les objectifs de gestion qu’il a adoptés pour le lieu historique national du Col-Kicking Horse.

Le lieu historique national du Col-Kicking Horse, qui a été créé en 1971, met en valeur le tracé choisi pour la construction de la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique à travers les Rocheuses. Il englobe un vaste paysage culturel qui va de Lake Louise, dans le parc national Banff (Alberta), à Field, dans le parc national Yoho (Colombie-Britannique), en passant par la ligne continentale de partage des eaux. La construction de la voie ferrée dans le col au cours des années 1880 représentait l’un des derniers obstacles à l’achèvement du chemin de fer transcontinental, et elle joua un grand rôle dans l’adhésion de la Colombie-Britannique à la Confédération canadienne. La déclivité du versant ouest du col dépassant la norme, il fallut creuser dans les montagnes deux tunnels en spirale qui faisaient office de lacets pour atténuer la pente. Le lieu désigné est défini par un couloir de 200 m de largeur de part et d’autre de la ligne médiane de la voie ferrée actuelle, sauf sur les tronçons des tunnels en spirale, où le lieu désigné est délimité par la surface intérieure de chacun des tunnels. 

Le lieu historique national du Col-Kicking Horse recèle une riche collection de ressources culturelles datant de la période de 1881 à 1909, époque où fut adoptée la configuration actuelle de la voie ferrée à l’achèvement des tunnels en spirale. Parmi les ressources sur place, mentionnons un pont à chevalets en pierre et en acier, des parties du talus original de la voie ferrée et des voies de détresse, des murs de soutènement en pierre, un four en pierre utilisé par les ouvriers de la construction du chemin de fer, une vieille locomotive, les tunnels en spirale ainsi qu’un grand nombre d’artefacts et de sites archéologiques de petite superficie. La plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est érigée sur le belvédère des tunnels en spirale, où sont interprétés les grands chapitres de l’histoire du chemin de fer dans ce secteur. 

Aujourd’hui, le col Kicking Horse demeure un axe essentiel dans un important couloir de transport national. C’est là que se trouvent la voie principale du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique à travers les Rocheuses ainsi que la Transcanadienne, sur laquelle circulent 2,5 millions de véhicules par année. 

Approche de gestion 

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le lieu historique national du Col-Kicking Horse en tant que couloir de transport en évolution. En collaborant avec le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique et d’autres intervenants, il entend protéger les ressources culturelles sur place et offrir aux voyageurs des possibilités de découvrir l’histoire exceptionnelle de ce secteur. Au fil des travaux d’amélioration de la Transcanadienne, Parcs Canada cherchera des possibilités de sensibiliser le public à l’importance de ce corridor historique. Les décisions de gestion tiendront compte de la nécessité de maintenir un couloir de transport national sécuritaire, efficace et rentable. 

Objectifs de gestion

Collaboration : En travaillant de concert avec le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, l’association coopérante Friends of Yoho et d’autres intervenants, Parcs Canada maximise les possibilités de raconter l’histoire du col Kicking Horse aux milliers de voyageurs par année qui traversent ce secteur. 

Conservation des ressources : Les éléments clés du paysage culturel et les ressources culturelles sur place sont protégés, tandis que le corridor continue d’évoluer au fil des améliorations apportées à la Transcanadienne. L’état des ressources culturelles est soumis à une surveillance de base, et chaque intervention est consignée. 

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements à jour sur l’importance du col Kicking Horse dans des expositions montées sur place, sur le site Web du lieu historique national et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux. De plus, il fournit d’autres outils et ressources en ligne pour faire découvrir l’histoire du col à des publics externes.

Informations historiques sur lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Kicking Horse 

 

Renseignements : Parc national Yoho, C.P 99, Field (Colombie-Britannique) V0A 1G0

 
Histoire du lieu historique national de Kicking Horse Pass