Table of contents

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2020

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot, 2020

For more information about the management statement or about Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site of Canada:


Mailing address:
   Location: Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site - Yoho National Park
     P.O. Box 99
     Field, BC V0A 1G0
     Canada




Approval

Approved by:

Rick Kubian
Field Unit Superintendent
Lake Louise, Yoho and Kootenay
Parks Canada


Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site.

The Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin was designated a national historic site in 1992. The cabin was designated because it provides a good representation of the Rustic Design Tradition, and because it is associated with outdoor recreation in the national parks. The cabin was erected in 1922 on a high col between Mount Victoria and Mt Lefroy, on the Continental Divide, which forms the boundary between Banff and Yoho national parks. The cabin was built as a refuge for mountaineers by the Canadian Pacific Railway, at a time when the company employed Swiss guides to lead tourists into the high peaks around Lake Louise. The cabin was built on the Swiss model, with a foundation and walls constructed from locally-quarried stone. It was the first high alpine, roofed accommodation for climbers in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. Ownership of the cabin was transferred to Parks Canada in 1968, and in 1985 the Alpine Club of Canada assumed responsibility for the operation of the cabin under a Licence of Occupation issued by Parks Canada. This licence is set to expire on March 31, 2020.

Today the cabin stands as an enduring reminder of the early days of mountaineering and alpine tourism in the Canadian Rockies. Glacial recession and climate change has led to the recent loss of permanent snow coverage on the northeast side of Abbot Pass, yet the cabin and its surrounding rugged landscape retain a strong sense of place evocative of the early era of climbing in the Canadian Rockies. The site is accessible from Lake Louise in Banff National Park, via a difficult mountaineering route that includes a traverse of the Lower Victoria Glacier, or from Lake Oesa in Yoho National Park via a steep rock scramble. It retains its primary role as a shelter for mountaineers pursuing objectives in the peaks of the Continental Divide, but is also visited increasingly by day hikers scrambling to the pass from the Lake O’Hara area.


Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage the Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin in partnership with the Alpine Club of Canada, as a high alpine climber’s cabin in a dramatic wilderness setting. The operation of the cabin and general maintenance responsibilities will continue to be managed by the Alpine Club of Canada under a Licence of Occupation. Parks Canada will assess risks to the cabin related to natural landscape dynamics, and is implementing slope stabilisation measures to help protect the structure. Key messages about the site and its history will continue to be communicated to visitors in the cabin, and to others through media at Lake Louise and Lake O’Hara, and through digital media opportunities.


Management objectives

Collaboration with others

Working together, Parks Canada and the Alpine Club of Canada continue regular maintenance and monitoring and facilitate continued use of the cabin as a mountaineering refuge.

Resource conservation

Environmental risks and hazards are understood and mitigated where feasible to protect the integrity of the historic building.

Public understanding and appreciation

The historic significance and heritage character of the cabin are communicated to on-site and off-site visitors through interpretive signage, digital media and social media.


Links

Tables des matières

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2020.

Issued also in English under the title:
Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement, 2020

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes lieu historique national du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot :


Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot - Parc national Yoho
     C.P. 99
     Field (Colombie-Britannique) V0A 1G0
     Canada




Approbation

Approuvé par :

Rick Kubian
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Lake Louise, Yoho et Kootenay
Parcs Canada


Introduction et aperçu

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces trésors patrimoniaux dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures, tant pour leur agrément que pour l’enrichissement de leurs connaissances. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche et les objectifs adoptés par Parcs Canada pour la gestion du lieu historique national du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot.

Le refuge du Col-Abbot a été désigné lieu historique national en 1992 pour deux raisons : d’une part, il représente bien la tradition architecturale rustique et, d’autre part, il est associé aux loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux. Érigé en 1922 sur un col de haute altitude, entre le mont Victoria et le mont Lefroy, le bâtiment se trouve sur la ligne continentale de partage des eaux, qui marque la limite entre les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho. Il a été construit par le Canadien Pacifique pour l’hébergement des alpinistes, à une époque où la société ferroviaire embauchait des guides suisses pour accompagner les touristes en excursion sur les pics élevés qui entourent le lac Louise. L’architecture du refuge est inspirée du modèle suisse; les fondations et les murs sont faits de roche extraite de carrières locales. Il s’agissait de la première installation d’hébergement en dur de la zone alpine supérieure à ouvrir ses portes aux alpinistes des Rocheuses canadiennes. Parcs Canada en est devenu propriétaire en 1968, et, en 1985, le Club alpin du Canada s’est chargé de son exploitation en vertu d’un permis d’occupation délivré par Parcs Canada. Ce permis vient à échéance le 31 mars 2020.

Aujourd’hui, le refuge demeure un rappel durable des débuts de l’alpinisme et du tourisme alpin dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Par suite du recul des glaciers et du changement climatique, le côté nord-est du col Abbot a récemment perdu ses neiges éternelles. Malgré tout, le refuge et le paysage accidenté qui l’entoure conservent un puissant esprit des lieux qui évoque l’époque des premières excursions d’alpinisme dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Le lieu historique est accessible du lac Louise, dans le parc national Banff, par une voie d’escalade difficile qui comporte une traversée du glacier Victoria Inférieur, ou du lac Oesa, dans le parc national Yoho, par un parcours de varappe sur des pentes rocheuses escarpées. Tout en conservant son rôle premier, celui de refuge pour les alpinistes à la conquête des pics de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux, le bâtiment accueille un nombre sans cesse croissant de randonneurs d’une journée qui accèdent au col par le parcours de varappe depuis le secteur du lac O’Hara.


Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le lieu historique en partenariat avec le Club alpin du Canada, qui l’exploitera comme refuge de haute montagne niché dans un cadre sauvage spectaculaire. Le Club alpin du Canada continuera d’assumer les responsabilités de l’exploitation et de l’entretien général du refuge en vertu d’un permis d’occupation. Parcs Canada évaluera les risques engendrés par la dynamique des paysages naturels. Il a entrepris des travaux de stabilisation des pentes pour protéger la structure. Des messages clés au sujet du refuge et de son histoire continueront d’être diffusés sur place, de même qu’au lac Louise et au lac O’Hara par divers moyens et à plus grande échelle par les médias numériques.


Objectifs de gestion

Collaboration

Travailler avec le Club alpin du Canada afin d’assurer l’entretien régulier et la surveillance du bâtiment ainsi que d’en faciliter l’exploitation continue comme refuge de haute montagne.

Conservation des ressources

Bien comprendre les dangers et les risques environnementaux et les atténuer dans la mesure du possible afin de préserver l’intégrité du bâtiment historique.

Appréciation et compréhension du public

Transmettre de l’information sur l’importance historique et le caractère patrimonial du refuge aux visiteurs sur place et à distance, par des panneaux d’interprétation, par les médias numériques et par les médias sociaux.


Liens