The first area to be snow-free in spring, trails on lower Mount Revelstoke can take you to the top of an historic ski jump or on a family-friendly bike adventure. Some trails are open year round for hiking, snowshoeing, mountain biking and fat-biking.

Trail conditions report

3 Inspiration Woods

  • 2.5 km (loop)
  • 133 m elevation change
  • 1 hr
  • Natural trail
  • Gently rolling with short, steep sections

Trailhead: 1.9 km up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway

A pleasant walk through the Interior cedar-hemlock rainforest of the Columbia Mountains. The lush carpets of moss and ferns, and light-green and black lichens hanging from the trees, create a mystical and inspiring atmosphere in any weather.

Because of its low elevation, Inspiration Woods is a popular hike both early (April-May) and late (October-November) in the season. In winter, visitors often snowshoe around the trail.


Soren Sorensen trail
Parks Canada / I. Houghton

4a4b Soren Sorensen Bicycles allowed 

  • a) 2 km (loop)
  • 21 m elevation change
  • 30 min
  • b) 5 km (loop)
  • 63 m elevation change
  • 1.5 hrs
  • Natural trail
  • Gently rolling with short, steep sections

Trailhead: Nels Nelsen Historic Area parking lot

The Soren Sorensen trails are used year-round for hiking, biking, running and snowshoeing through the lush Interior rainforest. Along the trail, get a close-up look at the plants and animals that live in these woods.

This is one of the few places in the park where you might see snakes. Two harmless species, the common garter snake and the western territorial garter snake make their homes along this route. Please try to avoid them as you cycle.

You have two options in hiking this trail: a 2km or 5km loop. You also can connect with the Meadows in the Sky Parkway at the far end of the 5km loop.


Broken Bridge trail
Parks Canada / Z. Lynch

5 Broken Bridge

  • 2 km (return)
  • 40 m elevation change
  • 40 min
  • Natural trail
  • Gently rolling with short, steep sections

Trailhead: 11.5 km up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway

This short forest walk treats you to beautiful valley views and ends at a moss-covered, twisted, wooden bridge. While the bridge is interesting to view and photograph, it is not safe to cross.


6 Mount Revelstoke Bicycles allowed 

  • 2.6 km (return)
  • 103 m elevation change
  • 1 hr
  • Paved and natural trail sections
  • Steep

Trailhead: Behind Revelstoke Railway Museum

A short hiking and biking route connecting the City of Revelstoke to the park. The trail, and the stories of ski jumping on Mount Revelstoke, begins at the Tournament of Champions Plaza in Revelstoke on Track Street West and continues to the Nels Nelsen Historic Area.


7 23 Connector Bicycles allowed 

  • 4.4 km (return)
  • 116 m elevation change
  • 1.5 hrs
  • Natural trail
  • Steep

Trailhead: Highway 23N, 1.4 km north of the Trans-Canada Highway

As the name suggests, this trail connects the Columbia Park area of the City of Revelstoke, off Highway 23 North, to the park. Most often used by cyclists, the trail also provides a pleasant walk through the forest, ending near the Welcome Kiosk on the Meadows in the Sky Parkway.


Revelstoke from Nels' Knickers trail
I. Houghton

8a8b Nels' Knickers

  • a) 800 m (return)
  • 139 m elevation change
  • 45 min
  • Natural trail
  • Steep
  • b) 600 m (return)
  • 2 m elevation change
  • 15 min
  • Natural trail with stairs
  • Gently rolling

Trailhead: Nels Nelsen Historic Area parking lot

Get a workout hiking up from the Nels Nelsen parking area (a), or follow a gently sloping trail (b) at km 4 of the Meadows in the Sky Parkway to the top of this former ski jump. At the top, lean into a pair of metal pants like those worn by ski jumping champion Nels Nelsen for exhilarating views over the edge.

Picnic tables are available at the upper trailhead. Stop and learn about the only place in Canada where world records in ski-jumping have ever been set.


9 Summit

  • 20 km (return)
  • 1353 m elevation change
  • 6-8 hrs
  • Natural trail
  • Steep

Trailhead: 1.9 km up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway

Hike from the base of Mount Revelstoke to the summit! Starting in a cedar-hemlock temperate rainforest, climb through the “snowforest” of spruce and subalpine fir to lush alpine meadows filled with wildflowers.

Along the way, the trail crosses the Meadows in the Sky Parkway six times. At the seventh crossing, the trail follows the original roadway for several hundred metres. Watch for trail signs on the left showing where the roadway becomes a trail again. After this final section through the forest, the trail emerges beside the Balsam Lake cabin. From here you have the choice of hiking another kilometer to the summit of Mount Revelstoke on the Upper Summit trail, walking along the road to the summit or catching a ride on the shuttle bus if it’s operating.


10 Lindmark

  • 15 km (return)
  • 982 m elevation change
  • 5-7 hrs
  • Natural trail
  • Steep

Trailhead: Monashee Picnic Area

This quiet trail travels through the woods from Monashee Picnic Area on lower Mount Revelstoke to the summit. The Lindmark Trail traverses the same life zones as the Summit Trail, but has the advantage of not crossing the parkway.

Revelstoke Mayor C.F. Lindmark was an early booster of the scenic values of Mount Revelstoke. Support by local citizens, including the mayor, led to the establishment of Mount Revelstoke National Park in 1914.


Download map and trail information

Dans la partie inférieure du mont Revelstoke, là où la neige fond en premier au printemps, il y a des sentiers qui mènent au sommet d’un tremplin historique et qui permettent à toute la famille de faire une excursion à vélo. Certains sont ouverts toute l’année pour la randonnée, la raquette, le vélo de montagne et le vélo à pneus surdimensionnés.

État des sentiers

3 Sentier du Bois-de-l’Inspiration

  • 2.5 km (boucle)
  • Changement d’altitude : 133 m
  • 1 h
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain légèrement ondulé et courts tronçons escarpés

Point de départ : 1,9 km sur la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel

Une agréable promenade parmi la forêt pluviale intérieure de thuyas et de pruches de la chaîne Columbia. Les luxuriants tapis de mousse et de fougères, et les lichens vert clair et noirs qui pendent des arbres, créent une atmosphère mystique et inspirante quelles que soient les conditions météo.

Sa faible élévation en fait un lieu de choix pour la première (avril-mai) ou dernière (octobre-novembre) excursion de l’année. Durant l`hiver, cette piste est utilisée par les randonneurs à raquettes.


Sentier Soren-Sorensen
Parcs Canada / I. Houghton

4a4b Sentier Soren-Sorensen Vélos autorisés 

  • a) 2 km (boucle)
  • Changement d’altitude : 21 m
  • 30 min
  • b) 5 km (boucle)
  • Changement d’altitude : 63 m
  • 1.5 h
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain légèrement ondulé et courts tronçons escarpés

Point de départ : Stationnement de l’aire historique Nels-Nelsen

Les boucles du sentier Soren-Sorensen se prêtent toute l’année à la randonnée, au vélo, à la course à pied et à la raquette. Situé dans la luxuriante forêt pluviale intérieure, ce sentier vous permettra d’observer de près les plantes et les animaux qui vivent dans ces bois.

Ce sentier est un des rares endroits où vous pouvez voir des couleuvres. Deux espèces inoffensives, la couleuvre rayée habituelle et la couleuvre de l`Ouest, nichent le long de cette piste. S`il vous plaît, tentez de les éviter en faisant du vélo.

Vous avez deux choix en prenant ce sentier : La boucle de 2 km ou de 5 km. Vous pouvez aussi relier votre chemin avec la route de la promenade qui passe au bout de la boucle de 5 km.


Sentier du Pont-Abîmé
Parcs Canada / Z. Lynch

5 Sentier du Pont-Abîmé

  • 2 km (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 40 m
  • 40 min
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain légèrement ondulé et courts tronçons escarpés

Point de départ : km 11,5 sur de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel

Cette courte promenade en forêt offre de magnifiques vuessur la vallée et se termine par un pont de bois tordu couvert de mousse. Vous pouvez observer et photographier ce pont abîmé, mais il n’est pas sécuritaire de le traverser.


6 Sentier du Mont-Revelstoke Vélos autorisés 

  • 2.6 km (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 103 m
  • 1 h
  • Tronçons asphaltés et tronçons de sentier naturel
  • Terrain escarpé

Point de départ : Derrière le musée ferroviaire de Revelstoke

Ce court sentier de randonnée et de vélo relie la ville de Revelstoke au parc. Le sentier vous révélera l’histoire du saut à ski sur le mont Revelstoke. Il part de l’esplanade commémorative du Tournoi des champions sur la rue Track Ouest à Revelstoke et se rend jusqu’à l’aire historique Nels-Nelsen.


7 Sentier de jonction no 23 Vélos autorisés 

  • 4.4 km (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 116 m
  • 1.5 h
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain escarpé

Point de départ : Route 23N, 1,4 km au nord de la Transcanadienne

Comme son nom le suggère, ce sentier relie le parc et le secteur du parc Columbia et la ville de Revelstoke, à la sortie de la route 23 Nord. Surtout fréquenté par les cyclistes, le sentier offre également une agréable promenade dans la forêt qui prend fin près du poste d’accueil de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel.


Sentier du Pantalon-de-Nels
I. Houghton

8a8b Sentier du Pantalon-de-Nels

  • a) 800 m (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 139 m
  • 45 min
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain escarpé
  • b) 600 m (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 2 m
  • 15 min
  • Sentier naturel avec escaliers
  • Terrain légèrement ondulé

Point de départ : Stationnement de l’aire historique Nels-Nelsen

Commencez votre randonnée au stationnement de l’aire historique Nels-Nelsen (a) ou suivez un sentier en pente douce (b) depuis la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel jusqu’au sommet de cet ancien tremplin de ski. Au sommet, enfilez le pantalon de métal comme celui que portait le champion de saut à ski Nels Nelsen pour avoir une vue exaltante en surplomb.

Vous trouverez des tables de pique-nique au point de départ supérieur. Faites une halte pour en apprendre davantage sur ce site, le seul au Canada où des records mondiaux de saut à ski ont été établis.


9 Sentier du Sommet

  • 20 km (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 1353 m
  • 6-8 h
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain escarpé

Point de départ : 1.9 km up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway

Faites une randonnée du pied du mont Revelstoke jusqu’au sommet! Le sentier débute dans une forêt pluviale tempérée de thuyas et de pruches avant de monter parmi une forêt nivale d’épinettes et de sapins subalpins jusqu’aux luxuriants prés alpins de fleurs sauvages.

Le sentier traverse la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel à six reprises. Au septième croisement, il suit la route du sommet sur 1.2 km. Les panneaux indiquant le sentier sont placés sur la gauche. La dernière partie conduit jusqu'à l’abri du lac Balsam. De là, les excursionnistes peuvent suivre la route jusqu'au sommet en prenant le sentier du Sommet (tronçon supérieur) pour un autre kilomètre, suivre la route jusqu’au sommet ou prendre la navette si elle est en fonction.


10 Sentier Lindmark

  • 15 km (aller-retour)
  • Changement d’altitude : 982 m
  • 5-7 h
  • Sentier naturel
  • Terrain escarpé

Point de départ : Aire de pique-nique Monashee

Ce sentier paisible traverse une forêt depuis l’aire de pique-nique Monashee, dans la partie inférieure du mont Revelstoke, jusqu’au sommet. Le sentier Lindmark traverse les mêmes zones que le sentier du Sommet mais a l’avantage de ne jamais traverser la route de la promenade.

Le maire C.F. Lindmark de Revelstoke était un fervent promoteur des beautés du mont Revelstoke. Ses concitoyens l'ont appuyé et c'est ce qui a conduit à l'établissement d'un parc national en 1914.


Téléchargez une carte et des renseignements sur les sentiers