In 2016, the Government of Canada provided Parks Canada with $17.7 million to build a new multi-use pathway to traverse the Long Beach Unit of in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve – a long-time request of local communities. ʔapsčiik t̓ašii (pronounced ups-cheek ta-shee), approximately 25 km in length, will provide visitors and locals alike, of all ages and abilities, with an accessible pathway to explore the vast sandy beaches, coastal rainforest, and special areas of natural and cultural significance in the region.

ʔapsčiik t̓ašii is located in the traditional territories of the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ, and Parks Canada is consulting and working in partnership with both First Nations as the pathway is built. Parks Canada is honoured to have Elders from both Nations give the new multi-use pathway its name – ʔapsčiik t̓ašii, which translates to “going in the right direction on the path.”

Work began with extensive environmental, archaeological and geo-technical studies, the preparation of a Detailed Impact Analysis (DIA or otherwise known as an environmental assessment), pathway design and planning. Open houses were held in November 2016 to consult the public on the DIA, and the tree clearing began a few months later. As work on ʔapsčiik t̓ašii progresses, Parks Canada is constantly reviewing and refining our knowledge of the areas along the pathway route, and making the best decisions to mitigate the impacts of building. Following the detailed environmental and archaeological studies, and as a result of continued consultations with environmental experts and local First Nations communities, a detailed pathway design was completed to minimize potential environmental impacts, including potential impacts to species-at-risk and amphibians. The DIA is being updated with an amendment to reflect the latest information, so this document can continue to be a valuable tool as ʔapsčiik t̓ašii is built.

During the tree clearing, additional changes to the pathway alignment were undertaken to avoid sensitive environmental and cultural areas, and work was scheduled around the migratory bird nesting period. Second information sessions were held in June 2017.

An additional investment of $16.3 million in 2017 supported the necessary environmental mitigations required to build ʔapsčiik t̓ašii in the unique ecosystem of the Pacific Rim National Park Reserve.

With the clearing nearing completion in early 2018, the design team took time to finalize the environmental and structural details. The felled trees and shrubs were removed. The Cedar trees were set aside to build wooden elements on ʔapsčiik t̓ašii, with the remainder of the removed trees provided to the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ for use in their communities.

In November 2018, the Government of Canada provided additional investment of approximately $17 million to implement important design alterations and pathway realignment, bringing the total estimated cost for building ʔapsčiik t̓ašii to $51.1 million.

At this time, a construction contract, as well as an environmental monitoring contract, for the next phase of the ʔapsčiik t̓ašii project is advertised for bidding and will be awarded in spring 2019. Construction is expected to be underway during the summer months, with a focus on trailbed construction. The trailbed construction tender is posted publically on the Government Buy and Sell website: buyandsell.gc.ca. It includes an Indigenous Benefits Plan, which requires the contractor to work directly with the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ to provide, training, direct employment, and subcontracting opportunities.

En 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a remis à Parcs Canada la somme de 17,7 millions de dollars pour aménager une nouvelle piste polyvalente qui traverserait le secteur de la plage Long dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, une demande de longue date des collectivités locales. Les visiteurs et les gens de la région, de tous les âges et habiletés, pourront emprunter la piste ʔapsčiik t̓ašii (prononcé ops-tchîk-ta-chi), d’une longueur d’environ 25 km, pour explorer les vastes plages de sable, la forêt pluviale côtière et les secteurs d’importante naturelle et culturelle de la région.

ʔapsčiik t̓ašii se trouve dans les territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations Tla-o-qui-aht et Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ, et Parcs Canada les consulte et collabore avec elles durant les travaux de construction. Parcs Canada a eu l’honneur de demander aux Aînés des Premières Nations Tla-o-qui-aht et Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ de choisir le nom officiel de la nouvelle piste polyvalente. ʔapsčiik t̓ašii veut dire « aller dans le bon sens sur le sentier ».

Les travaux ont débuté par des études environnementales, archéologiques et géotechniques approfondies, la préparation d’une analyse d’impact détaillée (ou évaluation environnementale), et la conception et la planification de la piste. Des séances de consultation publique ont été tenues en novembre 2016 et le déboisement a commencé quelques mois plus tard. À mesure que les travaux avancent, Parcs Canada révise et enrichit sa connaissance des zones le long de la piste et prend les meilleures décisions pour atténuer les impacts. Suivant les études environnementales et archéologiques détaillées, ainsi que les consultations menées auprès d’experts et des communautés des Premières Nations, on a mis la dernière main à la conception détaillée de la piste de sorte à réduire les incidences environnementales potentielles, notamment sur les espèces en péril et les amphibiens. L’analyse d’impact détaillée est mise à jour avec des modifications pour tenir compte des dernières informations afin qu’elle reste un outil précieux durant l’aménagement de ʔapsčiik t̓ašii.

Durant l’abattage des arbres, d’autres changements ont été apportés au trajet de la piste afin d’éviter des secteurs sensibles du point de vue environnemental et culturel, et on a prévu les travaux autour de la période de nidification des oiseaux migrateurs. Une seconde série de séances d’information a eu lieu en juin 2017.

Un investissement supplémentaire de 16,3 millions de dollars en 2017 a permis d’appuyer les mesures d’atténuation environnementale nécessaires pour aménager build ʔapsčiik t̓ašii dans l’écosystème unique de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim.

L’abattage étant presque terminé au début de 2018, l’équipe de la conception a pris le temps de finaliser les détails environnementaux et structurels. Les arbres abattus et les arbustes ont été retirés. Les cèdres ont été mis de côté pour bâtir des éléments sur ʔapsčiik t̓ašii, et les arbres restants ont été remis aux Premières Nations Tla-o-qui-aht et Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ pour leur propre utilisation.

En novembre 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a investi la somme supplémentaire de 17 millions de dollars pour mettre en œuvre d’importantes modifications à la conception et au trajet de la piste, ce qui porte le total estimatif du projet à 51,1 millions de dollars.

Un appel d’offres pour la construction et un autre pour la surveillance environnementale ont été lancés pour la prochaine étape du projet ʔapsčiik t̓ašii et les contrats seront attribués au printemps 2019. Les travaux de construction devraient commencer durant l’été et être axés sur la plateforme de la piste. L’appel d’offres est affiché sur le site Web des occasions de marchés du gouvernement : Achatsetventes.gc.ca. Il comprend un programme d'avantages offerts aux autochtones qui exige que l’entrepreneur travaille directement avec les Premières Nations Tla-o-qui-aht et Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ pour fournir de la formation, des emplois directs et des occasions de sous-traitance.