Visitors to Pacific Rim National Park Reserve are responsible for their own safety and must use extreme caution when swimming, surfing or engaging in any water activity. Learn how to identify water hazards and prevent injury so you can enjoy the park safely.


Hypothermia

The water may look inviting, but it is cold. Even in summer, Pacific Ocean water temperatures range from 7C to14C. Maximum survival time in water this cold is two to three hours. Know the signs of hypothermia and wear a wetsuit at all times.

Prevent hypothermia

  • Prepare for the weather:
    Pack equipment and extra clothing in waterproof containers. Think ahead, know the forecasted weather conditions. Assess changing conditions and adjust your plans accordingly.
  • Bring appropriate clothing:
    This includes waterproof rain gear, layers that provide warmth even when wet, and hats and gloves.
  • Know the skills and abilities of all members of your party:
    Do not let anyone become exhausted, their ability to stay alert and orientated will decrease. Take breaks and stay warm.
  • Remember to eat:
    The body needs the energy from food to create warmth. Keep a supply of high-energy food accessible.
  • Be alert to the first signs of hypothermia:
    Act immediately.

Progressive symptoms of hypothermia

  1. You feel cold and you have to exercise to stay warm.
  2. Your start to shiver and feel numb.
  3. Your shivering intensifies.
  4. You have difficulty speaking.
  5. You find it hard to think.
  6. Your muscle co-ordination becomes difficult.
  7. Your pulse and respiration slow.
  8. You lose consciousness.
  9. Your heart beat becomes erratic.
  10. Heart, lung and brain stop functioning.
  11. Death.

 

Large waves

All Pacific Rim beaches are exposed to the power of the open Pacific Ocean. Waves (also called swell), can be affected by local factors, like tides, winds, and currents, as well as storms and weather systems thousands of kilometres away.

In the water:
Large waves mean that ocean conditions may change rapidly and create conditions that can overwhelm surfers, swimmers and kayakers. For example, a large swell may increase rip currents.
On beaches:
swell means that large waves can unexpectedly sweep over beaches and rocky shorelines, causing beaches to flood, and drift logs to float and roll.

Be prepared

  • Consult a tide table, the swell forecast, and the park’s Wave Hazard Rating before starting your shoreline hike or water activities.
  • Inquire about surf forecasts and known local hazards at the park’s visitor centre or local surf shops.
  • The larger the waves, the greater the danger. Wave conditions change rapidly. If in doubt, do not go out.

 

Rip currents

Rip currents are powerful, fast-moving currents of water that can pull even the strongest swimmer out to sea. Rip currents form when waves push large volumes of water onto the shore and the water returns towards the ocean through gaps in underwater sand bars, behind islands or beside rocky headlands.

How to identify a rip current:

Look for a narrow stream of water moving quickly away from the shore. The surface of this patch of water looks smooth with a choppy rippled effect. Waves are breaking on either side of the patch of water but not inside it.

What to do if you get caught in a rip current:

  1. Don't fight the current.
  2. Swim out of the current parallel to the shore, then swim to shore.
  3. If you can't escape, float or tread water.
  4. If you need help, call or wave for assistance.

 

Tides

Twice each day, the shores of Pacific Rim become wide as the tide goes out, and then narrow again as the tide comes in. Tides are caused by the gravitational attraction of the sun and moon. Tides can also be influenced by wind and storms. Tides here range from a few centimetres to over three metres.

Be prepared

  • Plan your seashore activities according to the tides.
  • Be aware and watch the rising tide along your route to ensure that you can safely return the way you came.
  • Keep track of time.
  • Ask Parks Canada staff for information about tides.

 

Rolling beach logs

While beached drift logs can provide a vantage point or great picnic spot, high tides and large waves can transform them into deadly hazards. Drift logs can float and roll, knock you off your feet, trap you beneath them, or roll over and crush you. During rainy weather, drift logs are also extremely slippery.

Be prepared

  • Respect the ocean’s power and stay off the beaches and drift logs if the tide or swell is high.
  • Observe the conditions closely before you step out onto the beach.
  • Consult a tide table, the swell forecast, and the park’s Wave Hazard Rating before your shoreline activities.

 

Tsunamis

Tsunamis are a series of unusually big waves caused by a large-scale disturbance of a body of water. Earthquakes are a primary cause of tsunamis, but tsunamis can also be caused by near-shore and underwater landslides, near-shore and underwater volcanoes, man-made explosions, and even by space objects impacting water bodies.

Two main types of tsunami threats in BC:

  1. Tsunamis generated out in the Pacific Ocean
    These tsunamis could severely impact BC’s outer coastal areas with waves from the north, south or west.
  2. Tsunamis generated in local waters
    These local tsunamis can be triggered by earthquakes, landslides and/or underwater slides and can have an impact on other coastal areas of British Columbia.

What to do if there is a tsunami warning:

  • If you feel strong shaking from an earthquake or if the water suddenly recedes, move immediately to higher ground (greater than 15 metres or 45 feet above the tide line). Follow the Tsunami Evacuation route signs to an area of refuge.
  • If you hear a tsunami warning or bulletin, follow information and instructions from emergency officials immediately.
  • Do not go to the beach to watch. Remember, not all areas of the coastline will be impacted equally. The impact of a tsunami can vary considerably within a very short distance. In as little as one kilometre, depending on the shoreline shape and the direction of the wave, there could be tens of metres difference in the impact of the tsunami.

For more information, visit Coastsmart.ca and PreparedBC - Tsunamis.


 

Red Tide

The world's water—fresh and marine—contains a large variety of single-cell plants called microalgae. The individual plants are usually so small they require a microscope to be seen. When conditions are right, often in the summer in this area, one species of algae will multiply in great numbers. This is called a plankton bloom.

Depending on the most common species of algae in the bloom, the water colour may change. In this area blooms are often brown, red or blue. Many of the blooms in marine waters are red which has lead to the common term red tide.

How it affects you:

Many of the red tide algae produce toxins. Different toxins are produced by different algae. Some toxins have a big impact on fish, others on mammals. The algae which is responsible for paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) is in the group of algae called Gonyaulax. These algae produce an extremely potent toxin, which affects nerve impulses and can lead to paralysis of muscles and may eventually end in asphyxiation.

Warm-blooded animals are particularly sensitive to this toxin. Shellfish, such as clams, mussels, and oysters can feed on the algae with no ill effect. However, their tissue will accumulate the toxin when they feed on the algae. The problem for humans occurs when we eat shellfish that has accumulated large quantities of the toxin in their tissue. Shellfish containing the toxin do not appear different than shellfish that do not contain the toxin. In our area Fisheries and Oceans Canada regularly test shellfish for this toxin.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada base shellfish harvesting openings and closings on their rigorous monitoring procedures. If you are considering eating shellfish in a restaurant the shellfish should have been tested before going to market and should be safe to eat. 

If you are considering harvesting shellfish:

Honour all Fisheries and Oceans Canada PSP notices and consumption closures. Warnings are posted for visitor safety, not for conservation purposes. Please ensure you consult your salt water fishing regulations for park specific shellfish limits and note that the National Park is a volunteer no-harvest zone.

Les visiteurs sont responsables de leur propre sécurité et doivent être extrêmement prudents quand ils nagent, font du surf ou exercent une activité aquatique quelconque. Apprenez à identifier les risques et prévenir les blessures pour jouir du parc en toute sécurité.


Hypothermie

L'eau a peut-être l'air invitante, mais elle est froide. Même l'été, la température de l'océan Pacifique varie entre 7oC et 14oC et la durée de survie maximale est de deux à trois heures. Connaissez les symptômes de l'hypothermie et portez une combinaison humide en tout temps.

Prévenir l'hypothermie

  • Soyez prêt pour le temps : 
    Emportez votre équipement et des vêtements supplémentaires dans des contenants étanches. Prévoyez et renseignez-vous sur les prévisions météorologiques. Évaluez les conditions qui changent et modifiez vos plans en conséquence.
  • Emportez des vêtements appropriés :
    Emportez notamment des vêtements imperméables, des vêtements chauds même quand ils sont mouillés, un chapeau et des gants. 
  • Connaissez les aptitudes de tous les membres de votre groupe :
    La capacité de rester vigilant et de s'orienter diminue avec la fatigue. Faites des pauses, assurez-vous de ne pas avoir froid.
  • N’oubliez pas de manger :
    Le corps a besoin de l'énergie provenant des aliments pour créer de la chaleur. Ayez à portée de la main des aliments à haute teneur énergétique.
  • Surveillez les premiers symptômes d'hypothermie :
    Agissez immédiatement. 

Les symptômes progressifs d'hypothermie : 

  1. Vous avez froid et vous devez faire de l'exercice pour vous réchauffer
  2. Vous commencez à frissonner et à vous engourdir.
  3. Vous frissonnez de plus en plus.
  4. Vous avez du mal à parler.
  5. Vous avez du mal à penser.
  6. Votre coordination musculaire devient difficile.
  7. Votre pouls et votre respiration ralentissent.
  8. Vous perdez conscience.
  9. Votre rythme cardiaque est irrégulier.
  10. Le coeur, les poumons et le cerveau arrêtent de fonctionner.
  11. La mort s'ensuit.

 

Grosses vagues

Toutes les plages de Pacific Rim sont exposées à la puissance de l’océan Pacifique. Les vagues, que l’on appelle aussi la houle, peuvent être touchées par des facteurs tels que les marées, les vents et les courants, ainsi que les tempêtes et les systèmes météorologiques à des milliers de kilomètres de là.

Dans l’eau : 
les grosses vagues peuvent entraîner des changements rapides et créer des conditions dangereuses pour les surfeurs, les nageurs et les kayakistes. Par exemple, la forte houle peut augmenter les courants d’arrachement. 
Sur la plage : 
De grosses vagues peuvent déferler soudainement sur la plage et le littoral rocheux, inondant ainsi la plage et faisant flotter et rouler les billots de bois de grève. 

Soyez prêt


 

Courants d'arrachement

Un courant arrachement est un courant puissant et rapide qui peut tirer même le meilleur nageur vers le large. Les courants d’arrachement se forment lorsque les vagues apportent de grandes quantités d’eau sur la côte et que l’eau se retire vers l’océan dans des ouvertures dans des bancs de sable, derrière des îles ou à côté de promontoires rocheux.

Voici comment identifier un courant arrachement :

Cherchez une bande d’eau étroite qui s'éloigne rapidement du rivage. La surface de l’eau est clapoteuse, ridée. Des vagues se brisent de chaque côté du courant, mais pas à l'intérieur de celui-ci.

Ce que vous devez faire si vous vous retrouvez dans un courant d’arrachement :

  1. Ne luttez pas contre le courant.
  2. Sortez du courant en nageant parallèlement à la côte, puis nagez jusqu’au rivage.
  3. Si vous n’y arrivez pas, flottez ou nagez debout.
  4. Criez ou faites des signaux pour obtenir de l’aide.

 

Marées

Deux fois par jour, le rivage de Pacific Rim s’élargit à marée basse, et se rétrécit à marée haute. Les marées sont causées par l'attraction de la lune et du soleil. Elles peuvent aussi être influencées par le vent et les tempêtes.

Soyez prêt

  • Planifiez vos activités sur le rivage en fonction des marées.
  • Soyez vigilant et surveillez la marée qui monte pour vous assurer de pouvoir revenir en toute sécurité par le même chemin. 
  • Soyez conscient du temps.
  • Demandez aux employés de Parcs Canada des renseignements sur les marées.

 

Billots de bois de grève qui roulent

Les billots de bois constituent un point d’observation ou un bon endroit pour un pique-nique, mais la marée haute et les grosses vagues peuvent les transformer en danger mortel. Les billots peuvent flotter et rouler, vous faire tomber, vous emprisonner sous eux ou vous écraser. De plus, le bois est extrêmement glissant quand il pleut.

Soyez prêt


 

Tsunamis

Un tsunami est une série de vagues de taille inhabituelle provoquée par un mouvement rapide d'un grand volume d'eau. Les tsunamis sont généralement causés par un tremblement de terre, mais ils peuvent être causés également par des glissements de terrain ou des volcans sous-marins près de côtes, des explosions d’origine humaine, et même par des objets de l’espace qui entrent en contact avec des plans d’eau. Les tsunamis sont rares, mais extrêmement dangereux.

Deux types de menace en Colombie-Britannique :

  1. Les tsunamis qui prennent naissance dans l’océan Pacifique
    Ils peuvent avoir de graves répercussions sur les régions côtières extérieures de la C.-B. avec des vagues du nord, du sud ou de l’ouest.
  2. Les tsunamis d’origine locale
    Ceux-ci peuvent être causés par un tremblement de terre, un glissement de terrain à la surface ou sous-marin, et ils peuvent avoir un impact sur d’autres régions côtières de la province.

Ce que vous devez faire s'il y a un avis de tsunami : 

  • Si vous sentez de fortes secousses d’un tremblement de terre ou voyez l'eau se retirer, rendez-vous immédiatement à un point surélevé (à plus de 15 mètres de la ligne de marée haute) et suivez les trajets d’évacuation en cas de tsunami.
  • Si vous entendez un avertissement de tsunami, écoutez les renseignements et suivez immédiatement les instructions des représentants officiels des secours.
  • N’allez pas voir à la plage. N’oubliez pas : l’impact ne sera pas le même partout sur la côte. Il peut en effet varier considérablement sur une très courte distance : sur un kilomètre, les répercussions d’un tsunami peuvent avoir des dizaines de mètres de différence selon la forme de la côte et le sens de la vague.

Pour plus d’information : visitez Coastsmart.ca et PreparedBC - Tsunamis (en anglais seulement).


 

Marée rouge

L'eau salée et douce du monde contient une grande variété de plantes unicellulaires appelées microalgues. Elles sont généralement si petites qu'on ne peut les voir qu'au microscope. Lorsque les conditions sont propices, soit souvent l'été dans cette région, une espèce d'algue se multiplie en grand nombre. On appelle ce phénomène prolifération de végétaux planctoniques.

La couleur de l'eau peut changer selon l'espèce la plus commune qui prolifère. Dans cette région, l'eau prend souvent une teinte brune, rouge ou bleue. Un grand nombre des végétaux qui pullulent dans les eaux marines sont rouges, d'où le terme marée rouge.

Voici comment la marée rouge vous touche :

Tout un nombre des algues de la marée rouge produit des toxines. Différentes algues produisent différentes toxines. Certaines toxines ont une forte incidence sur les poissons, d'autres sur les mammifères. Les algues responsables de l'empoisonnement marin paralysant appartiennent au groupe des Gonyaulax. Ces algues produisent une toxine extrêmement puissante qui affecte les membranes excitables et peut entraîner une paralysie des muscles et parfois même l'asphyxie

Les animaux à sang chaud sont particulièrement sensibles à cette toxine. Les coquillages tels que palourdes, moules et huîtres peuvent se nourrir des algues sans conséquence néfaste. Leur tissu accumule cependant la toxine. Le problème survient lorsque les humains consomment des mollusques et des crustacés qui ont accumulé de grandes quantités de cette toxine. Les mollusques et crustacés qui contiennent cette toxine ont toutefois la même apparence que les autres. Dans notre région, Pêches et Océans Canada inspecte régulièrement les mollusques et les crustacés pour déceler cette toxine.

Pêches et Océans Canada fonde les autorisations et les interdictions de récolte de mollusques et crustacés sur ses méthodes de surveillance rigoureuses. Si vous envisagez de consommer des mollusques et des crustacés dans un restaurant, ceux-ci devraient avoir été inspectés et devraient être sans danger.

Si vous envisagez de récolter des mollusques et des crustacés : 

respectez tous les avis et interdictions de consommer de Pêches et Océans Canada concernant l'empoisonnement marin paralysant. Les avertissements visent la santé et la sécurité des visiteurs et non pas la conservation. Veuillez consulter le règlement sur la pêche dans les eaux salées pour connaître les limites de mollusques et crustacés dans le parc et notez que le parc national est une zone de non-récolte volontaire.