Stressors | Monitoring | Findings

Overview

Migratory shorebirds use the Pacific coast as a flyway between their breeding grounds in Canada, the United States, and the Russian Arctic, and their wintering grounds in South, Central and southern North America. They migrate north in the spring, and back down south in the fall after breeding season. These birds are critically dependent on the beaches in and around Pacific Rim National Park Reserve to rest and replenish their energy stores.

Their timelines and energy reserves leave little room for unexpected setbacks. Delays in their journey and stressors such as human disturbance can compromise their survival and breeding success. This can lead to a long-term drop in their population numbers.

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve’s 20 kilometres of ocean beaches and in-land mudflats make great stopover locations for migratory shorebirds because these areas are home to the small insects, invertebrates, bloodworms and biofilm that make up a shorebird’s diet. 


Stressors

Human disturbance

Volumes of research conducted to date demonstrate that sandy beaches, which are a primary habitat and foraging area for shorebird species, are a common place where human-wildlife conflict occurs.

Humans disturb critical shorebird activities, like foraging for food, by participating in fast-paced recreational activities, like running and cycling, and unlawful activities, such as letting dogs and pets roam the beaches off leash. When flushed by people or dogs, shorebirds are forced to expend extra energy to avoid potential predators. This stress interferes with their ability to refuel before continuing their migration.


Parks Canada staff on bicycles talking with a couple on the beach with three dogs on leash

Did you know?

Dogs are permitted in the Long Beach area of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, however they must be on leash at all times. This includes beaches, trails, parking lots and in the water.

Learn more

How is Parks Canada monitoring shorebird populations?

The effect of human disturbance on migrant birds is a conservation issue of international importance as it can lead to population declines. Disruptions can occur during migration, wintering, breeding and foraging. To better understand how visitor use of beaches in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve impacts shorebirds, Parks Canada has been monitoring migratory shorebird habitat use. Researchers look at a 100m stretch of sandy beach during one hour of the day, tracking the total number of birds spotted. By monitoring the six key shorebird species present during spring and fall, we can better understand population trends.

 

  • Six key shorebird species present during spring and fall:
  • Dunlin
  • Least Sandpiper
  • Sanderling
  • Semipalmated Plover
  • Western Sandpiper
  • Whimbrel

 

Radio-telemetry project
In 2018, Parks Canada initiated a radio-telemetry project to determine how long individual shorebirds stay in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve during spring and fall migration and how they divide their time between ocean beaches and inland mudflats. Here, several dozen shorebirds of four species have been fitted with miniature VHF radio transmitters weighing less than 1g and tracked for the duration of their stay in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve.
33 shorebirds were tagged in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve as part of the radio-telemetry project. Data on the birds’ movements was collected through receivers at these locations: Kwisitis Visitor Centre on Wickaninnish Beach, Dinner Island in Browning Passage, The Wickaninnish Inn in Tofino.
Note: Data receivers are part of the Motus Wildlife Tracking System, which is an international collaborative research network. Learn more.
Collaborators
  • Environment and Climate Change Canada - Canadian Wildlife Service
  • Rainforest Education Society

Findings

Data from these receivers was downloaded in October of 2018. The number of detections per bird varied widely from 31 to 44,835. The tagged birds were primarily detected by the receiver at the Kwisitis Visitor Centre

Residence time

 

Birds stayed at the study area on average 5.1 days, with a minimum of one bird that was detected for 3.6 min to a maximum where the bird remained at the site for 13.1 days.  Western Sandpipers stayed an average of 1.6 days, whereas Semipalmated Plovers remained an average of 6.8 days. Sanderlings remained an average of 11.3 days. 

Long distance migrations

 

 

Most birds were only detected at the three sites in the Pacific Rim region (Kwistis Visitor Centre, Dinner Island, Wikaninnish Inn) however two birds that were tagged at Long Beach were detected elsewhere on the Motus Network. One Western Sandpiper tagged on August 24, 2018 was detected again in Florida on September 19th, 2018. The other bird - a Sanderling - tagged on September 6th, 2018, remained near Tofino for 13 days and then was detected again in Texas on Oct 1st and 2nd, 2018.

Facteurs de stress | Surveillance | Constatations

Vue d’ensemble

Les oiseaux de rivage migrateurs utilisent la côte du Pacifique comme corridor de migration entre leurs aires de nidification au Canada, aux États Unis et dans l’Arctique russe et leurs aires d’hivernage en Amérique du Sud, en Amérique centrale et dans le Sud de l’Amérique du Nord. Ils migrent vers le nord au printemps et retournent vers le sud à l’automne après la saison de reproduction. Ces oiseaux dépendent en grande partie des plages de la réserve de parc national et des environs pour se reposer et faire le plein d’énergie.

Leurs fenêtres de migration et leurs réserves d’énergie laissent peu de place aux imprévus. Les retards dans leur périple et les facteurs de stress comme la perturbation anthropique peuvent compromettre leur survie et leur succès de reproduction. Tout cela peut entraîner un déclin à long terme des effectifs de leur population.

Les 20 kilomètres de plages et de vasières intérieures de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim constituent des haltes migratoires de choix pour les oiseaux de rivage migrateurs, ces zones étant aussi occupées par de petits insectes, des invertébrés, des vers de vase et un biofilm dont ils se nourrissent.


Facteurs de stress

Perturbation anthropique

Les nombreuses recherches menées à ce jour montrent que les plages de sable, qui constituent l’habitat et l’aire d’alimentation principaux des différentes espèces d’oiseaux de rivage, sont également un lieu où surviennent fréquemment des conflits entre humains et animaux sauvages.

Les humains perturbent les activités essentielles des oiseaux de rivage, comme la recherche de nourriture, en prenant part à des activités récréatives à grande vélocité, comme la course et le vélo, et à des activités illicites comme le fait de laisser les chiens et d’autres animaux de compagnie errer sur la plage sans laisse. Lorsqu’ils sont chassés par les humains ou les chiens, les oiseaux de rivage sont forcés de dépenser de l’énergie supplémentaire pour éviter d’éventuels prédateurs. Ce facteur de stress interfère avec leur capacité à refaire le plein d’énergie avant de poursuivre leur migration.


Parks Canada staff on bicycles talking with a couple on the beach with three dogs on leash

Le saviez-vous?

Les chiens sont admis dans le secteur de la plage Long de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, dans la mesure où ils sont tenus en laisse en tout temps, notamment sur les plages, dans les sentiers, dans les stationnements et dans l’eau.

Pour en savoir plus

Comment Parcs Canada surveille-t-il les populations d’oiseaux de rivage?

Les effets de la perturbation anthropique sur les oiseaux migrateurs sont un enjeu de conservation d’importance internationale, car cette perturbation peut mener au déclin de populations. Des interruptions peuvent survenir durant la migration, l’hivernage, la reproduction et l’alimentation. Pour mieux comprendre en quoi l’utilisation que font les visiteurs des plages de la RPN Pacific Rim a une incidence sur les oiseaux de rivage, Parcs Canada a entrepris de surveiller l’utilisation de l’habitat des oiseaux de rivage migrateurs. Les chercheurs observent un segment de plage de sable de 100 m durant une heure le jour et comptent le nombre total d’oiseaux aperçus. En surveillant les six espèces principales d’oiseaux de rivage présentes lors des migrations du printemps et de l’automne (bécasseau variable, bécasseau minuscule, bécasseau sanderling, pluvier semipalmé, bécasseau d’Alaska, courlis corlieu), nous pouvons mieux comprendre les tendances démographiques. 

 

  • Les six espèces principales d’oiseaux de rivage présentes lors des migrations du printemps et de l’automne :
  • bécasseau variable
  • bécasseau minuscule
  • bécasseau sanderling
  • pluvier semipalmé
  • bécasseau d’Alaska
  • courlis corlieu

 

Projet de radiotélémesure
En 2018, Parcs Canada a lancé un projet de radiotélémesure visant à déterminer combien de temps des individus d’oiseaux de rivage demeuraient dans la RPN Pacific Rim durant la migration du printemps et de l’automne et comment ils répartissaient leur temps entre les plages océaniques et les vasières intérieures. Ici, plusieurs dizaines d’oiseaux de rivage appartenant à quatre espèces se sont fait installer des émetteurs radio VHF miniatures pesant moins d’un gramme et ont été suivis pendant toute la durée de leur séjour dans la RPN Pacific Rim.
Trente trois oiseaux de rivage ont été étiquetés dans la RPN Pacific Rim dans le cadre du projet de radiotélémesure. Les données sur les déplacements des oiseaux ont été recueillies au moyen de récepteurs placés aux endroits suivants : Centre d’accueil Kw isitis sur la plage Wickaninnish, Île Dinner dans le passage Browning, L’auberge Wickaninnish Inn à Tofino.
Remarque : Ces récepteurs font partie du Système de surveillance faunique Motus, un réseau international de recherche collaborative. Pour en savoir plus. (en anglais seulement)
Collaborateurs
  • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Service canadien de la faune
  • Rainforest Education Society

Constatations

Les données de ces récepteurs ont été téléchargées en octobre 2018. Le nombre de détections par oiseau variait grandement, soit entre 31 et 44 835. Les oiseaux étiquetés ont été principalement détectés par le récepteur du centre d’accueil Kwisitis.

Temps de résidence

 

Les oiseaux sont demeurés dans la zone d’étude en moyenne 5,1 jours, et un oiseau détecté demeurait au minimum 3,6 minutes et au maximum 13,1 jours. Les bécasseaux d’Alaska sont demeurés en moyenne 1,6 jour tandis que les pluviers semipalmés sont restés en moyenne 6,8 jours. Les bécasseaux sanderling sont demeurés en moyenne 11,3 jours.

Migrations sur de longues distances

 

 

La plupart des oiseaux n’ont été détectés qu’à ces trois endroits dans la région de Pacific Rim, bien que deux oiseaux étiquetés à la plage Long aient été repérés ailleurs dans le réseau Motus. Un bécasseau d’Alaska étiqueté le 24 août 2018 a été détecté à nouveau en Floride le 19 septembre 2018. L’autre, un bécasseau sanderling, étiqueté le 6 septembre 2018, est demeuré près de Tofino pendant 13 jours avant d’être détecté à nouveau au Texas le 1er et le 2 octobre 2018.